Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

Before moving to my present position I was a Congressional staffer for many years and worked for both political parties. Many of those years, I was working on topics within EESI's sphere of influence and regardless of my position, EESI was a trusted source of information for my colleagues on Capitol Hill and me and a place I could turn for more information. EESI has always had a very talented and knowledgable group of people working for them. They are unparalled in their primary niche of providing timely and objective information on a spectrum of environmental and energy topics to Capitol Hill. I hope they keep up the good work for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more resources.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
July 19, 2013

This is the most effective organizatioin with which I deal on influencing environmental policy, particularly as affects climate change and clean energy which are my specialty fields. EESI briefings t... more

April 15, 2014

I am continually astounded the quality, scope and effectiveness of this organization I helped to found. Our Executive Director, Carol Werner, is a wonder woman who is always on top of the important environmental and energy issues, puts together stellar briefings on them with top presenters and an average of more than 100 congressional, NGO and industry attendees, puts together impressive coaltions to reach consensus on measures that can pass.

At Pace Law School I started the Pace Energy & Climate Center which works with utility regulators, state energy offices, Independent system operators and other NGOs to put out the facts on the advantages of energy efficiency and renewable energy both for the economy and the environment. We did the first US study on the externalities of power production, for example, that inspired multi-million studies by the U.S. DOE and the European Commission, producing results that are now used by the World Bank and some State commissions to evaluate the true costs of energy options, finding for example that the true costs of coal plants, including the external costs of early deaths, health costs and environmental damage, would double the real costs of coal-based production. The EESI work in this field was invaluable to us.

I am ever so proud of our accomplishments.

Dick Ottinger
Former Member of Congress
Dean Emeritus
Pace Law School
July 19, 2013

This is the most effective organizatioin with which I deal on influencing environmental policy, particularly as affects climate change and clean energy which are my specialty fields. EESI briefings to Members of Congress and their staffs, open to the public, average more than 100 participants; the coalitions they have put together to advance important environmental issues have had a demonstrable effect. Carol Werner, its Executive Director, is a wonder of energy and creativity. I and my foundation donate annually and have since EESI's inception.

Richard Ottinger
Dean Emeritus
Pace University School of Law
White Plains, NY
(Former Member of Congress)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a hair

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

This is a spectacularly effective organization educating Congress on environmental, energy and climate change issues;.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2009

EESI is extraordinary. It serves as a vital link between Congress and the environmental community as well as private sector organizations involved in environmental and energy issues. It holds about 20 briefings a year for Members of Congress and their staffs, open to the public, with an average attendance of about 100. It puts together coalitions of private organizations and NGOs to formulate passable environmental and energy legislation and stop damaging legislation, with great success. It also assists Members of Congress with handling environmental and energy issues in their districts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Promoting renewable energy and energy efficiency legislation and stopping damaging legislative proposals

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more of the same and try to raise even greater resources.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Its very knowledgeable and dedicated Board and staff and the difference they have made in affecting legislation

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Superb

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

pass climate change legislation, save billions of dollars in wasted energy and significantly shrink US dependance on imported oil and domestic coal.

Ways to make it better...

There were increased resources to do their important work, though they have achieved extraordinary support from foundations, individuals, companies and matching employee funds, always producing a surplus.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Time and money

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 11, 2014

more

April 11, 2014

Information is powerful; equipping citizens with information is empowering. Shifting our relationships with our Natural Resources begins with shifting Awareness.
EESI efficiently performs the all-important function of cultivating Awareness in the Resource arena.
Resource Management
is PEOPLE Management. Illuminating issues and informing citizens catalyzes responsible, innovative decisions in Resource Managment. Thank you EESI for your work~!
January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

Excellent presenations that bring forth more in-depth understandin of public perception of energy. Fantastic for succient organization and content.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

EESI utilizes a variety of different means to draw attention to important environmental issues facing this country and possible solutions. Through congressional briefings, this year's very successful and informative Energy Expo, fact sheets, and Climate Change News, they work to fulfill their organization's mission. Those working at EESI are both passionate and informed about these issues and always teach me something new, when I have the pleasure of speaking with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

EESI has a reputation as a hard working organization dedicated to providing poliyc makers with firt-rate information about very complex energy and environmental issues. WIRES has worked with them on several occasions and have always been pleased with the resulting policy discussions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

EESI is a staple on Capitol Hill. Their steady stream of informative, interesting briefings provides very important information about renewable energy and environmental issues to staffers, Representatives and Senators. EESI staff are experts, and very willing to collaborate with different organizations and people to make change happen. I highly recommend this nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

EESI is one of the most efficient and effective non-profits in the field of environmental policy. I had the great pleasure of interning for EESI this past spring, and I must say, I doubt any other internship will ever come close. The staff members are all warm and welcoming, passionate about their work. The briefings and events are informative and interesting.

Along with writing for the organization's weekly publication, Climate Change News, interns were encouraged to take on projects of their own interest. This included fact sheets, briefing notices, and white papers. We were also highly encouraged to go out into the field and take advantage of the many energy and environment events taking place on and around Capitol Hill. Thanks to EESI, I have a greater understanding of the political process and climate change policy than ever before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

EESI's newsletter and incredibly informative, objective, and relative. I highly recommend this newsletter for everyone, no matter their role in society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I was a Congressional staffer for 20 years and White House staff for 6 years. I grew to respect and support EESI because it is a trusted source of excellent, substantive information on some of the most complex issues of our time. This non-profit makes a unique and necessary contribution to the understanding and problem solving needs of Congress, state and local government, corporations and NGOs. I am glad I can finally give back to EESI through Board service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge the audience for their briefing and products. They get excellent reviews from the most improtant players on all sides of every energy and environment issue. Our challenge is to expand their reach and provide their services to more people who will benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers