Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2011

I produce an event for the month-long arts festival that takes place in downtown Reno during the month of July called Artown (http://www.renoisartown.com/).

My event is called Compression! Art and Fire (http://compression.controlledburnreno.com) and 2012 will be its 5th year in existence.
For three of those years, the talented performers and management of eNVision Performing Arts have been an integral part of our festival. They bring a unique and exciting show to our day time audience, we have been blessed to have been able to collaborate with them on joint performance pieces, and their management and professionalism both before, during and after the show makes this group world class!

They have participated in events outside the festival, and they came to our attention because someone saw them perform at a UNR basketball halftime show, where they also wow'd the crowd. They have additionally helped us promote our event by showing up before 5am to do a live TV remote.

Their dedication and commitment to excellence in all they do is teaching valuable lifelong skills to those participating and furthering the art of percussion!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessing the life-changing effects of the organization on its performers and participants, seeing first-hand how hard they work and practice and how dedicated they are to their craft. The excellence of their performance shows all these things!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it unlimited funds!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

A member of our group saw them perform at half time of a UNR basketball game.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

We use the dedication of this group to encourage our own group and non-profit to strive for personal excellence in performance.

October 20, 2011

more

October 20, 2011

This organization has done a remarkable job of starting a performance group and being competitive in a short period of time. I believe that the benefit to the young adults involved with this group is immeasurable and it would be a shame for Envision to close down.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son is involved in the group as a leader.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I believe this a very important youth activity

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Fund raiser

What would you tell others about this organization?

definitely!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
October 17, 2011

I have been involved as an artist and designer with this group since it's inception. Though I do not work directly with the members, I have followed the group's development very closely. The students get an experience in percussion and performing arts that is not otherwise available to them in the Reno, NV area. The quality of performance and excellence they achieve each year is unparalleled by any other group in their region. They provide an opportunity for local kids to perform and compete on a global stage (at the world championships). They also help teach the members personal responsibility and strengthen principles of teamwork and dedication.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by witnessing their progress in quality of design and performance from year to year, as well as working with the "graduates" of the program as they outreach into the younger and less-experienced ensembles to spread their training and knowledge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them become less dependent on other people's resources for equipment and facilities. They need their own equipment and their own space to call "home".

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

As a volunteer with eNVision Performing Arts, I have been able to see how the organization functions and it is truly about, education, music and performance.

The organization has had tremendous successes in its short, 4 year tenure. It has placed in the top ten the past three years in
their division at the Winter Guard International World Championship. They have reached many performance minded students in the Reno/Sparks community who would otherwise not have an outlet to perform.

eNVision also performs year round within the community at various functions including fundraisers, conventions, University Men's and Women's basketball games, elementary schools and grand openings.

The organization is working hard to overcome a few economy driven hurdles including proper equipment, rehearsal/practice space and transportation. If the organization is able to get over these they can continue for years to come. That will also allow them to open up instruction to a younger audience that they just can't facilitate right now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to watch as members grow and people, musicians and performers. To see them mature through the organization is a very rewarding experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get my community volunteer participation. The organization is pretty reliant on the instructors and board members to handle a lot of the other volunteer opportunities.

More feedback...

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have been able to meet new people in, and around, the percussion performance "scene".

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

The volunteer experience is extremely rewarding for me.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I have volunteered for eNVision for two years as a staff member and am proud to be a part of this organization. eNVision brings a unique opportunity to our area that allows youth to learn and perform at a level that they would not have the opportunity to otherwise.

Each season I am filled
with a sense of accomplishment and pride when I see what these young people have accomplished through hours of hard work and discipline, and I am honored to have been a part of it all. I see members working their hardest because they want to be better and want to do the best they can for themselves and the rest of the group.

eNVision members come from several high schools in the area as well as the University and Community College, so they are able to interact with people outside of their normal group at school. I have seen friendships made despite school affiliation or age group. They support each other both at rehearsals and in life. At a recent marching band competition, I saw several eNVision members taking, and helping each other with uniform parts despite coming from different schools and competing against each other. It was nice to see the unity and support they gave despite school rivalries.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching members grow as musicians, leaders, and as people because of their time in eNVision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase parent and community involvement so staff and members can focus on teaching and learning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Working with eNVision has given me a new perspective on working with young adults and given me confidence as an instructor.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
October 13, 2011

I became personally involved with eNVision because my daughter is a team member. I have seen her confidence, leadership and of course performance experience grow in working with the group. It is a lot of hard work, but something she loves and had become dedicated to. The team states that they are "a family", and it is true. In spite of the age differences and varied home school affiliations, the kids take care of each other, support and encourage each other. It is a great organization to be connected with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching my daughter grow in her performance, flag and dance capabilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus less on fundraising and more on the performances.

October 12, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
October 12, 2011

Enclosed is my letter of nomination to the Governor's Arts Awards, State of Nevada, for eNVision Performing Arts, 2010:

Nomination Statement:
Why eNVision Performing Arts should receive the
Leadership in the Arts: Organizations, Governor’s Arts Award


The Nevada Arts
Council Governor’s Arts Awards should strongly consider the candidacy of eNVision Performing Arts for the Leadership in the Arts Award: Organizations.  eNVision is a unique organization which serves and draws from Northern Nevada and the surrounding areas. Its invitation is extended to school aged children from high school through age twenty-two, and middle school and upwards for Summer Arts, those who are interested in percussion, dance, color guard, and theater. The older and more experienced members assist to mentor the younger ones and provide an example to them both in technique as well as in cooperation and leadership skills. Since 2005 the organization has grown and continues to demonstrate exceptional artistic achievement, outstanding programming, and has stimulated excellence, growth, support, and availability of the arts in Nevada.

In 2005, the Reno High School Band created a unique show combining the elements of several emerging musical styles. Synthesizing influences of Rock, Brass, Theatre, Cirque, Stomp and the Blue Man Group, EDGE! was born. In 2008, eNVision Performing Arts & Youth Art Works teamed up to give EDGE! a permanent home. eNVision continues to build on what was created since this initiation. Nevada's finest young entertainers now have a permanent outlet to bring to the community cutting edge percussion, guard, and dance.

eNVision  engages in world-class competition in music, dance, and theater for those involved.  It is one of those rare organizations which offers weekend long, (during the school year), as well as summertime activity for this age group and enlists instructors in music, coordination, and artistic skills while including teamwork and athletics. It is exciting and entertaining for everyone and the only program of its kind in our area. Lessons, such as discipline, perseverance, and collaboration will assist these youth throughout their adolescence and into adulthood.

Extensive awards and honors places eNVision Performing Arts as a viable contender on a recognizable scale and includes the Winter Guard International Competition and other regional championships. The Winter Guard International World Championships in Dayton, Ohio is a week long event which comprises groups from all over the United States as well as from Canada, Belgium, Holland, Germany, Ireland, Korea, Japan, and Africa. It is the Olympics of this activity!

Steady growth since its inception in 2005 and its continued mission within our community is demonstrated by hosted indoor shows for 2009 and 2010. This continues to grow and has now developed into the Northern Nevada Indoor Association with the first Championships in 2010 attended by the various Guard and Percussion Ensembles from Yvonne Shaw Middle School, North Valleys High School, Spanish Springs High School, Reno High School, and Reed High School.

eNVision has also hosted the ‘PIE’ Festival (Percussion, Individual, and Ensemble) for 2008, 2009, and 2010, a showcase opportunity open to all. In past years, the eNVision Color Guard has performed as a part of the Summer Arts group, as has the eNVision Brass Line which has also participated as a part of the eNVision Entertainment group - entertainment for all venues.

Reviews from university, non-profit, periodical and marketing executives, and competition organizers underscore the contribution that eNVision has made. An extensive events schedule which includes EDAWN, non-profits, athletic and university appearances, international institute conferences, competitions and conventions, and patriotic and local festivals demonstrates an intensive community impact.

eNVision is a thriving organization of which Nevada can be proud. Artistic Director Aaron Hines is thorough, consistent and persistent in his endeavor and luckily for us has focused his talent in Nevada. With a Governor‘s Arts Award eNVision can earn a prestigious place in the continued efforts of showcasing the diversified programming that has become a significant role of the arts in Nevada, and our community will delight to watch eNVision Performing Arts grow as a vital part of it.  It is important for Nevada to make its mark in all areas of performance art.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 12, 2011

more

October 12, 2011

eNVision Performing Arts was founded in 2007 and is a 501(c)(3) private non-profit youth organization that promotes the Arts throughout Nevada. We strive to bring the community the cutting edge of this activity through performance, while utilizing all sorts of Music and Dance in many different genres. Our members have the opportunity to receive outstanding instruction from a distinguished staff, tour different parts of the country and meet people from around the world. Lessons such as discipline, perseverance and collaboration will assist these youth throughout their adolescence and into adulthood. They will learn more about themselves through performance while getting the opportunity to grow as people.

eNVision is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence. Excellence: Going above and beyond the standard; surpassing greatness. Its members, over the years, will strive for perfection and continue an outstanding reputation. They will maintain high standards of performance, dedication, respect, pride, enthusiasm and hard work: standards that will sustain a very successful organization that promotes the arts throughout Nevada.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the community involved with our activity have something to aspire to; which has raised the level of excellence city-wide!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more supporters. These kids deserve your investment!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us host events or help set up events. Volunteer