Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.840585
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I volunteered with EV for three years. It was amazing to see the children in the classroom light up when then understood the concept we were teaching to them. I suspect the hands-on learning will remain with them for a long time. Even if only a few of the students become environmentally aware, they will help make the world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I joined the EV organization a couple of years ago and try to spend one morning a month in the classroom. The children K-6 are amazing. They ask so many questions and learn by experience. Whether it's learning about earthquakes, birds or nature in their neighborhood they learn by doing. The organization has the tools to support learning by both adults who provide the service and also the children who are so inquisitive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Scatman sez this about that: I have volunteered for the Ev for 23 years now as a service provider, field trip leader, board member, committee member and volunteer trainer. It is an extremely well run organization that provides hands-on environmental education to thousands of elementary school students yearly. I am proud to be a member of this group and hope to continue my activities with them for another decade or more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the environmental growth of children and their changes in environmental awareness

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their services to a greater geographical area

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned so much from their training that I went on to further my learning experiences on my own and went on to volunteer for another organization.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

fantastic!!!!

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have been an EV for many years. I find that the organization is extremely well run & very professional. Not only have I gains personally from my EV experiences but most important, the population receiving our services has gained & continues to gain tremendously. Words are inadequate to express the innumeral benefits from this group!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Teachers love the EV and sign up year after year. Kids love the EV and we get such nice thank-you notes from them. I love the EV because, as a volunteer, I've learn as much as I teach the kids. We need more volunteers, so sign up if you can. You'll love it too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I'm a new volunteer. I've been through the training and volunteered in a classroom a few times. The training is excellent. We study the subject area and the specific materials and lesson plans. There is also training in how kids of various ages learn and California education standards. We were given all the support we needed to transition from training to presenting in the classroom. These people are well organized, well informed and fun to work with. I enjoy working with the other volunteers, and it's wonderful when I can see kids having an ah-ha moment. I actually get to see their minds click into a new topic. This experience has been so good, I'm now a donor too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

What a great way to learn and teach about nature! It's fun to get into classrooms and see kids get excited about what we bring. Great people to work with, and I like the fact that leading hikes gets me out on those trails.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

great organization with excellent tools for teaching young students complex ideas about our environment. love all the hands on activities for kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The volunteer training was great and very helpful, especially since I had only recently come to the US. I learnt very much about the ecosystems, animals and plants of the Bay Area, energy and material cycles, but also about teaching and that you don't need to know everything. The children are very excited and fascinated by the presented kits and activities. It is a wonderful experience and the team of staff and volunteers is resourceful and helpful.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the energy and enthusiasm of the children.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

resourceful and friendly.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand the program to reach even more children.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 30, 2010

more

April 30, 2010

I have taught natural science education in the classroom and taken elementary classrooms on field trips. I have served on the Board for many years as President, Development Chair, Area Coordinator, and Volunteer Coordinator. I have also contributed significant funds to the EVs. I think our hands-on learning both with learning stations in the classroom and small groups on field trips is an important teaching tool. I love the reaction from the children to our explorations!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

teaching in underserved schools. Enabling these children to experience nature has shown positive results in pre and post tests regarding their attitudes. We've found to appreciate the environment leads to cherishing it and then becoming stewards of it!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers