Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Thank You Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. for providing the grant for my son and other children with epilepsy to go to Camp Boggy Creek. This was Jason's second year going there and I can tell you that it positively changed his life. He was diagnosed with epilepsy about 3 years ago without any known cause. At age 12, he just had a drop-attack on a school field trip and then he started to have more frequent seizures. The medication finally got most of his seizures under control but one of the hardest things to deal with was his feelings of isolation or depression and feeling that others didn't understand. Camp Boggy Creek changed all that and he had such a fun time that he forgot all about his epilepsy. It is such a positive environment. The staff is outstanding. For a kid with epilepsy to go horseback riding, climbing a tower and zip-lining down, swimming, playing sports, going to wood-shop and his favorite - archery- is such an amazing accomplishment. We appreciate all the support that Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. has given our family. We see first-hand on how the money raised is used to support children with epilepsy. My son could not have attended without the grant from the Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. I would rate this a top nonprofit organization. Thank You so much, The Patella Family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Thanks to the wonderful program, the Epilepsy Services Foundation my son has been able to attend a great camp, Boggy Creek Camp. My son was diagnosed with epilepsy one week after his first birthday. He then over the years increased the different types of seizures and added additional medical issues. He is a wonderful teenager with a heart of gold. With the issues my son has without the support of the foundation my son would not be able to participate in a camp like other normal children. This is such a fantastic program supporting all individuals with epilepsy. I really appreciate everything Tom Orth and the foundation have done for my son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have legal custody of our 14-year old niece who has epilepsy. When her seizures started to increase, I called Epilepsy Services Foundation for advice. The executive director, Tom Orth, was such a help to us. He put us in touch with a wonderful support group for parents and kids in Sarasota (JoshProvides.org) and also told us about the support group in Tampa. Tom gave us the names of pediatric neurologists in the area who could help us. We went on an epilepsy walk with Tom last fall and met more people with epilepsy and their parents. Our niece got to participate in a USF baseball game as a "bat girl" because of ESF. She loved it! Most recently, our niece attended Camp Boggy Creek, and her fee was paid for by ESF. She had a week with other kids who have epilepsy, and it was the best week in her life. Our lives have been so enriched by all of the positive changes we've been able to make since we contacted ESF. Thank you thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

I just wanted to let you all know how wonderful you the foundation was to provide my son the opportunity to go to the Boggy Creek Camp. My son attended the camp for the first time this year because the Epilepsy Foundation sponsored him to go. He had the most amazing week at a beautiful camp that gives children that would not normally be able to participate in camp the opportunity to do so. The Foundation is a wonderful group that makes the dreams of children like my son a reality. They provided a normal week of camp participating in activities that would not have been possible for them without all the medical support and volunteers that were all truly amazing. The Epilepsy Foundation is a wonderful group to provide the support to the children that have this condition. My son has had five different kinds of Epilepsy and has had other learning disabilities and health conditions, but what the Foundation did for him is something I will never forget and will always be grateful. There are really are not enough words that could say how appreciative we are for the life changing experience my son had a the camp.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

Our family's experience with the Epilepsy Services Foundation (ESF) has been a very positive one. They have made it possible for our daughter, Samantha, to attend Camp Boggy Creek for many summers now and it truly has been a life changing event for her. Samantha has been able to interact and see that she is not alone with her disease. She faces challenges but it has opened her eyes to the more difficult challenges that others with epilepsy face. We are so grateful for ESF and specifically Tom Orth and the many opportunities that have come our way including informative seminars, workshops, newsletters, etc.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME F... more

November 2, 2013

I have been volunteering and a board member for two years. This has been a awesome experience. When I needed help and direction for my young daughter they were their to help me. We are greatful for all there support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME FOR HER CARE. I WOULD BE LOST WITH OUT THEM. WHEN I NEED INFO ON NEW MEDS OR HELP WITH A DOCTOR THEY ARE ALWATS THERE FOR ME. THANKS ESF. THE VANHOOK FAMILY

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer