Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Hello, I work as a volunteer at EMQ FamiliesFirst, Hollygrove, Los Angeles, CA in the Endless Summer Program. The program is dedicated to helping children and families with hardships in their life, such as abuse, drugs, poverty to name a few. The Endless Summer Program, led by Director Mary Brougher and Hugo Chacon, seeks to help the children in their care to find solutions to the problems they face by providing them education and in-sight into themselves. That they are ultimately responsible for what they make of their lives. We play games and have "mindful" teaching sessions that teach the children how to handle competitive situations, how their brains work to enable them to make good decisions, and we help with their homework to show them that learning is crucial to their success. Some of the kids find it harder to trust than others, but in the year I have worked with them I have seen non-readers become readers, angry kids become more open and trusting. I have no idea where these children would go or what would ultimately happen to them if they didn't have the positive and protective influence of Hollygrove in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek More support from the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Changing lives, saving children, amazing systems in place to help the hardest situations. My tour and involvement demonstrated the care from this incredible team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More public relations and awareness. More people should know about this life changing place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have referred a couple of my clients for Mentoring services through the IYRT program and have great success in the minors being connected with a mentor that they felt a "connection" to. Additionally, EMQ offers great workshops for the community they serve. Whenever I have had questions about somethign the staff have been quite responsive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes at this point.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

When our family decided to become foster parents, I searched the internet to find an organization to help us. Fortunately I came across the EMQFF site and made a call. Since the very beginning the staff was excellent as they helped us through the paperwork, training, and certification process. We now have a new 17 year old son who is an outstanding young man.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Every now and then you meet someone who is just a perfect fit for the work they do. It's rare to find a group or an entire organization who so completely fits the mission of the organization. Such is the case with EMQ-Families First. I have made my living evaluating and consulting to a wide variety of organizations on management structures, boards, and operations. Rarely have I seen the level of dedication and commitment to the mission that I've seen with these folks. Everyone I encountered at EMQ are so passionate about the work with children and families. A part of my work with organizations is to inspire. It's rare to BE in inspired by organizations - that was always my experience. To a person they are a pleasure to work with and I recommend them highly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have worked closely with many nonprofit organizations in California as a mental health professional and as an academic evaluator. I can say, without a doubt, that EMQFF is top notch. It provides high quality services using proven methods. The leadership within the organization is also outstanding, making it a great place to work. I encourage many of my best social work students to consider employment at EMQ-FF. Kathy Cox, Ph.D., LCSW Associate Professor School of Social Work California State University, Chico

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been a foster parent now for 15 years. EMQFF has been our biggest support. They trained us and helped us become the foster parents that we are today. In return, we have been able to provide a safe, loving and nurturing home that any child can thrive in. I am happy to say that we have a very high success rate in retaining our foster children and helping them emancipate. Just as we teach the children that come into our homes, these children teach us! Such compassion, heart, courage, and strength! To see the world thru their eyes.. is priceless! I can't imagine life not being a foster parent! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I started out many years ago as a donor to the Foster Santa program. Surprising each child with a bike, helmet and bike lock for Christmas captured my heart in a way that is unexplainable. I remember so clearly what it meant to me to have and ride my bike as a kid, and so, became locked in and committed to this! Matter of fact, this year, I am the honorary chair.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

EMQ Families First matched me and my husband with a delightful young girl when we decided to do respite care foster parenting. We adored this child and had very rewarding experiences during the times she was in our care. I would highly recommend EMQ for people looking to make a contribution and to spend time with a young person in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

EMQ FamiliesFirst is a frontrunner in providing children’s mental health services. Their executive team is smart, innovative and clearly keeps the focus on ensuring children have access to quality treatment and care services. They work diligently in conjunction with county and state officials to reduce barriers to accessing care and improving the system of care for children's mental health. It is a pleasure to work among such dedicated professionals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with a special event, donate a skill, help beautify one of our residential campuses. Volunteer