Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2013

The Empire Ranch Foundation allows the rich history of the United States to be passed on to future generations. Their large volunteer base allows them to preserve and restore handmade adobe buildings... more

October 28, 2013

The Empire Ranch Foundation allows the rich history of the United States to be passed on to future generations. Their large volunteer base allows them to preserve and restore handmade adobe buildings, educate youth through their Wild About the Grasslands Program, which is part of the National Hands on the Land Program. Through the Foundation we can learn about historic preservation, hands on restoration, the bio-diversity of the Las Cienegas National Conservation Area and our country's history and Westward Expansion. We all pass on our family traditions and this foundation passes on our country's ranching heritage along with biology, ecology, reintroduction of plant and animal species and protection of endangered species. They offer many great events throughout the year and their largest draws an average crowd of 2,600 attendees.

Come out and visit - it is a place you will not forget for the rich history, fascinating buildings and spectacular scenery! GET INVOLVED, BECOME A MEMBER we have an Outstanding group of volunteers and members. The Empire Ranch Foundation has won the 2012 Arizona Governor's Award for Public Archaeology. Check out our website www.empireranchfoundation.org - HELP US PRESERVE AND PASS ON THIS BEAUTIFUL AREA AND HISTORIC LEGACY!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out to more people regarding what a wonderful place the Empire Ranch is. Including: special people, education, youth classes and activities and fun events for all ages. Let everyone know the Empire Ranch has a great deal to offer. There is something here for everyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

The Empire Ranch Foundation allows the rich history of the United States to be passed on to future generations. Their large volunteer base allows them to preserve and restore handmade adobe buildings, educate youth through their Wild About the Grasslands Program which is part of the National Hands on the Land Program. Through the Foundation we can learn about historic preservation, hands on restoration, the bio-diversity of the Las Cienegas National Conservation Area and our country's history and Westward Expansion. We all pass on our family traditions and this foundation passes on our country's ranching heritage along with biology, ecology, reintroduction of plant and animal species and protection of endangered species. They offer many great events throughout the year and their largest draws an average crowd of 2,600 attendees.

This is a fun and wonderful way to teach and learn for all members of the family. Join and/or visit today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The aim of the Foundation is to save the Empire Ranch buildings. My Husband and I are History buffs so it is fun for us to come out and help with the work days. Cleaning and fixing up the buildings and land. Once you learn about the history of the ranch and know you are where some real cowboys worked and lived it is a real experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Volunteering at the various events are always a lot of fun. The other volunteers are great and come from all walks of life so you meet new and interesting people. The Ranch is a great place to visit to get a feeling of what cowboy life was actually like.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am very proud of my family heritage and even more proud of being part of the Empire Ranch Foundation which works hard to maintain and preserve the ranch's headquarters for generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My husband and I did not routinely volunteer with organizations, but when we became acquainted with the Empire Ranch Foundation we couldn't wait to become involved. The Foundation spoke to our love of Arizona history in a very hands on, personal way. We admired the Foundation's efforts to preserve and protect the wonderful old buildings of the Ranch. Having spent most of our lives involved in education, we probably had more fun and learned more than the students at our first Legacy Day. It is an honor to be involved with the wonderful Foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The Foundation is doing a wonderful job of researching the history of the ranch and sharing the information with others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Sit on the hilltop overlooking the buildings of The Empire Ranch. On a windswept afternoon as the white clouds cast their shadows, you can almost hear the sounds as the ranch comes alive in your mind. It's peaceful in these grasslands and my mind is drawn to the bay window and the lives of all those who lived inside. Without The Empire Ranch Foundation these buildings might be piles of sand or forgotten ruins.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to encourage and welcome a greater variety of volunteers, board members and donors. Think of the number of subscriptions to magazines like Arizona Highways. People who do not live in the west are captivated by it. Develop a publicity team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 19, 2012

This Foundation is a group of highly motivated, charismatic and pro-active individuals who enjoy telling the story of the Cowboy (Vaquero), where they came from, how they lived and where they called h... more

October 18, 2013

Empire Ranch Foundation is an institution that balances preservation, education and outreach programs so that all who visit this site will have a positive and enriching experience that will broaden their knowledge about historic and modern ranching systems.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to provide more memberships to students. Also to find a way to endow the organization so that its legacy remains sustainable for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This Foundation is a group of highly motivated, charismatic and pro-active individuals who enjoy telling the story of the Cowboy (Vaquero), where they came from, how they lived and where they called home. The Foundation is dedicated to preserving this heritage and preserving the Empire Ranch so that the story of early ranch life will be available for generations yet to come. The Foundation creates scenarios of the old west mixed with hands-on activities, an educational format that show how to respect the land and peoples, all accomplished by acivities such as their annual Round-up, Spring trail rides, Western cinema movies, Docent led tours of the Empire Ranch, and The Wild about the Grasslands program for children. This group and their associated partners, Friends and neighbors deserve the highest praise and recognition for their wonderful efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Empire Ranch Foundation is doing work to preserve and maintain the historic Empire Ranch in Southern Arizona, and also to promote western art and culture. My involvement with the Foundation began when I volunteered to camp overnight to provide security for the fine western art exhibited during the Empire Roundup.

The Roundup takes place every Fall, and features fine art exhibits and activities that educate the public about our western heritage. By providing a venue for western art and cultural activities such as making reatas, outdoor cooking, and more, the Foundation helps ensure that our western culture will not be lost amidst the rush of modern life. It provides a place for western artists and artisans to exhibit their work, and most important to me, the Foundation works to preserve Empire Ranch itself.

The Foundation has preserved the historic Empire Ranch buildings, and has also installed drinking water facilities and restrooms I use when I and my dogs go hiking at the Empire Cieniga preserve. I like to trailer my horse to Empire Ranch and ride the trails on the ranch. The ranch headquarters is a great place to park for a day ride or even camp overnight.

None of this would be possible without the quiet work of the Foundation, working in the background to make sure the Ranch is there for people to enjoy for generations to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be more involved in their activities, more often. I still work full time in Tucson, so have limited time to spend, but will continue to support the Foundation with my donations and with my participation occasionally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with administrative organizational duties, work ion smaller preservation projects at the Empire Ranch