Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.840585
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

When I was a child the EVs came to my classrooms over the years and really brought environmental ed to life. I look forward to my kids receiving the same fabulous education. Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I've had Environmental Volunteers come to my 2nd and 4th grade classes. They provide an invaluable experience for my students who have not had the exposure to nature and sciences in their personal lives. My 2nd graders enjoyed having the volunteers come to the classroom and talk about local habitats and birds. The students were very involved, engaged, and excited for this fantastic learning opportunity. The volunteers are smart, and excellent with children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Teachers love the EV and sign up year after year. Kids love the EV and we get such nice thank-you notes from them. I love the EV because, as a volunteer, I've learn as much as I teach the kids. We need more volunteers, so sign up if you can. You'll love it too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I'm a new volunteer. I've been through the training and volunteered in a classroom a few times. The training is excellent. We study the subject area and the specific materials and lesson plans. There is also training in how kids of various ages learn and California education standards. We were given all the support we needed to transition from training to presenting in the classroom. These people are well organized, well informed and fun to work with. I enjoy working with the other volunteers, and it's wonderful when I can see kids having an ah-ha moment. I actually get to see their minds click into a new topic. This experience has been so good, I'm now a donor too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

What a great way to learn and teach about nature! It's fun to get into classrooms and see kids get excited about what we bring. Great people to work with, and I like the fact that leading hikes gets me out on those trails.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2009

The trained volunteer docents of the Environmental Volunteers have been delivering hands-on science education in the classroom and on field trips since 1972, reaching about 11,000 students a year. I h... more

April 3, 2012

I have served this organization for 20 years as a teaching docent and board member. It is the best-run non-profit I have worked with, both from the perspective of a volunteer and from the perspective of the quality of services it provides. Teachers come back year after year for EV services, and the EV has taken the lead in coordinating with other science education groups for maximum impact in the schools. EV docents share the marvels of science and nature with students - a much-needed service that kids love.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2009

The trained volunteer docents of the Environmental Volunteers have been delivering hands-on science education in the classroom and on field trips since 1972, reaching about 11,000 students a year. I have worked with a number of community organizations, and this one continues to impress me. The EV delivers a high-quality product for the kids, for the teachers, and for the volunteers. Many children spend most of their non-school time in front of electronic devices or in organized activities, and they have little time to explore and discover the natural world on their own. The EV's programs let kids discover the natural world, and reveals to them the interdependencies of living and non-living things. These are important lessons for our future leaders! Teachers come back year after year to sign up for EV services. Many volunteers stay with the organization for decades - several have been serving as docents for over 35 years! This loyalty among clients and "staff" testifies to the EV's solid organizational governance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Children get excited by the in-class activities, and make discoveries on field trips that leave a lasting impression.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing effective environmental education in action, and seeing volunteers learn and share their knowledge with one another and with children.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Folks who are interested in the environment and who like children.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand to reach more children more often, so that environmental education would be part of their ongoing education every month of every year.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Excellent group helping young people to get in touch with nature and the world around them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

Third graders learn about the ocean environment and visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. A popular activity is the touch tanks, where children can touch a living animal. Environmental Volunteers lead trips to the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve in Moss Landing so that students can see and touch these beautiful creatures in their natural tide pool habitat. Excitedly, students learn about animals' lives while interacting with nature. They soak in the sights and sounds of the waves on the beach as the animals cling to the rocks. Students absorb a profound understanding of the interrelationships between the animals and their habitats that isn't observed in a book, movie, or aquarium. The volunteers do a marvelous job of helping students gain a healthy respect for the fragility and magic of the ocean.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

great organization with excellent tools for teaching young students complex ideas about our environment. love all the hands on activities for kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2012

more

April 2, 2012

Great organization doing great and inspiring work. A pleasure to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers