Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.384625
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My building, AMLI 900, has worked with the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago to offer residents the opportunity to donate to the great cause. The Epilepsy Foundation sets up bins in our back loading dock area for residents to bring down clothing and small household items to donate. This has been an extreme success in the building and residents look forward to donation. Our original plan was to have the donations bins available for one month only, but because it was such a success we now offer them for a week, once a month, and residents know they can bring items down to donate. The Epilepsy Foundation has been very helpful with coordinating dates and pick up times and we always look forward to working with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This group and its "independent incorporated affiliate" called Epilepsy Chicago or Friends of Epilepsy Foundation of Chicago have relentlessly harassed me and apparently thousands of others by making repeated phone calls, day and night, weekdays and weekends - Sunday night at 9:30! - and when asked to stop, first say that they are a non-profit and don't have to stop harassing phone calls - and then hang up. I have received dozens and dozens of phone calls from 630 812 2460 all identified as "Epilepsy Chicago" and they refuse to stop. Google the number and see the endless lists of complaints. No one should contribute to an organization that spends its money on phone banks endlessly calling non responsive non-donors. Poorly managed, totally indifferent to their effect on the general public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put it and their phone bank out of business.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This was the worst experience I have ever had! I put usable donations out for them to pick up, they were nicely boxes and stacked. they showed up and threw the boxes to the back of the truck on top of all the other things in there. I am sure most of the stuff is unusable now! All and any glass will be shattered for sure.I wish I had video of this, you would be applaud also. They also left several items in my driveway! This is not garbage! DO NOT DONATE TO THIS ORGANIZATION! There are many other charities and organizations that will actually appreciate your donations. Very Sad!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I was encouraged by a friend whose wife has epilepsy to support through participation in the annual golf outing fundraiser a couple years ago. I've golfed in the event for three years now and they are all very well run, fun events. Interestingly since my participation I've learned of at least three other friends who have family members with epilepsy. I have encouraged all of them to get involved with the foundation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

As a Board Member of the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago I am very involved in the development of our supporters through various activities such as our 5k Runs and annual Golf Outing, which benefit Camp Blackhawk; the summer camp where children with epilepsy can just be camping "kids" without the stress of something happening relevant to their particular condition. I find personal satisfaction in the fact that I can help families that are unfortunately not able to fund a summer experience for their child; and that we can somehow fill that void. Every child deserves to be a "kid", and hopefully we make that happen for a week each summer. I've been involved for over 5 years, ever since my friend, Kurt Florian shared his story with me; I too have a family member with Epilepsy, and understand the battle people may be confronted with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for almost 2 years. My neurologist always suggested that I should find a group or foundation that would give me a sense of what others dealt with the same issues. As time opened up, I decided to give it a chance. I met some wonderful people as a volunteer. All the staff is quite friendly and are willing help others and the cause to improve epilepsy. Being a Hispanic, I would like to encourage all the Hispanic Community to be involved in the cause and break the taboo within our culture. Therefore, I will like to ask all the Hispanic Community to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I have been involved with the Epilepsy Foundation for 7 years. The first year I was a client who was discriminated from a previous employer, and was eventually terminated. I was then introduced to the Epilepsy Foundation from my Neurologist who suggested that they could possibly help me out. The Staff at the Epilepsy Foundation was very understanding and very helpful with my situation. They have guided me through some very tough situations in pursuing my litigation with my previous employer, and with there assistance, guidance, and support for a year I finally won my litigation. I would also like to extend a big Thank You to the Staff and especially Client Services ( Mary Jo, and Meredith) for all your support and understanding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

I have been involved with the Epilepsy Foundation for over 20 years. I am always amazed how caring and helpful the staff members are to the individuals that they serve. The Foundation offers so many programs to a wide variety of people living with epilepsy. I have attend Camp Blackhawk as a volunteer for several years and enjoy watching the children who are attending the camp participate in so many actitvies that they may not otherwise be able to participate. It is an outstanding way for children living with epilepsy to attend camp in a safe environment for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

September 14, 2012

I am Director of the Comprehensive Epilepsy Program at Cadence Health and have worked with the EFA of Chicago for many years. This organization has served a pivotal role in the care of countless people. Epilepsy is medical condition that often carries signficant social challenges and the EFA has been there to help with their support. I regularly provide an abundance of material that the Foundation provides to my patients and direct them frequently to the Foundation's resources. The many support groups the EFA has throughout Chicago land offer easy access for people with epilepsy to find additional support. The EFA also has been a consistent provider of educational initiatives to consumers through northest Il.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

I became aware and then quite familiar with the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago because of my daughter who has Epilepsy. She has volunteered there the past few years and they have been so welcomingly to her that it has impressed me to no end. From the moment I met everyone as well, they have made me feel right at home. Most important, they truly care about making everyone who has Epilepsy feel they can accomplish anything. Such a dedicated, awesome and caring group of people. Camp Blackhawk for kids is so rewarding-I get chills looking at how much fun the kids are having. They will bend overbackwards for all families and this is what makes the foundation a top notch group-we must find a cure!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers