Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.984855
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Terry has made it her life's mission to help empower women from all walks of life. She is fully committed to changing the lives of women and children one makeover at a time. I believe that she truly cares for every person she meets and her compassion really shows.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

In 2008 I met Terry for the first time. I was in awe of her selfless nature and willingness to give so much of herself to others.Her beliefs of giving handmade items to others is much like my own. The items I,family members, and friends make for the women in the shelters are gifts of love that we hope send the powerful message that someone out there cared enough to take the time to make something with their own hands just for them.The most precious gift is the gift if ones self.The magical part of being involved in Enchanted Makeovers is that not only are you helping others,but you are also learning a lot more about yourself in the process.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am not able to answer this question

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I first met Terry Grahl four years ago through my daughter, Britni. Britni is a team member of Enchanted Makeovers and is the official photographer for this inspiring non-profit. When I learned what... more

September 4, 2013

My connection to Enchanted Makeovers came to be through my daughter, Britni and her friendship with Terry Grahl. Britni is not only a team member she is also EM's official photographer. When I first learned of Enchanted Makeovers and Terry's story, to say I was moved is an understatement. To see Terry, the EM team members and volunteers converge upon a shelter is a sight to behold. They bring with them not only the astounding physical transformation to the shelter itself but also love and hope to each of the residents. They put their love into action with every shelter makeover. I cannot say enough about the passion in Terry's heart and her commitment to the women and children residing in the shelters. Terry and EM restore my faith in humanity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no changes that need to be made.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first met Terry Grahl four years ago through my daughter, Britni. Britni is a team member of Enchanted Makeovers and is the official photographer for this inspiring non-profit. When I learned what Terry was doing, I was incredibly moved. Her deep commitment of instilling self-worth, hope, and love to women and chilren that are struggling is beyond commendable. This is a personal mission for Terry and as such she brings every part of her being into the renovation of women and childrens' shelters. She transforms their living environments into an enchanted sanctuary of healing. Her message is powerful, her work life changing, not only for those receiving but also for those that volunteer and work along side her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I was led to Enchanted Makeovers by a friend, and the organization resonated with me immediately. What I love about EM's model is that it enables anyone and everyone to participate in a hands-on, personal and meaningful way. There are opportunities to donate dollars, most certainly. But for those with gifts and a love for creating things - murals, bedspreads, pillows, lampshades, etc. - EM provides the opportunity to match those gifts with someone to whom they will bring great and lasting meaning and hope. A child is given a handmade doll or a superhero cape to wear. Each woman and child rests in a beautifully painted room, complete with handmade curtains and bed linens, pillows and other loving touches. I've always believed that in any point of one's life he/she is either in the position to give or to take, and that both experiences impart blessings. What I love about EM is that it gives each and every person an opportunity to participate in something deeply good and lasting. Everyone comes away feeling like the world truly can be a good, hopeful, gracious and loving place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

The organizers, faculty and attendees of Art is...You Mixed Media Art Retreats, feel compelled to work alongside Terry Grahl and the Enchanted Makeovers Team and help them to fulfill their important mission. Everyone in life should feel like they are worthy. That they count for something and that they have something to offer the rest of the world. Through our retreats, many of our attendees find their self worth and in doing so wish to pass this on by giving back to others. Women working alongside women to make a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

Enchanted Makeovers is a 100% volunteer non-profit organization that impacts lives in ways I never thought possible! I have been involved during an actual homeless shelter makeover for women and chil... more

May 6, 2013

I feel so very blessed to be on the Enchanted Makeovers' team as the Chief Operating Officer. I get to see each and every day how hard the organizaiton works to fulfill the mssion. We just completed our largest makeover ever! For the majority of 2012, we worked at the Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries to transform their Genesis III house. We completely transformed 21 bedrooms with 53 beds, hallways and create a sacred sewing room. Over 300 people including mural artists, crafters, sewers and volunteers and around the country helped to transform this house into a home that inspires all who live there while they are re-building their lives. And, we are already moving full-steam ahead with the next project!
I hope you will join us! It will transform you beyond your dreams!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Enchanted Makeovers is a 100% volunteer non-profit organization that impacts lives in ways I never thought possible! I have been involved during an actual homeless shelter makeover for women and children and the impact on everyone involved in amazing. For many of the women or teens, they have tearfully shared that this was the first time anyone cared enough for them to make them feel worthy. The impact of just sharing lovingly hand-made items was so dramatic. In most cases, the residents who call a shelter "home" are used to receiving donations that are actually trashed items people have thrown away. When Enchanted Makeovers came in with everything beautiful and hand-made, it touched their hearts to know everyone is worthy and deserving of love. We all learned the fundamental lesson of unity among people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I heard of Enchanted Makeovers through my girlfriend, Britni Wilson, who is a team member of EM. I work for a non-profit agency and thought I knew all there was to know about them, that was until I met Terry and saw, firsthand, what Enchanted Makeovers is all about. I had the opportunity to participate in one of the makeover events at Alternative for Girls in Detroit. I was amazed at what Terry and her team actually do to put on an event. The passion that Terry has for what she does and the genuine care that she has for the people involved is unmatched. I've gotten to know Terry more through conversations and other events, and there is nothing that she can't do. She has spirit about her that is inspiring. And it is because of her spirit and her love for Enchanted Makeovers that makes people want to be a part of it. She has taken a leap of faith, followed her dreams and has changed the lives of so many people. I am honored to to know Terry and the Enchanted Makeovers team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Terry and the Enchanted Makeovers team through The Creative Connection Event. As the event designer, I was enlisted to help them design and set up a booth in our MarketPlace. Terry and I instantly connected as lovers of all things vintage. I was so impressed with Terry's story and her 100% commitment to following her vision to help women and children in shelters feel the comforts of home. When Terry asked if I could volunteer to help design tables for the She is Me gala, I eagerly accepted, happy to have the chance to help her and the team further the Enchanted Makeovers vision. Terry is so committed to the journey of seeing her vision come to life all over the country. Enchanted Makeovers focus on handmade, vintage and homespun really make these projects come to life and envelop everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I first heard about Terry and Enchanted Makeovers when I was part of an online mall called Shabby Lane Shops. There was a challenge that went out to us from another group called Make Mine Pink. A very, very easy slipper pattern had been developed and the slippers would be used for a shelter who Terry was working her magic on! I made a few pair and naturally started reading more and more about Terry and her dream of giving needful women and children not just a bed and a blanket, but a beautiful place to stay where they would be not just safe but uplifted by their surroundings. The more I read, the more I wanted to do. Let me just say that for those of you who haven't had a one on one conversation with Terry, YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE MISSING! She shared her story and I shared some of mine and she quietly listened to every word that spilled out of me. I'll never forget that conversation. Anyway, I pledged to help as much as I could in the way of fabric goods - bags, aprons, slippers, etc. Sadly, my body decided not to cooperate with my heart and I had to tell Terry I could no longer be a part of her cause. I still haven't given up the hope that there will come a day when I can again volunteer. In the meantime, Terry's work goes on. It grows and grows and hundreds, probably thousands, of women and children have been blessed by her dream that turned into a reality. God bless you, Terry!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Several years ago I got to privilege of working with Terry Grahl on an Enchanted Makeover project in New York City. It was a wonderful experience. The best part was being able to speaking to the women who were the recipients of our work. Terry has built a fantastic organization doing wonderful things for women and children and she and her people deserve our thanks. Peggy Gaffney

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

There is always a way everyone can get involved with the Enchanted Makeovers' mission. Please visit the website to see how you can particiapte in the various projects and programs.