Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

The Enchanted Closet is a valuable resource in metropolitan Atlanta. Nearly 5000 girls have been outfitted for the enchanting moments in their middle and high school lives. Hundreds of girls have gained vital mentoring through the GIRL$ Program. The program ensures that girls are empowered with self awareness, self esteem, and self sufficiency necessary to not fall prey to societal ills and to make valuable contributions to society. The organization has exceeded its service numbers this year and have served 610 girls!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

It is a true honor and joy to serve as a member for Enchanted Closet’s Young Empowerment Board. Knowing that I am able to touch the lives for the next generation is such a powerful way it amazing. Being able to see the fruit of our labor through the young ladies of Metro Atlanta is gift that is indescribable. I look forward to investing more in the next generation of powerful and successful women. To educate a girl is to education the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am so honored to serve on the Youth Empowerment Board. It has been quite rewarding to interact with the young ladies who participate in our programs, and witness their progress. I look forward to the bright future of this organization, and I will definitely be a part of it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been a Youth Empowerment Board member with The Enchanted Closet for two years and have enjoyed every minute of it. The Enchanted Closet mission is to physically, mentally, and emotionally outfit Metro Atlanta high school girls from low-income families through programs that prepare them for social and professional milestones. From providing formal evening gowns to thousands of metro-Atlanta girls, to hosting health and fitness programs and monthly GIRL$ Programs that promote emotional health and build self-esteem, I can honestly say the organization fulfills that mission and beyond. The Enchanted Closet is transforming the lives of girls in metro Atlanta. I am honored to be a part of such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

As a student at Spelman College, I first volunteered at the Annual Prom Dress Giveaway. I loved every moment of working with the girls to create a magical prom experience! I could not wait to get more involved. I was installed as a Youth Empowerment Board Member in January and it has been amazing. This organization works to outfit the young ladies of Metro Atlanta, and it turn fostered my growth in so many ways!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I volunteered with Enchanted Closet before becoming a board member because I admired the mission of the organization. Being the mother of two young ladies, I know how important it is to make them feel self-confident and powerful and I have witnessed this organization make hundreds of young ladies feel the same way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have Enchanted Closet's statewide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

As an Enchanted Closet Board Member, I can truly say that it is an organization shaped for a wonderful purpose. We have been blessed to develop programs to expose girls to college entrance procedures... more

August 22, 2013

The Enchanted Closet is an organization that is all about making transformations in a girl's life. We provide programs for girls age 12 - 19 in the Greater Atlanta area that focus on self-esteem, self sufficiency, self awareness, physical and mental health. We want them to know that their current life circumstances do NOT limit them from reaching their goals. Many of our girls have gone on to college, become campus queens, started civic organizations on their college campuses and much more!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

As an Enchanted Closet Board Member, I can truly say that it is an organization shaped for a wonderful purpose. We have been blessed to develop programs to expose girls to college entrance procedures, different career paths, entrepreneurship opportunities, prom preparation, self defense, and many other activities that focus on self esteem, self awareness, and self sufficiency. It is truly an honor to be associated with this organization. We are changing lives everyday!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I am a youth drama student with a student class of 20. We were invited to perform in on the events Ms. Bonita Johnson held at Spelman College in Atlanta. We witnessed the ease, professionalism and engaging manner in which Ms. Johnson interacted with the hundreds of attendees who assembled in the auditorium. She gave a compelling talk to the crowd of young people and parents who attended the event. It was well sponsored with food, literature and an empowerment session that inspired the audience to achieve their goals, reach for their educational goals and other messages to keep them safe from the trappings young people so easily fall into. I know first hand of her support to high school young ladies needing prom dress and college bound students in need of dorm bedding, supplies and more. Every dollar donated to this wonderful organization blesses a young person under Ms. Johnson's watch. About 3 weeks ago, she treated about 100 people to tickets to the touring American Idol show at the Gwinnett Arena. This is truly one of the most serving and outreach serving organizations I know.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I looked on a while before actually deciding to volunteer. I loved what I saw and love the feeling of being able to give my time and service. I'm often conflicted about who is actually benefiting from this experience. I've learned so much!
This is a feel good organization that has allowed me
to grow spiritually, mentally and personally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more volunteers! We're growing fast.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I've volunteered with Enchanted Closet for the past several years. I've served as a personal shopper for the prom dress giveaway, and I've been a workshop presenter as well.

I am not sure who is happier at the giveaway - the teens or me! It brings me so much joy to see the smiles in
their faces when we find the perfect prom dress for the young ladies. No young girl should miss her prom simply because of economics. Enchanted Closet provides an opportunity where there may not have been one.

But, it doesn't stop there. Enchanted Closet is interested in making the young ladies over, not just on the outside. The workshops provided by this great organization exposes the young ladies to information about how to not become victims of exploitation, on etiquette, and college prep. The diversity of the workshops speaks to their concern about ensuring that every young lady is exposed to positive and life-changing messages.

With Enchanted Closet, dreams do really come true!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate it in every city!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

mentor girls
outfit girls with formal attire
sort dresses, jewelry donations
arrange items in our boutique