Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.984855
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

It's so heartwarming to be in a space where people have open hearts and the love flows. A very dear friend of mine is very involved with Enchanted Makeovers. That's how I learned about this wonderful organization. I volunteered to help paint for one of the shelter makeovers. Even though I was only painting for a few hours, I was moved by the other volunteers, by Terry, and her devotion to this cause. You wouldn't think what this group does is a big deal, but it is. I have not been able to attend a big reveal as yet, but from what I have heard about them, they are life changing. Women and children in shelters are validated, acknowledged, and loved. They know they are worthy, that they matter, and that life can be beautiful. That's why I love Enchanted Makeovers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Enchanted Makeovers is changing lives of not only the residents in transformed shelters but of all the volunteers who are opening their hearts to help EM's mission take flight. It has truly been a blessing to donate my time and artwork for such a wonderful organization. Enchanted Makeovers goes where not many would want to go or have thought about going which is exactly why their work is so important. They are cosmetically improving shelters via painting, repair work, new furniture and bedding which is greatly needed but also bringing much love into the shelters with all of the handmade items either sewn, knitted or hand painted from around the country. Enchanted Makeovers believes handmade items loving created bring a sense of value to the women and children who find themselves in need of a new beginning in their lives. The energy and joy they feel with the makeovers of their shelters is truly inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Terry Grahl, founder of Enchanted Makeovers, was born with an enlarged heart, not physically speaking, but in the spiritual sense! Her passion and dedication, along with her supportive team, to help... more

September 9, 2013

What a blessing to have crossed paths with an angel sent to earth like Terry Grahl who has made it her mission to help women and children who have suffered so much that their spirits have been broken to fight for a better life. Enchanted Makeovers, her team, and community of volunteers of which I have had the honor of being a part of on several projects kindles that spirit by showing them that they are not forgotten, worthy, and that there are people who truly care. Terry Grahl's detail in these shelter makeovers is remarkable! To see the faces, tears, and appreciation during reveal day is overpowering by not only the receivers but also the givers. Humanity is about caring for each other and Terry via Enchanted Makeovers indeed goes beyond the limits... She is an inspiration to all that have come in contact with her and her organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Terry Grahl, founder of Enchanted Makeovers, was born with an enlarged heart, not physically speaking, but in the spiritual sense! Her passion and dedication, along with her supportive team, to help underserved and abused women and children to begin the healing process by showing them that they are loved, not forgotten, and are truly worthy individuals through her detailed orchestration of turning a cold and impersonal like atmosphere of a shelter into a warm caring place of refuge. A home to wake up in the morning in a room filled with light, color, hand made fun and beautiful things to charge their mindset to a day of hope and inspiration in moving forward in their lives; after an emotionally draining day of working toward reversing all that had once been so traumatic in their lives and return to that warm and inviting sanctuary in the evening for a good nights rest to face the challenges again the next day. I had the pleasure and honor of working with Terry, her team, and other volunteers on the Myriam House project at Vista Maria. On the day that the sleeping quarters were completed, the girls opened the doors to their rooms while we stood in the hallway, there was not a dry eye in the house! It was not only the beginning of a transformation for the girls, but also a rewarding and uplifting experience for all the volunteers to see such joy brought to those with so little and so much heart ache.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I've worked with Enchanted Makeovers on their past few projects. I have been blessed to meet such a wonderful group of people. What they do is truly amazing. It's nice to volunteer for an organization that touches so many lives in such amazing ways. I'm always looking forward to the next project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I have worked with Enchanted Makeovers on three girl's and women's shelters in the greater Detroit area. Terry has a vision of how transforming these shelters will give the residents a space to call ... more

September 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Enchanted Makeovers since it was started by Terry Grahl 7 years ago. I pick up, throughout the greater Detroit area, any donations that are used to totally transform women and children's homeless shelters. To date we have completed four and the last was a building that is part of the largest rescue mission in Detroit. Our next project is to complete two other buildings for women and children in that complex. Some of the materials are donated by companies, but the work to fix and paint furniture, paint rooms, repair electrical and construction problems and collect all the items for a total makeover of the shelter is done by volunteers. The curtains, bedspreads, afghans, doilies under lamps and on chests are made by volunteers. As Terry says, it takes a village to complete a makeover.

However, all of the above work is so rewarding then we see the faces of the women and children on the day of the great reveal. All day is spent by volunteers putting everything in each room and then the women and children are brought to their rooms to see the transformation. They are awed by the sight and the beauty of their rooms. There is no greater gift than to show someone how worthy they are to have this beautiful space and to be given hope for the future.

It is truly an honor to be part of a truly inspiring organization, Enchanted Makeovers, and to know Terry as it's founder and my friend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Enchanted Makeovers on three girl's and women's shelters in the greater Detroit area. Terry has a vision of how transforming these shelters will give the residents a space to call their own, as well as hope for the future. She changes everything to totally change the environment for the residents and has a cadre of volunteers who love working with her, including murals on the hallway walls. She has been called and this is her purpose and I am priveleged to volunteer for her. Dona45

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

it's a non profit org. that Terry started, that not only do you go in with the knowledge that you're going to help others to improve there lives and surroundings, but you come out with a light within yourself that is truly heart warming.... I had the best experience meeting the other volunteers and meeting the gals that were being blessed with the love pouring out from all different walks of life and organizations so that they may get back on track & get on the yellow brick road... and to find their emerald city so that their lives will be filled with goodness & love that they deserve.... in Jesus' name ~ Amen ;O) xox

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Enchanted Makeovers is a 100% volunteer non-profit organization that impacts lives in ways I never thought possible! I have been involved during an actual homeless shelter makeover for women and chil... more

May 6, 2013

I feel so very blessed to be on the Enchanted Makeovers' team as the Chief Operating Officer. I get to see each and every day how hard the organizaiton works to fulfill the mssion. We just completed our largest makeover ever! For the majority of 2012, we worked at the Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries to transform their Genesis III house. We completely transformed 21 bedrooms with 53 beds, hallways and create a sacred sewing room. Over 300 people including mural artists, crafters, sewers and volunteers and around the country helped to transform this house into a home that inspires all who live there while they are re-building their lives. And, we are already moving full-steam ahead with the next project!
I hope you will join us! It will transform you beyond your dreams!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Enchanted Makeovers is a 100% volunteer non-profit organization that impacts lives in ways I never thought possible! I have been involved during an actual homeless shelter makeover for women and children and the impact on everyone involved in amazing. For many of the women or teens, they have tearfully shared that this was the first time anyone cared enough for them to make them feel worthy. The impact of just sharing lovingly hand-made items was so dramatic. In most cases, the residents who call a shelter "home" are used to receiving donations that are actually trashed items people have thrown away. When Enchanted Makeovers came in with everything beautiful and hand-made, it touched their hearts to know everyone is worthy and deserving of love. We all learned the fundamental lesson of unity among people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I heard of Enchanted Makeovers through my girlfriend, Britni Wilson, who is a team member of EM. I work for a non-profit agency and thought I knew all there was to know about them, that was until I met Terry and saw, firsthand, what Enchanted Makeovers is all about. I had the opportunity to participate in one of the makeover events at Alternative for Girls in Detroit. I was amazed at what Terry and her team actually do to put on an event. The passion that Terry has for what she does and the genuine care that she has for the people involved is unmatched. I've gotten to know Terry more through conversations and other events, and there is nothing that she can't do. She has spirit about her that is inspiring. And it is because of her spirit and her love for Enchanted Makeovers that makes people want to be a part of it. She has taken a leap of faith, followed her dreams and has changed the lives of so many people. I am honored to to know Terry and the Enchanted Makeovers team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Terry and the Enchanted Makeovers team through The Creative Connection Event. As the event designer, I was enlisted to help them design and set up a booth in our MarketPlace. Terry and I instantly connected as lovers of all things vintage. I was so impressed with Terry's story and her 100% commitment to following her vision to help women and children in shelters feel the comforts of home. When Terry asked if I could volunteer to help design tables for the She is Me gala, I eagerly accepted, happy to have the chance to help her and the team further the Enchanted Makeovers vision. Terry is so committed to the journey of seeing her vision come to life all over the country. Enchanted Makeovers focus on handmade, vintage and homespun really make these projects come to life and envelop everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found out about Enchanted Makeovers from the Dreamers Into Doers site. I was contacted by Terry to help with artwork for several events. I was blown away by Terry's incredible passion for giving and helping women improve their lives. Enchanted Makeovers helps young women learn skills that will help them for the rest of their lives. The positive influence in so many areas of young women's lives makes the impact from being a part of EM to be immeasurable. The joy and beauty EM teams and volunteers bring to each shelter is amazing and helps to make all who stay in one of the transformed shelters feel loved and cherished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

There is always a way everyone can get involved with the Enchanted Makeovers' mission. Please visit the website to see how you can particiapte in the various projects and programs.