Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Thank You Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. for providing the grant for my son and other children with epilepsy to go to Camp Boggy Creek. This was Jason's second year going there and I can tell you that it positively changed his life. He was diagnosed with epilepsy about 3 years ago without any known cause. At age 12, he just had a drop-attack on a school field trip and then he started to have more frequent seizures. The medication finally got most of his seizures under control but one of the hardest things to deal with was his feelings of isolation or depression and feeling that others didn't understand. Camp Boggy Creek changed all that and he had such a fun time that he forgot all about his epilepsy. It is such a positive environment. The staff is outstanding. For a kid with epilepsy to go horseback riding, climbing a tower and zip-lining down, swimming, playing sports, going to wood-shop and his favorite - archery- is such an amazing accomplishment. We appreciate all the support that Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. has given our family. We see first-hand on how the money raised is used to support children with epilepsy. My son could not have attended without the grant from the Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. I would rate this a top nonprofit organization. Thank You so much, The Patella Family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor of volunteering for ESF for several years under the leadership of Tom Orth and his very dedicated staff. Tom and his team exude a passion for this foundation that goes beyond a commitment to raising funds for resources needed for persons suffering with seizure disorders. They provide a caring, personal and meaningful methodology for each candidate and their families. My husband and I happily volunteer for this great cause. We are blessed with good health and continue to hope for continued progressive research for all in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Thanks to the wonderful program, the Epilepsy Services Foundation my son has been able to attend a great camp, Boggy Creek Camp. My son was diagnosed with epilepsy one week after his first birthday. He then over the years increased the different types of seizures and added additional medical issues. He is a wonderful teenager with a heart of gold. With the issues my son has without the support of the foundation my son would not be able to participate in a camp like other normal children. This is such a fantastic program supporting all individuals with epilepsy. I really appreciate everything Tom Orth and the foundation have done for my son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have legal custody of our 14-year old niece who has epilepsy. When her seizures started to increase, I called Epilepsy Services Foundation for advice. The executive director, Tom Orth, was such a help to us. He put us in touch with a wonderful support group for parents and kids in Sarasota (JoshProvides.org) and also told us about the support group in Tampa. Tom gave us the names of pediatric neurologists in the area who could help us. We went on an epilepsy walk with Tom last fall and met more people with epilepsy and their parents. Our niece got to participate in a USF baseball game as a "bat girl" because of ESF. She loved it! Most recently, our niece attended Camp Boggy Creek, and her fee was paid for by ESF. She had a week with other kids who have epilepsy, and it was the best week in her life. Our lives have been so enriched by all of the positive changes we've been able to make since we contacted ESF. Thank you thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ESF has been helping people with seizure disorders and their families for decades. It has a committed group of volunteers, but more important are the staff who commit themselves every day to improving the lives of their clients. A good portion of ESF's funding comes through private fundraising events, organized and staffed by the Executive Director and lots of volunteers, so a very high percentage of every dollar raised goes directly to benefit the clients. Can't say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer I have the opportunity to help plan, collect donations, get volunteers and golf in a great outing with some of my fellow colleagues. It's a thrill to see how the community comes together on behalf of the children with epilepsy giving donations, funds, time, raffle prizes, and food! I didn't know much about eplilepsy before volunteering to help make the golf outing a success. It's stunning to hear how many precautions that people with epilepsy have to take to keep from having a seizure. Without this organization there are many children who would never get to experience a camp because the cost is prohibited with the 24/7 medical assistance needed. I was looking for something to give back to the community and even though this is only a once a year event, I am thrilled to participate. This organization is great. Tom Orth who is in charge is the most kind and sincere person you will ever meet. It's not about him. It's about the kids! When the community gives so much it's great just to watch Tom, he's like a kid himself. He gets so excited and never loses gratitude. If you are looking for a solid organization to volunteer or support, I highly recommend this one. Donna B, Tampa FL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2012

more

September 3, 2012

The Epilepsy Services Foundaiton, Inc. is a unique foundation that supports the need to spread awareness of a very important cause that impacts children of all ages. The executive director, Tom is wonderful and truly cares for the foundation and is very dedicated. I feel honored to be a part of a wonderful team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

Once I had received an initial diagnosis of Epilepsy from the USF Department of Neurology, I was lost. I had attempted on several occasions to find support on my own, but unfortunately without success. There were several reasons for this, inclusive of an inability to connect with patients like myself: adults who were suffering from epilepsy. Many of the epilepsy patients I originally met were children, under the age of 18, many suffering from Grand Mal seizures and in the care of parents. I, unfortunately, could not connect with them, their problems relating to the type of seizure I suffer from, as well as the social issues attached to it. The Epilepsy Services Foundation offered a viewpoint I had not seen before. It took a one on one approach to me, asking questions, both about my medical problems and issues as well as my personal life and social struggles. They proceeded to connect me with several doctors who took me in, and directed a "fix it" approach to my illness. In addition, Epilepsy Services Foundation also connected me with several support groups, and proceeded to keep me informed on a regular basis in regards to informative seminars and events throughout the Tampa Bay area. It has now been 8 years, and several surgeries later. I am unfortunately still a seizure patient. However, I am also still being kept up to date on changes in the area regarding informational events, seminars and socials that allow me to learn, grow and connect with professionals as well as patients like myself. Epilepsy Services Foundation is an excellent program from my perspective: that of a seizure patient. I am glad for, and appreciative of, the opportunities they continue to present to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more options for support group meetings...perhaps on a Saturday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Via USF Epilepsy Department

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

The Epilepsy Services Foundation has given me the opportunity to get involved with the community and help other individuals with seizure disorders - like myself - by allowing me to be a part Project Access. As a volunteer, I have witnessed first had the hard work board members put in to assure individuals with seizure disorders receive proper care, put together events that intend to educate others about epilepsy, fund raise, and most importantly provide a loving environment in which a person can feel welcomed and accepted for who they are. The foundation has also granted me a scholarship that will help me further my education in hopes that one day I will be able to create programs to improve the quality of life of persons with seizure disorders through the public health sector. The foundation deserves this award and much more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I became involved with this foundation through my wife who has epilepsy. Like most people I didn't know much about epilepsy and had very stereo-typical ideas about people with epilepsy. i.e. they look different, they act different, they are constantly having an "episode", they cannot lead a normal life, they are "slow", etc. I know it sounds awful but it's what many people believe. My wife is the very opposite of the above description; she is one of the most physically fit, motivated, disciplined, and intelligent persons I have ever met. She did not tell me about her epilepsy until months after dating and even after getting married I sometimes learn of old adversities that she has had to face due to others prejudices. This foundation has taught me so much about this condition and has encouraged me to give back in both my professional life and personal life. I am a chiropractor and have dedicated a significant portion of my practice to helping those that have epilepsy through spinal and cervical adjustments. It's no cure but the research shows there are benefits. Without this foundation, my wife would still be the incredible person she is today, she's a fighter, but I'm not sure I would be the husband that I am today. Thank-you Epilepsy Services Foundation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer