Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Hello, I work as a volunteer at EMQ FamiliesFirst, Hollygrove, Los Angeles, CA in the Endless Summer Program. The program is dedicated to helping children and families with hardships in their life, such as abuse, drugs, poverty to name a few. The Endless Summer Program, led by Director Mary Brougher and Hugo Chacon, seeks to help the children in their care to find solutions to the problems they face by providing them education and in-sight into themselves. That they are ultimately responsible for what they make of their lives. We play games and have "mindful" teaching sessions that teach the children how to handle competitive situations, how their brains work to enable them to make good decisions, and we help with their homework to show them that learning is crucial to their success. Some of the kids find it harder to trust than others, but in the year I have worked with them I have seen non-readers become readers, angry kids become more open and trusting. I have no idea where these children would go or what would ultimately happen to them if they didn't have the positive and protective influence of Hollygrove in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek More support from the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I have worked with EMQ Families First for years as a volunteer associated with the Yolo Crisis Nursery. The nursery is an EMQ managed - loving home - where parents are able to leave their children (5 and under) when the parents are experiencing extreme cases of stress. This home has served hundreds of parents in the past ten years and has helped families to stay intact while providing resources and case management for parents during their child's stay and beyond. I am part of the "Friends Group" of volunteers who are dedicated to promote community awareness and fundraise for the nursery. In my ten year association, I have been extremely impressed by the leadership and administration at EMQ Families First. They are extremely responsive, provide excellent expertise and suggestions to our group and always follow through on commitments. They are caring professionals in every regard who provide an incredible community resource. I could not be more impressed. Becky Heard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

i volunteer with EMQ for about 5 or so years......enjoyed it and was proud to help a worthwhile cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I have been supporting EMQFF for a number of years and they continue to impress me with their focus on family and healing. Their help and support for the children they touch is unmatched and their contribution to the community is invaluable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

EMQFF is one of the first agencies Cake4Kids started working with two years ago. I serve as the liason between the agency and our non-profit organization. EMQFF is very responsive to our requests and are very concerned about the welfare of the children they support. I work with many different agencies in the Bay Area and I am always impressed with EMQFF in my dealings with them. Great job!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I've worked with Hollygrove through the Junior League of Los Angeles and this organization truly cares about the children it helps. We participated in a fun project each month called Formal Dinner where the kids dressed up and had a fancy dinner where they learned about table manners. We created an event to emulate the Olympics where the children learned about sports, sportsmanship and the history of the Olympics. We also created a library and computer room where the kids could study and relax. The people of Hollygrove truly care about the kids they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

EMQ had been great to work with as a volunteer. They do great work for the community, helping so many families. They make it easy and rewarding for our girl scout troop to adopt families during the holidays. Enjoy working with Antoinette and as a frequent volunteer with numerous organizations they are the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with a special event, donate a skill, help beautify one of our residential campuses. Volunteer