Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I found out about the Epilepsy Services Foundation due to their SeptemBEERfest fundraising event and expressed interest in getting involved. They were very receptive and made it easy to get involved. Since then, I have seen first hand how many lives this foundation touches and how it helps our community. The people that work with this foundation are nothing but helpful, kind and generous. It has been such a joy to work with the Epilepsy Services Foundation and see how they aid those persons affected by epilepsy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A little more tech-savvy to include mobile giving opportunities to aid with donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

I am a new volunteer with the Epilepsy Services Foundation; however, I have had experience with them before through the support and care provided to my younger brother. As a new volunteer, with the exposure to their services through my brother's epilepsy, I can say that The Epilepsy Services Foundation is a wonderful organization aimed at providing care, support, and resources. I wish I had known of this organization sooner, at least for my brother, so that we could have found the support for him earlier, but I'm glad we found the ESF. Members of the ESF display qualities longed for among professional medical providers-- compassion, above all, patience, open-mindedness, and a sense of reassuring calm and hope. Training with them has been most enlightening, and I cannot wait to volunteer more with the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

My experience with the Epilepsy Services Foundation has been one of enlightenment and fulfillment. It was wonderful to witness a group of people from all walks of life coming together, raising awareness for a cause that some have been personally touched by and others have no personal attachment. That is the true meaning of community. Not only is the Epilepsy Services Foundation 100% non-profit but the time and the energy that is taken out of member's and participant's personal lives leaves me in awe. Nothing is done for personal gain or accolades but rather the intrensic joy that is received from the change that occurs in helping someone not equipped with things that you and I take for granted on a daily basis. The most impressive and beautiful thing about this change is that it does not come from pity and over-coddling, which can often be more of a hinderance than a long-term asset, but rather in the form of information via awareness. The awareness that they are not alone and that there are medicines and programs available that can help. The efforts of the Epilepsy Services Foundation has given those effected by any form of epilepsy a feeling of importance and a place in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I am a volunteer, I also serve on the Executive Boards, and 3 other committees with this organization. My two children have had epilepsy since they were 1 years old. They also have autism, however with my family & their fathers have a strong history of epilepsy in our families this is an issue dear to my heart. I moved to tampa and looked for a support group of some sort and I found ESF. I can't begin to tell you how this amazing organization saved me, my life, and my kids. I volunteer and do all I can to help raise awareness. They have been an asset to me to help others, raise awareness, give support. I am proud to be part of this organization. I am at home with both my kids, the go to school at home so life is not what I ever thought it would be & I would not change a thing. This organization has helped me in finding ways for my kids to be a part of something bigger and not feel strange. Tom Orth, Executive Director, is amazing. He even just sits and has coffee to provide 30 minutes for me to gather myself. I love being part of this organization, the information, support, and dedication have fulfilled a part of me in a way that can never be replaced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None... we bring changes up, they ask for changes, they are change agents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME F... more

November 2, 2013

I have been volunteering and a board member for two years. This has been a awesome experience. When I needed help and direction for my young daughter they were their to help me. We are greatful for all there support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME FOR HER CARE. I WOULD BE LOST WITH OUT THEM. WHEN I NEED INFO ON NEW MEDS OR HELP WITH A DOCTOR THEY ARE ALWATS THERE FOR ME. THANKS ESF. THE VANHOOK FAMILY

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this ... more

September 19, 2013

I have participated in fundraising walks with ESF for many years and from the very beginning was extremely impressed with how the executive director, Tom Orth, reached out personally to participants to thank them for their support. Over the years I became a regular volunteer in the Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy held annually to raise funds to send kids with epilepsy to summer camp, and in January had the honor of being elected to the Board of Directors. We are a very small non-profit in the traditional sense in that we only have ONE paid employee and are almost completely volunteer driven, yet we have so many programs and events that we help children and adults affected by epilepsy in Hillsborough, Polk, and Pinellas counties (Florida) - which for those not familiar is the Tampa / St. Pete area. I am so privileged and honored to volunteer with this organization and plan to continue to associate myself with them for a very long time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open more eyes to what we do so that every day we could help even more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this is a true non-profit that cares more about the people helped than to ever making $$ for themselves. Through a variety of walks and other events ESF not only brings Epilepsy awareness and education to the community, but also raise funds to send kids with Epilepsy to summer camp, college scholarships for students with Epilepsy as well as for those going into the field of neurology, and more. I am really glad I have become involved with ESF and hope to continue to be for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. of the greater Tampa Bay area is a driving force in education, awareness, and aid for families effected by epilepsy. As a person living with epilepsy, the knowledge base of the organization was immensely helpful to me early in my dealings with my condition. As a volunteer, I have had the pleasure of serving on the planning committee for our annual Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy in Lakeland, FL, through which we not only raise awareness for Epilepsy but also funds to send kids with epilepsy to Camp Boggy Creek - a summer camp in the area for medically needy kids. This year we raised enough money to send 22 kids to summer camp! Other events held throughout the last several years have also provided scholarships to college students planning a career in neurology, and scholarships to students effected by epilepsy. I am very proud to be associated with ESF!!!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering for ESF with the organization of the HARE Racing Experience since 2009. This event has been very successful in helping children with epilepsy attend Camp Boggy Creek. Tom Orth (Executive Director for Epilepsy Services Foundation) works extremely hard and is dedicated to making this event successful for the children. It is a pleasure to work with Tom who is dedicated to raising funds needed to serve the people with epilepsy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I've been involved with the Epilepsy Services Foundation for around 20 years, with their annual golf tournament, Ribs for Kids, etc. They always do an AWESOME job of organizing things, and more importantly, reflecting their genuine heart and concern for others, not just those whom they directly serve, but those whom they work with. Volunteers walk away being valued and knowing that they made a difference. As as professional with limited time to volunteer, I consider my work with ESF to be well worth my time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

When we moved to Tampa in 2008 we were advised to hook up with ESF and Tom Orth. We quickly learned about Tom's passion and his dedication for helping children with epilepsy and their families. Tom has given our family and our son, who has epilepsy, some very good connections over the years. We felt so good about what ESF has done and continues to do that my wife has been volunteering for the past four years, and I have helped some over the past three years. We are fortunate to have such a great organization like ESF and it's director Tom Orth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

As a professional in the Tampa Bay area, I have countless of opportunities to get involved and give back to the community. I am fortunate enough to have met many fund raisers and Executive Directors with numerous organizations. In all my years, however, I have never met a more dedicated, involved, caring and hard working man as Tom Orth (executive Director for Epilepsy Services Foundation). Not having any family members directly impacted by Epilepsy, I am often asked why I devote so much of my time to this organization. The answer is Tom Orth. His enthusiasm and passion is contagious. If you are looking for answers about how to deal with Epilepsy (because it affects the entire family, not just the individual), please call Tom. His compassion will come through during your first conversation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to get the word out even more about the great work being done by ESF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer