Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.840585
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

As an elementary school teach, I had used EV programs in my classrooms. I had always been an advocate for involving young children more deeply in hands-on, basic science experiences — young kids eat this up. There is a great need to have these interests piqued early so they can begin to understand and see the beauty in the world around them and understand the basic stuff they will need to make intelligent decisions.

After retiring, the EVs seemed like a perfect place to continue carrying on something I loved. Now, looking back over more than 20 years of EV classroom visits & field trips, I know I could not have made a better choice.

Not to be overlooked is the wonderful community of many dedicated volunteers I have met, worked, and played with over these years. This has been a most remarkable, satisfying experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The enthusiastic responses of children & teachers we have been with over the years explains it all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Why change anything that works so well?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There must be something, but can't think of any.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Our volunteers, with their diverse backgrounds, have kept my personal learning alive and well. There is always a new discovery around the corner.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I'll let you know whens it is over.

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

As a child, I clearly remember the Environmental Volunteers (EV) coming to my school and doing a program with my class. The program involved creating a food web with a ball of yarn and finger puppets that represented each of the animals in the web. When the web was complete, the volunteer pulled on the web to show how each species is connect to and affects the rest. Today, I am a volunteer with the EV and do this same activity with students in local schools. I feel very fortunate to get the chance to connect kids to nature in the fun, engaging, and memorable ways that the EV provide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2012

more

April 8, 2012

The EV organization is what every nonprofit should strive to be - effective, well-run, of highest integrity and a beloved pillar in the communities it serves. I've been a volunteer docent and a supporter for years and am reminded at every point of coming in contact what a decent, dedicated group this is. I'm always delighted to tell people about the EV's and their tireless, critially important work in teaching kids about science, the environment and conservation -- something they simply do not get otherwise in school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 7, 2012

more

April 7, 2012

Environmental Volunteers is an incredible organization that provides thousands of children every year with an incredible hands-on learning experience. I have never seen a kindergartener more engaged than when digging for microorganisms in bayland mud or a third grader when drilling holes in clam shells with an Ohlone pump drill. There is nothing more personally rewarding for me than inspiring a genuine passion for the natural world in young hearts and minds. In a perfect world, every child would enjoy the wonders that EV has to offer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing students leave our presentations saying "I love nature!"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to allow it to reach even more children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Not only did I learn even more about California's natural environment, I made lasting friendships, acquired excellent classroom management skills, and felt excellent about what I did.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like a hero.

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

Many years ago as a classroom teacher, I thoroughly enjoyed having the EV bring hands on activities for my students followed by a coordinated and meaningful field trip. Now as a retired science educator, I love the opportunity to be a volunteer myself sharing my enthusiasm for the natural world with children. Given that there is little time in the elementary classroom day for science, I believe that the EV experiences are so important for young learners. It’s especially valuable that the EV kits/lessons are coordinated to the California State Science Standards by grade level so that students glean a deeper understanding of what is in their curriculum.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 29, 2010

I have been a volunteer docent with and donor to Environmental Volunteers (EV) for almost 15 years. Additionally, I was a member of its board of trustees for six years. I enjoy doing the hands-on na... more

April 5, 2012

I've been a volunteer with EV for almost 20 years. I've stuck with it because I believe in the mission and I enjoy the experience. Although I am a native Californian, I have learned a lot about our environment from participating with EV. It has an excellent training program and offers wonderful enrichment activities to its volunteers. I like doing the hands-on activities with the children in their classrooms and I love taking them on hikes. I recommend EV to anyone who cares about the environment and is able to donate or volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2010

I have been a volunteer docent with and donor to Environmental Volunteers (EV) for almost 15 years. Additionally, I was a member of its board of trustees for six years. I enjoy doing the hands-on natural science activities with the students in their classrooms and taking students on hikes. The EV organization supports me with training and enrichment activities, makes me feel appreciated and provides a structure for volunteering that works efficiently with my availability and interests.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

classrooms and on hikes with students. The students enjoy the experience and learn by doing and seeing.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the students, the staff and the other volunteers. I have learned a lot about the environment, about the flora and fauna of California.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

intelligent, knowledgeable, interesting, supportive and enjoyable.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build its own facility and expand its mission beyond San Mateo and Sanata Clara counties.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

The Environmental Volunteers has a great training program for its volunteers... I learned so much about our local environment, and how to share it with kids that I felt confident and well-supported when I started leading field trips. The trips are fun, the kids full of surprises and (mostly) eager to learn. It's been a great experience for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

This is a great organization. Even people without either a teaching or a science background can help teachers in the local area provided critical nature and science education. The EV's training program is excellent. Not only do you get a chance to further nature and science education in the schools, but you also get the opportunity to learn about these subjects. As a retiree who has been a volunteer with the organization since 2007, I truly love the chance I have been given to learn about things I never had a chance to learn when I was in elementary school. The children so appreciate our efforts that it really makes you feel like you are making a difference. As a side benefit, the knowledge I have gained has helped me bring nature experiences to my own grandchildren.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

I've been with Environmental Volunteers for two years. I am thoroughly enjoying the experience because I see how much the children Enjoy and Learn from our efforts. Plus, it's a pleasure working with children. I do a short ten minute or so introduction on the subject we will be teaching. All of the kits are a hands on experience for the children. For example, the younger kids love the marine skulls and bird skins. The older kids learn about earthquakes or energy and natural resources. The teachers choose which subjects and kits they want to have us present to their class. I feel we do a lot to support the children's learning experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

This is a great organization to join as a volunteer. The subject matter is interesting and the other volunteers are great people. Visiting classrooms is a blast as the kids are always enthusiastic. I was really impressed by the training and support for new volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers