Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.978265
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME F... more

November 2, 2013

I have been volunteering and a board member for two years. This has been a awesome experience. When I needed help and direction for my young daughter they were their to help me. We are greatful for all there support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

MY DAUGHTER BRITTANY HAS A RARE FORM OF EPILEPSY. THEY HELP ME GET TICKETS TO DISNEY ON ICE FOR MY DAUGHTER. THEY SENT HER TO CAMP BOGGY CREEK AND ALSO HELP US BRING EQUIPMENT FOR FREE INTO OUR HOME FOR HER CARE. I WOULD BE LOST WITH OUT THEM. WHEN I NEED INFO ON NEW MEDS OR HELP WITH A DOCTOR THEY ARE ALWATS THERE FOR ME. THANKS ESF. THE VANHOOK FAMILY

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this ... more

September 19, 2013

I have participated in fundraising walks with ESF for many years and from the very beginning was extremely impressed with how the executive director, Tom Orth, reached out personally to participants to thank them for their support. Over the years I became a regular volunteer in the Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy held annually to raise funds to send kids with epilepsy to summer camp, and in January had the honor of being elected to the Board of Directors. We are a very small non-profit in the traditional sense in that we only have ONE paid employee and are almost completely volunteer driven, yet we have so many programs and events that we help children and adults affected by epilepsy in Hillsborough, Polk, and Pinellas counties (Florida) - which for those not familiar is the Tampa / St. Pete area. I am so privileged and honored to volunteer with this organization and plan to continue to associate myself with them for a very long time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

open more eyes to what we do so that every day we could help even more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

(I apologize in advance for any typos, as I recently dislocated my shoulder during an epileptic seizure and am typing 1 handed.) As both "client" and volunteer with ESF I can honestly say that this is a true non-profit that cares more about the people helped than to ever making $$ for themselves. Through a variety of walks and other events ESF not only brings Epilepsy awareness and education to the community, but also raise funds to send kids with Epilepsy to summer camp, college scholarships for students with Epilepsy as well as for those going into the field of neurology, and more. I am really glad I have become involved with ESF and hope to continue to be for a long time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. of the greater Tampa Bay area is a driving force in education, awareness, and aid for families effected by epilepsy. As a person living with epilepsy, the knowledge base of the organization was immensely helpful to me early in my dealings with my condition. As a volunteer, I have had the pleasure of serving on the planning committee for our annual Purple Day Walk for Epilepsy in Lakeland, FL, through which we not only raise awareness for Epilepsy but also funds to send kids with epilepsy to Camp Boggy Creek - a summer camp in the area for medically needy kids. This year we raised enough money to send 22 kids to summer camp! Other events held throughout the last several years have also provided scholarships to college students planning a career in neurology, and scholarships to students effected by epilepsy. I am very proud to be associated with ESF!!!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering for ESF with the organization of the HARE Racing Experience since 2009. This event has been very successful in helping children with epilepsy attend Camp Boggy Creek. Tom Orth (Executive Director for Epilepsy Services Foundation) works extremely hard and is dedicated to making this event successful for the children. It is a pleasure to work with Tom who is dedicated to raising funds needed to serve the people with epilepsy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I've been involved with the Epilepsy Services Foundation for around 20 years, with their annual golf tournament, Ribs for Kids, etc. They always do an AWESOME job of organizing things, and more importantly, reflecting their genuine heart and concern for others, not just those whom they directly serve, but those whom they work with. Volunteers walk away being valued and knowing that they made a difference. As as professional with limited time to volunteer, I consider my work with ESF to be well worth my time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

When we moved to Tampa in 2008 we were advised to hook up with ESF and Tom Orth. We quickly learned about Tom's passion and his dedication for helping children with epilepsy and their families. Tom has given our family and our son, who has epilepsy, some very good connections over the years. We felt so good about what ESF has done and continues to do that my wife has been volunteering for the past four years, and I have helped some over the past three years. We are fortunate to have such a great organization like ESF and it's director Tom Orth

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

As a professional in the Tampa Bay area, I have countless of opportunities to get involved and give back to the community. I am fortunate enough to have met many fund raisers and Executive Directors with numerous organizations. In all my years, however, I have never met a more dedicated, involved, caring and hard working man as Tom Orth (executive Director for Epilepsy Services Foundation). Not having any family members directly impacted by Epilepsy, I am often asked why I devote so much of my time to this organization. The answer is Tom Orth. His enthusiasm and passion is contagious. If you are looking for answers about how to deal with Epilepsy (because it affects the entire family, not just the individual), please call Tom. His compassion will come through during your first conversation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to get the word out even more about the great work being done by ESF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Thank You Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. for providing the grant for my son and other children with epilepsy to go to Camp Boggy Creek. This was Jason's second year going there and I can tell you that it positively changed his life. He was diagnosed with epilepsy about 3 years ago without any known cause. At age 12, he just had a drop-attack on a school field trip and then he started to have more frequent seizures. The medication finally got most of his seizures under control but one of the hardest things to deal with was his feelings of isolation or depression and feeling that others didn't understand. Camp Boggy Creek changed all that and he had such a fun time that he forgot all about his epilepsy. It is such a positive environment. The staff is outstanding. For a kid with epilepsy to go horseback riding, climbing a tower and zip-lining down, swimming, playing sports, going to wood-shop and his favorite - archery- is such an amazing accomplishment. We appreciate all the support that Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. has given our family. We see first-hand on how the money raised is used to support children with epilepsy. My son could not have attended without the grant from the Epilepsy Services Foundation, Inc. I would rate this a top nonprofit organization. Thank You so much, The Patella Family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the honor of volunteering for ESF for several years under the leadership of Tom Orth and his very dedicated staff. Tom and his team exude a passion for this foundation that goes beyond a commitment to raising funds for resources needed for persons suffering with seizure disorders. They provide a caring, personal and meaningful methodology for each candidate and their families. My husband and I happily volunteer for this great cause. We are blessed with good health and continue to hope for continued progressive research for all in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Thanks to the wonderful program, the Epilepsy Services Foundation my son has been able to attend a great camp, Boggy Creek Camp. My son was diagnosed with epilepsy one week after his first birthday. He then over the years increased the different types of seizures and added additional medical issues. He is a wonderful teenager with a heart of gold. With the issues my son has without the support of the foundation my son would not be able to participate in a camp like other normal children. This is such a fantastic program supporting all individuals with epilepsy. I really appreciate everything Tom Orth and the foundation have done for my son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have legal custody of our 14-year old niece who has epilepsy. When her seizures started to increase, I called Epilepsy Services Foundation for advice. The executive director, Tom Orth, was such a help to us. He put us in touch with a wonderful support group for parents and kids in Sarasota (JoshProvides.org) and also told us about the support group in Tampa. Tom gave us the names of pediatric neurologists in the area who could help us. We went on an epilepsy walk with Tom last fall and met more people with epilepsy and their parents. Our niece got to participate in a USF baseball game as a "bat girl" because of ESF. She loved it! Most recently, our niece attended Camp Boggy Creek, and her fee was paid for by ESF. She had a week with other kids who have epilepsy, and it was the best week in her life. Our lives have been so enriched by all of the positive changes we've been able to make since we contacted ESF. Thank you thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. help with some secretarial duties;2. lead a virtual or face-to-face support group for pre-teens, teens, siblings or families affected by epilepsy;3. organize a party for kids with epilepsy. Volunteer