Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

I have been a volunteer driver for Episcopal Place in Birmingham for the past 10 years. They provide safe and affordable housing in a home-like atmosphere and truly do care personally for the residents. The staff at EP goes above and beyond to provide the "little extras" that make it feel like home, not just another apartment complex. Extremely well-run organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more resources for resident activities (realizing there is certainly a finite amount of money to do so...).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have worked with the Service Coordinator program at Episcopal Place for the past eight years. This program helps the Episcopal Place residents identify, locate and acquire the services and supports necessary for them to remain self-sufficient. Episcopal Place goes above and beyond other housing communities because of the programs that are offered to their residents. Episcopal Place is not just an affordable housing facility but a caring supportive environment that residents truly feel is home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 26, 2012

Episcopal Place is a wonderful affordable houing complex for low income seniors and physically challenged individuals. During my 30 years at Episcopal Place I have been blessed by the wisdom of these ... more

October 30, 2013


I have been privileged to be a part of Episcopal Place for over 30 years. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, board of directors, and residents. Episcopal Place is committed to providing services (medical van transportation , meals and housekeeping programs, and activities) that
helps our residents live independently in affordable housing for a longer time. Everyday more than one person tells how thankful the are to be living at Episcopal Place and how thankful they are for our caring staff. I tell them I am the thankful one to be here to help care for them. Episcopal Place has become my second family.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

Episcopal Place is a wonderful affordable houing complex for low income seniors and physically challenged individuals. During my 30 years at Episcopal Place I have been blessed by the wisdom of these precious individuals. It is my privilege to work at such a caring place .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2010
3 people found this review helpful

I have seen the life of a disabled applicant enhanced once she moved into Episcopal Place. She now has her own apartment, new friends but the best thing was when we were able to get her a rolater walker. She is now able to walk without the fear of falling. I enjoy seeing her walk outside for excerise every morning with a smile on her face.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the joy of applicants when they are able to move into Episcopal Place

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see more quality subsidized housing for persons with disabilities who are under 62 years of age.

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a resident of Episcopal Place, I have found the service and concern of the staff to be a primary life saving event. Often when one changes a lifestyle at an older age, depression can set in with the usual gerontology issues and illnesses. The attention given by staff and residents often dispell issues that prevent major depression. It is not easy at all for a formerly active , healthy out going individual to change their lifestyle because of the inability to be as active as they once were. Episcopal Place provides assistance , activities, and direction that affords the residents to remain as active as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have lived here for 6 years. I can't imagine living anywhere else. I love it here. The staff is absolutely wonderful and they make all of us feel special.I get some of the noon meals as well as participate in the filed trips and really enjoy going out with everyone. I attend the programs and activities and love the new storytelling. I am involved in the art class. I really enjoy the parties and the dinners. I volunteer and bake for the Residents' Association. I will work for any event here at Episcopal Place. I love playing bingo and poker. Even if I won the lottery I would give it away so I continue to live here at Episcopal Place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I have lived here for 7 years and moved in with my sister from the neighborhood we lived in for years. We immediately felt safe and welcomed. When she passed away, everyone here including staff were s... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I enjoy living at Episcopal Place. After living here for nine years , the residents and staff are my second family. I participate in most activities and programs and really enjoys what the Activities Director and Service Coordinator bring to us daily. I know that all the staff work hard to make our daily lives better. We are never bored and rarely have to ask for entertainment. The parties and dinners here are fantastic and we are always overwhelmed with food and service. I love my apartment and with my cat as a companion I really have a true"home." I have eaten the noon meals as well as ridden the van to medical appointments and on field trips. It is so nice to know that there are people who care about you working here and ask you what you need and how you are doing with a smile on their face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work on parking

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

I have lived here for 7 years and moved in with my sister from the neighborhood we lived in for years. We immediately felt safe and welcomed. When she passed away, everyone here including staff were so comforting that I knew I was at home. I really enjoy the programs and activities and the fact that I can also be at home and spend time with my companion cat that is allowed at EP. The socialization is great and the health screenings brought here allow us so much more access to good health care than some folks have. I really like the medical transportation and the opportunity for noon meals that are delivered. I am really happy here and hope to live the rest of my life here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel very blessed to be able to reside at Episcopal Place. I feel we have the best staff bar none. They seem to work together like a family and treat us like we are their extended family. I think it is wonderful that we have the medical transportation and the trips to the grocery store or drug store offered through our van ministry. We are blessed to have Elmo Tanner , our medical van driver. Shannon, out social worker, has many good speakers that come and discuss anything from our wants to our needs and through Jane, our activities director we can go to dress rehearsals at the theater and have many musical entertainers. I take all of these opportunities given to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I want a new floor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I thank God every day that I was able to move into Episcopal Place. Living here makes my quality of life better. I have friends here that I have become quite close to and love my social worker. The staff here is really hardworking. I do partake in the noon meals program. I use the van for medical transportation. Occasionally I use the van for grocery shopping. I have had access to the relief fund when in need. I love the parties and dinners esp for socializing and meeting new people. I enjoy playing bingo and poker. I do like going to the programs where I enjoy learning educational information about new health issues as well as going to the activities. I have a new kitten that I probably never would have gotten if I did not live at EP and she has become my closest companion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See more people get along better and have more interaction among the new and old residents

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Throughout my life, I've had the wonderful experience of being associated with a host of non-profit organizations and Episcopal Place is one of the best! I truly feel the staff of this fine organization is what makes it such a special place. Spend a day at EP. Watch the staff interact with the residents and you will see it too. Care, compassion, concern and a strong faith are present in all their activities. I'm very proud to be associated with this fine organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the churc... more

August 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and donated to Episcopal Place. The staff is dedicated to providing an above average home/housing environment. They go beyond the role of simply serving as a "rental office". They care about the residents with compassion. Activities, experiences and services are provided that allow those residents, who wish to participate to have an enriched, full life.
I feel that my donations have been used efficiently and wisely. The diversity of the residents indicates that Episcopal Place is not just for Episcopalians and the elderly. My positive interaction with residents and staff members proves to me that the mission statement of "Enriching Lives with Grace & Comfort" is being well carried out. I plan to continue my involvement with time and money. I think it would be a great place to live, when the time comes, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to this organization other than encouraging even more support from the community in order to change/increase the organization's budget. They already do so much in a time of economic cutbacks; however, I know the dream is to provide even more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

For years I had driven by Episcopal Place and knew that it was housing, I thought for senior citizens. And to be honest, I thought they all had to be of the Episcopalian denomination. Then the church that I attend, Southside Baptist, began to encourage volunters to visit and help in ways identified by the staff. I also learned that some of my church family actually live at Episcopal Place. So, it's not just for Episcopalians and it's not just for seniors, but those with disabilities, too. Not long ago I visited for a performance given by Four for Time for the residents in the lovely assembly room. It was well attended and was like being in a New York cabaret! I met and talked with some of the residents. They have a walled garden and an aviary in one of the sitting rooms, designed for the residents' amusement. One of the residents identified the different birds and informed me of their habits. I observed the staff mingling with the residents and it was like a family. I kept thinking this is where I would want my parents to live. Then the thought occured to me, I am fast approaching that generation and this is where I want to live. A room with a balcony, in one of the buildings adjacent to the Virginia Samford Theater, the park and just off Highland Avenue, not far from St. Vincent's Hospital, plus a great, caring staff. Just hope there's room, when I'm ready...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers