Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.978265
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering for ESF with the organization of the HARE Racing Experience since 2009. This event has been very successful in helping children with epilepsy attend Camp Boggy Creek. Tom Orth (Executive Director for Epilepsy Services Foundation) works extremely hard and is dedicated to making this event successful for the children. It is a pleasure to work with Tom who is dedicated to raising funds needed to serve the people with epilepsy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I've been involved with the Epilepsy Services Foundation for around 20 years, with their annual golf tournament, Ribs for Kids, etc. They always do an AWESOME job of organizing things, and more importantly, reflecting their genuine heart and concern for others, not just those whom they directly serve, but those whom they work with. Volunteers walk away being valued and knowing that they made a difference. As as professional with limited time to volunteer, I consider my work with ESF to be well worth my time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

When we moved to Tampa in 2008 we were advised to hook up with ESF and Tom Orth. We quickly learned about Tom's passion and his dedication for helping children with epilepsy and their families. Tom has given our family and our son, who has epilepsy, some very good connections over the years. We felt so good about what ESF has done and continues to do that my wife has been volunteering for the past four years, and I have helped some over the past three years. We are fortunate to have such a great organization like ESF and it's director Tom Orth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor of volunteering for ESF for several years under the leadership of Tom Orth and his very dedicated staff. Tom and his team exude a passion for this foundation that goes beyond a commitment to raising funds for resources needed for persons suffering with seizure disorders. They provide a caring, personal and meaningful methodology for each candidate and their families. My husband and I happily volunteer for this great cause. We are blessed with good health and continue to hope for continued progressive research for all in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ESF has been helping people with seizure disorders and their families for decades. It has a committed group of volunteers, but more important are the staff who commit themselves every day to improving the lives of their clients. A good portion of ESF's funding comes through private fundraising events, organized and staffed by the Executive Director and lots of volunteers, so a very high percentage of every dollar raised goes directly to benefit the clients. Can't say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer I have the opportunity to help plan, collect donations, get volunteers and golf in a great outing with some of my fellow colleagues. It's a thrill to see how the community comes together on behalf of the children with epilepsy giving donations, funds, time, raffle prizes, and food! I didn't know much about eplilepsy before volunteering to help make the golf outing a success. It's stunning to hear how many precautions that people with epilepsy have to take to keep from having a seizure. Without this organization there are many children who would never get to experience a camp because the cost is prohibited with the 24/7 medical assistance needed. I was looking for something to give back to the community and even though this is only a once a year event, I am thrilled to participate. This organization is great. Tom Orth who is in charge is the most kind and sincere person you will ever meet. It's not about him. It's about the kids! When the community gives so much it's great just to watch Tom, he's like a kid himself. He gets so excited and never loses gratitude. If you are looking for a solid organization to volunteer or support, I highly recommend this one. Donna B, Tampa FL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this ... more

September 19, 2013

I have participated in fundraising walks with ESF for many years and from the very beginning was extremely impressed with how the executive director, Tom Orth, reached out personally to participants to thank them for their support. Over the years I became a regular volunteer in the Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy held annually to raise funds to send kids with epilepsy to summer camp, and in January had the honor of being elected to the Board of Directors. We are a very small non-profit in the traditional sense in that we only have ONE paid employee and are almost completely volunteer driven, yet we have so many programs and events that we help children and adults affected by epilepsy in Hillsborough, Polk, and Pinellas counties (Florida) - which for those not familiar is the Tampa / St. Pete area. I am so privileged and honored to volunteer with this organization and plan to continue to associate myself with them for a very long time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open more eyes to what we do so that every day we could help even more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this is a true non-profit that cares more about the people helped than to ever making $$ for themselves. Through a variety of walks and other events ESF not only brings Epilepsy awareness and education to the community, but also raise funds to send kids with Epilepsy to summer camp, college scholarships for students with Epilepsy as well as for those going into the field of neurology, and more. I am really glad I have become involved with ESF and hope to continue to be for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. of the greater Tampa Bay area is a driving force in education, awareness, and aid for families effected by epilepsy. As a person living with epilepsy, the knowledge base of the organization was immensely helpful to me early in my dealings with my condition. As a volunteer, I have had the pleasure of serving on the planning committee for our annual Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy in Lakeland, FL, through which we not only raise awareness for Epilepsy but also funds to send kids with epilepsy to Camp Boggy Creek - a summer camp in the area for medically needy kids. This year we raised enough money to send 22 kids to summer camp! Other events held throughout the last several years have also provided scholarships to college students planning a career in neurology, and scholarships to students effected by epilepsy. I am very proud to be associated with ESF!!!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2012

more

September 3, 2012

The Epilepsy Services Foundaiton, Inc. is a unique foundation that supports the need to spread awareness of a very important cause that impacts children of all ages. The executive director, Tom is wonderful and truly cares for the foundation and is very dedicated. I feel honored to be a part of a wonderful team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

The Epilepsy Services Foundation has given me the opportunity to get involved with the community and help other individuals with seizure disorders - like myself - by allowing me to be a part Project Access. As a volunteer, I have witnessed first had the hard work board members put in to assure individuals with seizure disorders receive proper care, put together events that intend to educate others about epilepsy, fund raise, and most importantly provide a loving environment in which a person can feel welcomed and accepted for who they are. The foundation has also granted me a scholarship that will help me further my education in hopes that one day I will be able to create programs to improve the quality of life of persons with seizure disorders through the public health sector. The foundation deserves this award and much more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I became involved with this foundation through my wife who has epilepsy. Like most people I didn't know much about epilepsy and had very stereo-typical ideas about people with epilepsy. i.e. they look different, they act different, they are constantly having an "episode", they cannot lead a normal life, they are "slow", etc. I know it sounds awful but it's what many people believe. My wife is the very opposite of the above description; she is one of the most physically fit, motivated, disciplined, and intelligent persons I have ever met. She did not tell me about her epilepsy until months after dating and even after getting married I sometimes learn of old adversities that she has had to face due to others prejudices. This foundation has taught me so much about this condition and has encouraged me to give back in both my professional life and personal life. I am a chiropractor and have dedicated a significant portion of my practice to helping those that have epilepsy through spinal and cervical adjustments. It's no cure but the research shows there are benefits. Without this foundation, my wife would still be the incredible person she is today, she's a fighter, but I'm not sure I would be the husband that I am today. Thank-you Epilepsy Services Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer