Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.842865
Write A Review
April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Environmental Volunteers come to our school and give nature programs to the different grade levels. First graders receive education about birds. One center covers types of feathers, another types of eggs, and another types of beaks. The children are able to handle materials and learn specific information about animals operating in the food chain. When students are deprived of so much sensory education during these testing times, Environmental Volunteers bring back happiness and fun to education. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

EV came to teach my daughter's girls scout troop about local wildlife. Based on that hands-on experience we signed up for EV's summer camp. All these fun experiences support my children's appreciation for the habitats that are important for us to protect and preserve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have a friend who is an EV. She came to my after school program and shared her knowledge of pill bugs and snails. The kids loved it! I hope to be an EV myself after I retire! Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

When I was a child the EVs came to my classrooms over the years and really brought environmental ed to life. I look forward to my kids receiving the same fabulous education. Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I've had Environmental Volunteers come to my 2nd and 4th grade classes. They provide an invaluable experience for my students who have not had the exposure to nature and sciences in their personal lives. My 2nd graders enjoyed having the volunteers come to the classroom and talk about local habitats and birds. The students were very involved, engaged, and excited for this fantastic learning opportunity. The volunteers are smart, and excellent with children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Third graders learn about the ocean environment and visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. A popular activity is the touch tanks, where children can touch a living animal. Environmental Volunteers lead trips to the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve in Moss Landing so that students can see and touch these beautiful creatures in their natural tide pool habitat. Excitedly, students learn about animals' lives while interacting with nature. They soak in the sights and sounds of the waves on the beach as the animals cling to the rocks. Students absorb a profound understanding of the interrelationships between the animals and their habitats that isn't observed in a book, movie, or aquarium. The volunteers do a marvelous job of helping students gain a healthy respect for the fragility and magic of the ocean.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

The Environmental Volunteers come to my fourth grade classroom each year to extend my students' understanding of earth science. The volunteers engage the students in

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

enthusiastic, knowledgeable, organized, wonderful models for being stewards of the earth- and nice people!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

These people are awesome! They have amazing and knowledgeable docents, they are friendly and easy to work with, and they are a great resource for teachers even if you don't use the service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classroom! The kids were so into the science topics they learned. It was great practice for the 5th grade state science testing!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

helpful and extremely dedicated!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help more under-priviledged schools and pay it's staff the money they deserve.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

The presenter gave a wonderful presentation to our students. I liked how he tied the texts we read to the ideas of the sacredness of the earth, the need for sustainability and environmental justice. Our students engaged in what they can be doing to protect the earth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the presentation to our students with texts and props.

Ways to make it better...

we had more time to do more hands on learning.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

Alan Berkowitz did a wonderful job. He brought interesting props, such as a preserved owl, which captured my students' attention. His lecture was relevant to what we were studying.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The new statistics I learned (how much water we really waste with every extra minute in the shower).

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers