Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.957145
Write A Review
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

The EESI hosts programs on the Hill that are among the most informative and timely of the many I am privileged to attend in DC. The EESI's overall goal is to provide the results of up-to-date, reliable research to legislators, their staffs, and to the general public. The topics are generally related to issues having to do with the environment -- how we use it, manage it, extract what we want from it, and are pushing it to its limits. Over the years, the programs have been more and more concerned with climate change and its impact on the sustainability of the earth and its resources. I especially appreciate EESI because the presenters are usually people with practical, on the ground experience in the area under discussion, whether it is protecting our national historic landmarks from the ravages of drought and flood, or developing innovative ways to adapt to changes in our relationship to the land that are the inevitable legacy of the scale of atmospheric change we are facing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly include a few programs in which people of different views ( and political preferences) debate about the efficacy of their approach to environmental policy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

As a member of the general public, I did not know much about environmental issues until I came across EESI. Their materials were easily digestible, and I did not feel like there was any particular slant in their presentation of the facts. The fact sheets were very helpful, and I feel like I am more educated about environmental problems as a result. I looked into EESI's congressional activities as well, and I was pleased by their honest efforts to affect policy decisions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get your name out!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

EESI does an amazing job spreading the knowledge of various topics. I enjoy hearing how the US and other countries are dealing with energy and environmental issues. It's so refreshing to hear countries are sharing what is working (and even what isn't working!). The recent webcasting capabilities is making it available to so many more around the country and the world for that matter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I attended a policy brief organized by EESI. They provide outstanding speakers, well-researched supporting documents, and a highly organized event. In addition, I enjoy reading the timely posts on their facebook page and website. They have a plethora of resources available at no charge for the public, including a treasure trove of material for teachers and researchers. This is a superior organization with an outstanding staff who also provide meaningful internship opportunities for young people as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2010

more

October 5, 2010

I have worked in many fields, grew up in a small town of less than 1,000 people, a farm community, worked on farms, in construction, manufacturing, welding, operating forklift, overhead crane, maintenace in plastic molding, received an Associates Degree in Auto Tech, ASE Certified, drove truck ten years, & have been a freight broker for three years, Once a freight broker I found how much waste there is in freight transportation yet the industry, representatives in DC, as with health care refuse to accept, or acknowledge we're on a head-on collision with the next too big to fail. The transportation system we use is outdated, we waste billions of dollars a year, not only in transportation, but due to transportation. Traffic congestion, deadhead miles, accidents, injury, resulting in rising health care costs, & more. In research to better my business as a broker I came across EESI & the information is great, proof backing up all I have found in most everything I have on my site. If we could get our representatives to listen, put this IT ahead of self interest, & contributors we could easily turn this nation around. The 21st century is proving to be a challenge we have not yet realized, many people left behind because they refuse to accept, utilize the information, & IT available. If you look at www.b4dcfreight.com links page you will find information from the FHWA: Table 3-5. Truck Miles by Products Carried: 2002 In 2002 the US had 29 million deadhead freight miles, 20% of total 145,173 million freight, miles were empty trucks. Compare Figure 3-4. Estimated Average Daily Long-Haul Truck Traffic on the National Highway System: 2002 to Figure 3-5. Estimated Average Daily Long-Haul Truck Traffic on the National Highway System: 2035 Freight traffic is projected to increase substantially in the near future. Look at http://ewg.org/ billions handed out to corporate/factory farms while family farmers go under, & rising health care costs a result, to http://www.infrastructurereportcard.org/ the nation is $2.2 trillion in need of infrastructure upgrades yet according to www.supplycahinbrain.org videos National Freight Policy, US Dept of Commerce with Joe Holecko, We spend $200 billion a year due to traffic congestion, will spend 14% of GDP in 2050. While we're in wars EESI makes the point as Energy Innovation in Our Nation’s Defense America’s energy choices are inextricably linked to national and economic security. America’s oil dependence leaves the nation vulnerable to hostile nations and diverts hundreds of billions of dollars out of the economy each year. Declining oil supplies combined with increased global demand will only increase these pressures and impact our ability to remain militarily strong and agile. DOD is uniquely positioned, because of its own energy security needs, to help drive the market for innovative applications and broad utilization of clean energy technologies. Key partnerships with other federal agencies and the private sector can help DOD unleash the full force of American innovation and investment leadership in clean energy technologies. If you look at the sacrifices young Americans are making, wounded, dying for their country, we spend trillions on these wars, & will spend trillions on health care for Vets, it's impossible to not recognize the importance of sites such as EESI! Of all the sites I have on www.b4dcfreoight.com EESI seems to bring the most valuable information in that it brings the reality of the cost of war, importance of energy independence, & possibly the key to national security. Thanks EESI for a great job, I hope everyone in the nation, if not world wake up to the facts you bring so we can one day find a more intelligent way to solve problems than going to war in which we only compound those problems.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

work & life

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

knowledge

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very informative

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers