Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have served on the Employment For Seniors Board for ten years and am constantly amazed by this valuable community resource. FREE services are provided for people 50 years of age and older who are in need of a job. The volunteer staff of counselors provide outstanding, compassionate service to a diverse clientele. The annual Career Expo is always improving with workshops and access to hiring employers. I am proud of the exemplary leadership provided by the Executive Director, Dr. Carol Ventresca, and the level of involvment of the Board members. Board President, Brett Johnson, is a tireless advocate and fundraiser for the agency. Employment For Seniors is everything a nonprofit organization should endeavor to be!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find an endless, sustainable source of funding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was a colleague of the current Executive Director in the past and became familiar with EFS when she became associated with this great organization, first as a board member and now as ED. Her passion for the organization, staff and volunteers is contagious. As a communications professional, I have volunteered my skills whenever useful as EFS transitions into a new age of social media and modern technology. EFS is growing better each day, which is great news for the thousands of mature job seekers and employers who benefit from its expertise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure it had additional resources to enable it to help more individuals and businesses

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Employment for Seniors is a great organization that helps job seekers meet potential employers and has really made a great impact for those in Central Ohio. I have always teamed up with the organization and the job seekers and staff have all been amazing! Such a great organizaton and we are lucky to have them in our community!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a member of the board for over 12 years, and have been extremely excited about how EFS has been able to change to continue to help adults over 50 find a job. Technology was a burden for this age group just 10 years ago, but today they embrace it, and EFS has followed that trend to deliver its services better with a newly designed, easier to navigate website. It's no wonder EFS receives calls from literally all over the world to find out how we do what we do, as a non-profit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Employment for Seniors (EFS) in 2012 celebrated their 40th anniversary serving central Ohio. The primary goal of Employment For Seniors is to match mature job seekers with local employers. Clients receive information on resume development, interviewing skills, contact information on other community organizations that provide employment services, and access to a free job posting board. The staff and volunteers work tirelessly to advocate for mature job seekers throughout our community by reaching local employers and emphasizing the skills, maturity, reliability and dependability of our clients. EFS has hosted the annual Senior Career Expo for 19 years, which features training workshops, employers seeking available candidates, and resource agencies to over 500 participants. The Executive Director is active in outreach efforts to educate individuals, agencies, and government entities. As a current Board Member, I have seen the impact this small but mighty organization has had on the lives of mature job seekers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure additional funding to expand service hours

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

EFS helps seasoned Ohio job seekers meet potential employers who prize experience and productivity. The volunteers on the board of trustees are long-serving people who are committed to EFS' mission and seek to increase the organization's reach in both services and geography. From matching job seekers to potential jobs, to assistance with resume writing, EFS can help Ohio's most experienced job seekers find work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase EFS' measurement of how/when it helps Ohio job seekers find employment, to give increased hope that new job seekers can find help through EFS.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Many members of the "Silver Tsunami " generation are ready ,willing ,and able to contribute to the community and EFS gives them the support they need . In my franchise consulting practice I am seeing many seniors that are looking at career alternatives and I always suggest that EFS should be one of the places they contact as they begin their search. It does good and is run well.!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Employment for Seniors for quite some time, ever since I retired from a career in HR. They are a great resource for more mature/senior job seekers. We understand their situation better than most employment resources, advise them accordingly and refer them to appropriate employers who understand the value our clients offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recommend expansion of their professional job seeking services to surrounding areas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

EFS provides an outstanding service to people in the Central Ohio area who are 50+. In meeting with many "seasoned seniors" who are looking for either a "round 2" for their careers/jobs or just for additional income, or to stay busy in their retirement, EFS is able to assist them with job possibilities that are of interest to them. Also, EFS provides them with other useful resource materials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand EFS' services beyond central Ohio. It's a service that many people in Ohio could use.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Employment for Seniors is a well respected organization that does so much with so little. It is operated with part time staff and many wonderful volunteers who understand the challenges of seeking employment when you are an older adult. The Director does an excellent job as do the hard working board members. We are lucky to have them in Columbus OH.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide information on job search assistance, register clients, provide employment materials and resources, and give clients the motivation and self-esteem needed to land that great job! Volunteer