Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.81255
Write A Review
October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
August 22, 2013

The Epilepsy Association of Central Florida has been helping patients and educating the public for more than 50 years. Last year we celebrated the 90th birthday of our founder Merle Evanchyck and our... more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is celebrating 50 years of serving clients and families impacted by epilepsy. It started in Merle Evanchyck's kitchen and has now expanded to world wide influence. Merle has celebrated over 90 years and is so pleased with what she started. The world wide influence is through EpilepsyU, an information site and help platform for professionals, patients, families of patients and just the public at large who wish to know more about the disorder.
I have been involved for over 50 years, since I was searching for help when our 15 month old daughter had her first seizure. Little was available then in the way of information or support and the organization helped our family through those rough years. I serve on the board of directors now as a group of dedicated professionals pilot the organization into our next phase with the engine of the internet helping to spread information and hope to the many patients and their families struggle with a difficult and challenging disorder.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue on the course they are on with more funding possibilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

The Epilepsy Association of Central Florida has been helping patients and educating the public for more than 50 years. Last year we celebrated the 90th birthday of our founder Merle Evanchyck and our 50th year in existence. We are going strong and so is Merle.

Our organization is
supported by so many dedicated people including the Auto Dealers of Central Florida who are again sponsoring a golf tournament for our benefit. Leonard Williams has been a stalwart supporter for many years through the Wayne Densch Foundation. We are honored by the support of such wonderful and generous people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can see no reason to make changes to something working so well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

I have been involved with this organization from the beginning. In the early 60's there was no place to turn for support and little information available. That is when I met Merle Evanchyck who founded the Central Florida movement. It has progressed from her kitchen table to a responsible, dynamic organization that, thanks to our Executive Director, Chuck Carmen, has started far reaching progressive ideas like Epilepsy U, an online place for information and interaction. He also engineered the making of the video,
"Shaken Baby" to educate how dangerous that practice is. With better education we have been able to shed light on this far too common disorder, encourage research, early diagnosis, better treatment, and of course understanding. We have been involved as a family with personal experience but our interest goes beyond personal to understanding that this is a problem that needs to be solved, especially with so many wounded warriors coming home with traumatic brain injury. Peace, Saundra Gray

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2011

We have been involved with the Epilepsy Association of Central Florida since the inception. There was no place to turn for advice, support and understanding when our daughter was diagnosed in 1960. Much has changed since then and information is available, but the person to person support is so important for the patient and family when a diagnosis of epilepsy is delivered.
Epilepsy is a complex problem affecting all aspects of life. EACF is a lifeline for many patients and their loved ones. The organization helps save taxpayer funds by managing care, giving patients an opportunity to find the best possible solutions to their disorder.
We look forward to the day a cure is found but until then we applaud the Epilepsy Association of Central Florida for their fine work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many patients helped with their challenges and families given understanding and hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could make changes I would expand public knowledge of epilepsy, how common it is, and how more research is needed to find answers to all seizure disorders. Many of our service members will suffer from seizures due to head trauma in the battlefield.

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

The Epilepsy Association of Central Fl provides a tremendous amount of help to families, and individuals of low income families the necessary information, medication and education needed to live a normal life

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

The EACF is a wonderful organization for patients and their families. They are an invaluable resource for the community and provide excellent care for those in need. It is my privilege to be involved with the EACF and I look forward to working with them for many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

One of my young sons has epilepsy and it can be very scary as a parent when faced with the diagnosis.
Calling the foundation with many questions and fears I have found a source of information, compassion and help - THANK YOU

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I noticed nothing I would change

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

The EACF has given my husband and I a place to feel welcomed. A community where our daughter (that has had epilepsy since she was 10 months old) can feel loved. When we got her diagnosis we felt alone and afraid but the EACF has become our extended family. We love that they are working hard to break the stigma of epilepsy and help people in need. I would recommend the EACF to anyone that knows someone with epilepsy, lives with it or just wants to learn more.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

THIS PLACE AND ALL THAT IT OFFERS TO ALL OF US THAT SUFFER OR LOVE SOMEONE WHO DOES....KNOWS HOW IMPORTANT THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE IS....

iT IS HARD TO LIVE WITH THIS DISEASE AND WHEN U DO LIVE WITH IT U LOOSE SO MUCH....BUT THE EDUCATION, WARM WISHES AND THE KNOWLEDGE THIS PLACE
IT

WELL LET'S JUST SAY ....AMAZING, LOVING, CARING AND JUST BEING THERE WHEN NEEDED....


KEEP HELPIN AND REACHING TO US...CAUSE I KNOW PERSONALLY WOULD BE LOST WITH OUT ALL THAT U DO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE...BUT TO HELP IN ANYWAY I COULD...TO TAHNK FOR WHAT THEY HAVE DONE FOR SO MANY

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

Epilepsy Association of Central Florida is a well-run organization that contributes significantly to our community and to those families who live with epilepsy. They are energetic and enthusiastic in their search for therapies and cures that will have real impact for real people. Not every organization like theirs is as forward-looking and proactive and ready to serve.

Charles

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

A wonderful organization that truly cares. I have been involve with the EACF for years and their dedication to help inform, teach and care for those suffering with the disease, and their families, continues to amaze me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them more funding to continue their good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

EACF has been a wonderful support structure for myself and my family as our son has gone through his Epilpesy journey. They have given support and advise and calmed us in our hardest moments. I have seen the work they do with other families and it is amazing the difference that they make. We proudly support this organization adn promote their excellence everywhere we go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I have had the priviledge of working with this organization to share information on the ketogenic and modified atkins diet for seizures. The Epilepsy Association of Central Florida not only cares about the support and education of families and patients, they also strive to help health care professionals learn about the available therapies for epilepsy and provide resources to help patients find what treatment best fits their needs. It is such a vital organization for the support of patients, families, friends and professionals who are affected by this medical condition and I appreciate all they do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We can use volunteers on clinic days to function as a greeter and assistant to our social workers and physician. Volunteer