Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.913795
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

I like to think of Episcopal Place as an option as I age. That's why I give. I want it to be there, when I need a wonderful place like Episcopal Place to finish out my years of living independently but in an upscale caring environment - a community...and I'm not even Episcopalian. I visit and see the activities for the residents. I witness the care and compassion shown by the staff. The staff goes above and beyond a simple rental office. The public areas are fashionable and well maintained. The location is so convenient...the park, the theater, St. Vincent's Hospital and shopping. Some of the apartments even have balconies with a view! There's a chapel, hair salon, library, porch and gardens. Yep, purely selfish. Hope there's an opening if and when I need it...keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any other than a larger budget made possible by generous donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 29, 2013

I just completed my 5th year of employment at EP! I can't say enough good things about it. The staff not only cares FOR the residents but they care ABOUT the residents and the residents care about t... more

July 17, 2014

I am ending my 6th year at EP and could not be more proud of where we are. Our Chaplain said it best when she said, "Life at EP is a never-ending story of needs, friendship, strength and grace." [We care for those] "who are struggling to survive in a demanding world." Life can be hard for all of us at times but when you combine an aging population with limited financial resources you are left with what one could easily call despair. That is where EP makes a difference! HUD funding ensures that the buildings are kept to an acceptable standard, that the utility bills are paid and minimal staff is retained. With the help of Episcopal parishes, the Diocese and many donors we are able to provide the "extras" such as medical transportation, subsidized noon meals, subsidized housekeeping for those that are not physically able to maintain their home, a part time Episcopal Chaplain and an activities program. It is this kind of care that Bishop Stough, back in the middle 1970's, had dreams of.....and I am happy to be a part of continuing the mission and vision that he saw.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

I just completed my 5th year of employment at EP! I can't say enough good things about it. The staff not only cares FOR the residents but they care ABOUT the residents and the residents care about the staff. One of the things most impressive is the way we all pull together when needed. Everybody jumps in and offers to help for things like serving big resident meals or carrying out fund raisers like Gumbo Gala. I think Mother Teresa says it best, "Let us touch the dying, the poor, the lonely and the unwanted according to the graces we have received and let us not be ashamed or slow to do the humble work."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I recently attended the LeadingAge conference in Denver, CO and was joined by over 8000 other non-profit providers that do what we do here at EP..... that is to serve and advocate for the elderly and disabled. Hearing the stories of so many others from across the country, I was reminded that what we do matters. Collectively, we care for thousands and thousands of people every day that would otherwise not have a caring, safe and comfortable environment to live in. I was also reminded that EP ranks well when compared to other communities and the services that are offered to the residents. As a once was told by one of our Clergy, "You are tending the field you have been given and are a good steward of your calling. We can only do what we can do, and, thank the Lord, that is enough."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Episcopal Place serves the needs of its disabled population in a myriad of ways. One of the most important ways is advocacy. Even though differences are made and lives are improved upon on an individual basis almost every day, advocacy brings about systemic change that can effect many people. We do not advocate FOR our residents, we advocate WITH our residents. We give them the opportunity to go and be seen and heard and to represent themselves. For example, over the past year, groups have been taken to Montgomery to demonstrate for more funding for transportation, to the City of Birmingham to rally and to the City of Vestavia to speak before the City Council regarding public bus service. These advocacy opportunities brought about change that directly impacted a resident that lives at Episcopal Place. A bus route that provided transportation for a disabled resident so he could work a part-time job was in jeopardy of being discontinued. The residents and staff of Episcopal Place went to work and the decision to discontinue the route was overturned. After speaking with the Executive Director of the Birmingham Jefferson County Transit Authority, he told me that our advocacy was the key factor that changed the minds of the key players and therefore resulted in the bus routes not being discontinued.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the results of advocacy and becoming aware of the many advocacy opportunities available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more housing for the under-62 years-old popoluation that is underserved. The waiting list is 2 years long and we receive calls on a regular basis from people and families that are looking for quality housing for young disabled. It is frustrating to not be able to offer them housing here but it more so because I have nowhere to refer them to.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 16, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

I have worked here at Episcopal Place for 9 years and feel that this establishment has only grown as a ministry that is working towards helping those that receive the services they need to maintain th... more

July 16, 2014

Episcopal Place has exceeded all of my expectations as being one of the best senior facilities to live and work. I would absolutely apply for my parents to live here in the future. The staff are caring and treat everyone with dignity and respect. The staff, volunteers and board of directors work diligently to make every effort to ensure everyone has their individual needs met as well as managing the building properly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked here at Episcopal Place for 9 years and feel that this establishment has only grown as a ministry that is working towards helping those that receive the services they need to maintain their independence. We are able to offer such a wide variety of services through the grants and fundraisers and are able to serve such a diverse population that I am overwhelmed daily by what we do. Having the ability to meet with people daily, touch their lives, meet with their family members and help them in crisis or tramatic times has really made my life long dream a reality. I am in awe of how many residents are able to remain in their apartments because of what we offer and how many have lived here over 10 years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

Episcopal Place has offered me a home esp while my family is overseas. I have enjoyed the teamwork and the love that the residents share with the staff and each other. Over the past 7 years, I have most enjoyed getting to know each and every resident and listening to their wonderful stories and being able to fulfill their needs with the services we offer. Episcopal Place is so warm and welcoming and the activities provide a great arena for socializing and also during the holidays we have been able to fill in for those who have no family. Sometimes we can offer a smile or a hug that changes someone's day for the better. I believe that is who we are- the people who make a change for the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2010

There are so many experiences I would like to share and choosing just one is terribly difficult. This organization, the staff, and the residents have greatly impacted my life. Currently I am in the process of assisting a female resident with a desire to be one of the first fashion models with a disability. She needed a portfolio and we were able to locate a local photographer willing to create it for her. She is now well on her way to reaching her dream. Through a new relationship with an exercise facility specializing in assisting persons with disabilities as well as senior citizens, I have successfully applied for and received 15 full or partial scholarships for our residents to utlize the facility. We also have arranged transportation to the complex twice a week. Through these activities, the residents are able to age in place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The relationships with family members and residents that are maintained even after a resident has passed or moved on. Also in the smiles and hugs received daily. Seeing a resident get the job they have always wanted or having the ability to volunteer with children or exercise facilities that are created for persons with disabilities. Without the knowledge of the staff or the networking capabilities, some of these dreams would never be accomplished.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide more access for the residents to advocate for what they want and need in the community. I would also provide more training for family members and caregivers as well as staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

The age range ( 4 weeks to 100 years of age )

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I have worked at Episcopal Place since October 1982. Episcopal Place provides affordable housing for low income seniors and person with mobility, hearing, or vision impairments. With affordable community based services we are able to assist the people who live at Episcopal Place with housekeeping, transportation to medical appointments, and many other services to help them age in place with dignity. I am very honored to have worked with the Episcopal Place residents, staff and Boards of Directors for the past 30 years. Episcopal Place is a wonderful safe, clean, and affordable place to live.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

Episcopal Place is a wonderful community that serves many people with a safe and clean home. My brother who has a severe hearing disability has lived at EP for 4 years and enjoys it more each day. The staff is what makes this such a unique place. Each person seems to enjoy there work and strives to make EP a real home for those who live there. It is model organization which I would hope could be replicated in other places.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2013

I have worked in the senior housing business for a number of years and have found that Episcopal Place is by far one of the most impressive orgainizations I have worked with. The staff are truely ded... more

July 11, 2014

Episcopal Place is an exceptional apartment community for seniors and disabled. The staff and Board of Directors go the extra mile to make sure that the residents of Episcopal Place are provided a wonderful place to call home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked in the senior housing business for a number of years and have found that Episcopal Place is by far one of the most impressive orgainizations I have worked with. The staff are truely dedicated to providing more to their residents than just a nice apartment to call home. They are continuely looking for ways they can provide what is needed by each one of the residents who live at Episcopal Place. I don't know what some of the residents would do without the extra services offered at Episcopal Place. It is truely at unique organization.
S. Brandino

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

Episcopal Place is a wonderful place for seniors on a limited income. The Board and staff go beyond what most non-profits of this type housing program do for their residents and it shows. The community is beautiful and the residents are benefiting from all the extra services and activties that are offered.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

My son lives at Episcopal Place and loves it. It provides a safe, clean and fun environment for all the residents. All of the staff are always very caring and helpful. Episcopal Place gives the residents a place to live independently that they might not otherwise have. I would not want my son to live anywhere else!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Its already pretty perfect.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Episcopal Place is a leader in the field with its affordable housing and broad array of supportive services. There is no other place like it in Birmingham. It is truly unique in physical appearance, services and atmosphere.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

Our community theatre is located next door to Episcopal Place and we love for the residents to attend our events. Everyone seems very happy with their life at EP and its caring and loving environment. The Executive Director, Tim Blanton, is definitely the reason EP is so successful. Wish I could live there!

Catherine Gilmore
President
Virginia Samford Theatre

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

My mother has been a resident at The Episcopal Place since March 2013. Over the past 16 months my expectations of care/services rendered has far exceeded any ideas I had prior to mother moving in. There are activities scheduled everyday for the residence to participate in if they chose. My concerns with my mother getting to the doctor have been taken care of as there is a van to provide transportation to/from appointments. Weekly trips to two different grocery stores are provided. There are "field trips" offered. Most importantly, mother has made wonderful friends with other residents and staff. I feel 100% positive there is no better atmosphere for the elderly or disabled citizens anywhere.

My husband has asked me many times, "we can move in"!

I almost forgot.....We LOVE the annual gumbo gala. We wouldn't miss it and have invited our friends to come along with us. There are activites for all age groups. Our six year old granddaughter loves to go along as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers