Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a staff member at Episcopal Place and a daughter who cared for elderly parents, I am proud of the services we provide and the attractive and safe environment we create for our low-income seniors. I am so proud of what we do that most of my charitable giving is directed here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger and able to serve more seniors who need it. We have a long waiting list of seniors needing affordable housing with services and we are the only facility in town that provides that combination in a comprehensive way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived at Episcopal Place for 4 1/2 years and have nothing but positive experiences while living here. I have been blessed by the staff and the other residents. I know my life has been changed for the better just through the services offered such as the medical transportation and different shopping trips and health screenings and programs. I think I once said this is what heaven must be like and I meant it. I feel so down and blue and then one smile and one hug from staff or a neighbor and I feel better. I was meant to be here and am a proud part of this special community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2010

In my short time as a member of the staff here at The Episcopal Place, I've been overwhelmed at the impact the programs offered to the residents have on their overall well being. For instance, Martha... more

November 15, 2012

The Episcopal Place is truly a remarkable environment. It's supported by a caring and loving staff, who makes certain each resident remains independent and valued. The residents are former artists, actors, painters, writers, nurses, nuns, veterans, truck drivers, and governments workers all living their lives in this lovely environment off Highland Avenue. As the Activities Director, I get to see them during some fun times, but also see the challenges that come with aging while maintaining a sense of dignity. The Episcopal Place is a true jewel of a place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

In my short time as a member of the staff here at The Episcopal Place, I've been overwhelmed at the impact the programs offered to the residents have on their overall well being. For instance, Martha, one of my favorite residents, has learning disabilitles and was unable to live in an unsupervised environment. She comes to all the creative activities offered ( in fact, she's the first one to sign up) and I've noticed her speech and self confidence have improved remarkably. She feels safe, nutured, and loved, and it's a joy to watch her day by day. The Episcopal Place is a haven and home, a safe place to be.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my daily experience with people. My patience has expanded, for sure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more funding for creative programs.

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I've worked at Episcopal Place for five years and enjoy it very much . I enjoy the team that I work with . We make sure we provide the residents with a clean, safe, well maintanced facility with a lot of activities that they can be involved with if they like.I enjoy working around our residents and listening to there stories about life and saying how much they enjoy Episcopal Place. When I was first applying and allowed to join the team, I had no idea that I would be a part of something so great. I am very excited about what we have accomplished here and look foward to the great things we will accomplish in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Several years ago,too many to count,I was privileged as rector of St. Alban's Episcopal Church to accompany volunteers who had prepared refreshments for some birthday parties and Halloween Parties for the residents of Episcopal Place. Everyone from the church and from Episcopal Place enjoyed the food and the fellowship. The residents were happy; we all enjoyed being together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I am so happy and thankful to be a resident of Episcopal Place. The staff members here really care about the residents and go out of their way to make our lives easier, safer and more fulfilling. For instance, a wireless emergency call system was recently installed at no cost to the residents. We each have a personal button to wear on our wrist or around our necks which we can press to call for help in case of a health emergency. The system works no matter where we are on the property here. This is only one of the many extra services that Episcopal Housing Foundation provides residents. Episcopal Place is not just low income housing for seniors and people with disabilities. It is a place to keep your mind and body active and healthy; and a place to grow old with dignity, respect, friendship and family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

The staff and residents at EP are wonderful! I moved out of town, but LOVED my time there! I hope to return and volunteer soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Episcopal Place provides amazing supportive services to frail seniors and those with disabilities. They help people remain independent in a beautiful and loving environment. Their model of helping people with housing and long term services and supports can be a model our country uses going forward to care for those in need. Birmingham AL is fortunate to have such an incredible organization leading the way in which efficient care will be provided in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I'm a neighbor of Episcopal Place and what a priceless asset to the neighborhood it is. Not only does it offer an essential service to its residents, but it truly serves as a stabilizing force for the surrounding community with its professionalism and integrity. I've come to know and love several of the residents as friends and I'm frequently moved by the gratitude they express for the rich quality of life that they are able to maintain thanks to the wonderful people there. I just hope there will be space for me there if and when the time is right!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

EP is there for the many who are often forgotten or who fall through the cracks as they grow older. Walk through the common areas and hallways at anytime of the day and you will see smiling faces and hear the laughter of people who enjoy living in a community of people who care for one another and this place they call home. It is an honor to be a part of Episcopal Place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers