Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.980395
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I became involved with this foundation through my wife who has epilepsy. Like most people I didn't know much about epilepsy and had very stereo-typical ideas about people with epilepsy. i.e. they look different, they act different, they are constantly having an "episode", they cannot lead a normal life, they are "slow", etc. I know it sounds awful but it's what many people believe. My wife is the very opposite of the above description; she is one of the most physically fit, motivated, disciplined, and intelligent persons I have ever met. She did not tell me about her epilepsy until months after dating and even after getting married I sometimes learn of old adversities that she has had to face due to others prejudices. This foundation has taught me so much about this condition and has encouraged me to give back in both my professional life and personal life. I am a chiropractor and have dedicated a significant portion of my practice to helping those that have epilepsy through spinal and cervical adjustments. It's no cure but the research shows there are benefits. Without this foundation, my wife would still be the incredible person she is today, she's a fighter, but I'm not sure I would be the husband that I am today. Thank-you Epilepsy Services Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

My story starts when I was diagnosed with Juvenile Myoclonic Epilepsy at the age of eight. Luckily for me my condition was so minor that even my closest friends were not aware that I had epilepsy; epilepsy in a way became my dark secret in life. I led a very normal active life. I began my college career with the intention of becoming a lawyer, but subsequently determined that my passion at that time lied in a career in law enforcement. I applied for a very competitive scholarship with the Tampa Police Department. After a year-long background screening process that involved numerous psychological, fitness, and academic testing I eagerly accepted TPD’s scholarship offer. I had graduated from the police academy third in my class academically. A week after getting sworn in, I received a phone call from the doctor informing me that he would not be able to approve me medically fit to receive the pension. Consequently I lost my job. My worst nightmare had come true in the worst possible way. The doctor said that my condition was a “disability” and the department said that they would not be able to make any accommodations for me. I had never been called disabled before or treated in such a way, and now I was losing my job over my so called “disability”. Looking back I now realize that this was a turning point in my life. Before, I never considered myself an epileptic, but I was now forced to realize that I was. I was angry and realized that I shouldn’t be ashamed to have epilepsy and that I needed to fight back not just for myself, but for others with epilepsy that either had or will eventually be discriminated against as I was. This experience had given me a new perspective on life and illuminated a new career path in law. This was when I became involved with the Epilepsy Services Foundation. For six years now I have volunteered and have committed myself to this Foundation, but this foundation has helped me more emotionally, psychologically, and philosophically than I can ever return. I will be graduating from Stetson University Of Law in December and will continue to volunteer, support, and promote those that have epilepsy. I'm a living example; I'm epileptic and yes I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

This charity is amazing! As the mother of a teenager recently diagnosed wiith Epilepsy, which was the result of a head injury sustained while wrestling around with friends, I decided that I wanted to become involved with anything to help raise awareness and funding for Epilespy. I volunteered for an event, an Epilepsy fundraising race, and instantly felt like one of the family. Everyone was very welcoming, and each had their own stories of how Epilespy has touched their lives. Epilepsy Services Foundation has opened my family's eyes to resources available to us in the community and support groups that we were previously unaware of. They even told us about a camp specifically for children with Epilepsy, Camp Boggy Creek, which my daughter attended in July, and she had a blast!!! For the first time since her head injury, she was able to relax and not be afraid of her seizures. Epilepsy Services Foundation has really helped my daughter to see that she is not alone, that there is help for her, and that people really do care and want to help find a cure for her and others dealing with Epilepsy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that my daughter was accpeted as a camper at Camp Boggy Creek.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes at all- they are awesome!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I truly cannot think of one change.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I met a lot of people dealing with the same issues as my family.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Meeting others dealing with similar issues has made my family feel less alone in our struggles and it has given me hope about my daughter's future.

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

I just wanted to let you all know how wonderful you the foundation was to provide my son the opportunity to go to the Boggy Creek Camp. My son attended the camp for the first time this year because the Epilepsy Foundation sponsored him to go. He had the most amazing week at a beautiful camp that gives children that would not normally be able to participate in camp the opportunity to do so. The Foundation is a wonderful group that makes the dreams of children like my son a reality. They provided a normal week of camp participating in activities that would not have been possible for them without all the medical support and volunteers that were all truly amazing. The Epilepsy Foundation is a wonderful group to provide the support to the children that have this condition. My son has had five different kinds of Epilepsy and has had other learning disabilities and health conditions, but what the Foundation did for him is something I will never forget and will always be grateful. There are really are not enough words that could say how appreciative we are for the life changing experience my son had a the camp.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

Tom Orth does an amazing job as an administrator and this is the only group I commit personal time to. I have lived with my seizure disorder for almost 40 years and the quality of the relationships I have is why I am so committed to the Epilepsy Services Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

Our family's experience with the Epilepsy Services Foundation (ESF) has been a very positive one. They have made it possible for our daughter, Samantha, to attend Camp Boggy Creek for many summers now and it truly has been a life changing event for her. Samantha has been able to interact and see that she is not alone with her disease. She faces challenges but it has opened her eyes to the more difficult challenges that others with epilepsy face. We are so grateful for ESF and specifically Tom Orth and the many opportunities that have come our way including informative seminars, workshops, newsletters, etc.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 9, 2011

My connection to Epilepsy Services Foundation (ESF) began when I was diagnosed with epilepsy at age 5 and was told that I would have to take medication for the rest of my life. I had a mild form of s... more

June 21, 2012

A great non-profit starts with a great leader and Tom Orth, Executive Director is one of the best. Within the short time that I've been on the Board, ESF has jumped leaps and bounds in fundraising and awareness. This could not be done without the dedication of our volunteers, Board members and Tom Orth. The future of ESF is bright and I am grateful to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2011

My connection to Epilepsy Services Foundation (ESF) began when I was diagnosed with epilepsy at age 5 and was told that I would have to take medication for the rest of my life. I had a mild form of seizures called absence seizures which made me "blank out" or lose consciousness for a few seconds. The seizures were more socially disturbing during my childhood than anything, but I was blessed to have outgrown them by the time I reached my teen years. Before meeting Executive Director of ESF, Tom Orth, I was very skeptical about charitable organizations. Since then, however, I've experienced ESF's dedication to serving those with epilepsy first hand. I started with ESF by volunteering at its annual Live Music Series in 2010 and working a concession stand at a Tampa Bay Buc's football game to raise money. I also participated its H.O.P.E. Training (Helping Other People with Epilepsy) where I learned so much more about the disorder. ESF and Tom Orth gave me hope that there are organizations out that there truly care about serving the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the faces of those who have received scholarships from ESF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. We have great leadership in place.

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I have been involved with ESF over the years and helped in several ways, one of which is the Golfing for Kids Classic. I also served on the committee and have volunteered at the Classic and the Hare Racing Experience. While working on these wonderful events, I have grown to love this organization and have seen 1st hand the difference it has made in so many peoples lives. The money helped raise scholarships for Boggy Creek and future educational goals. Our Tampa Bay organization has been a blessing for those effected by Epilepsy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

To keep this short and sweet I see the work that Tom and Epilepsy Services Foundation accomplish on a daily basis. His passion to help the epilepsy community is infectious and we are lucky to have such a supportive group as Epilepsy Services Foundation right here in the Tampa Bay area. While at an event I was able to see first hand the help that Tom and his group brings to the community - a mother of a newly diagnosed epilepsy patient was nervous and lost with their new challenge. Tom was able to bring together some other families who had already learned to deal with Epilepsy and help this scared mother. She left the meeting feeling empowered and confident that they would be able to meet this challenge head on. It still puts a smile on my face. Good work Tom.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I have worked with Tom Orth for the past three years helping out at their annual golf tournament. It's heartwarming to know that the money we raise will allow children with epilepsy to attend a summer camp, Camp Boggy Creek, just like other children. We just had our 24th Annual Golfing for Kids tournament and I believe we raised enough to help send 22 kids to camp this summer. We changed our venue this year and I believe we will be bigger and better again next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer