Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.791675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Emergency Ministries is a great organization that is very helpful. The group is there for fellow friends and brothers that are in need of help, or just someone to talk to. Personally, I havnt had to use them. But, from stories I have heard from people who have talked with them, I wouldn't even hesisitate to call them. Thanks for all y'all do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is an organization that assists the Emergency Response Community when we need help. They are our "Spiritual-Emotional 911".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization for a great cause. This organization has personally helped me through tough times. I a lot to Skip and his team. Skip and his team put in countless hours to help emergency responders as they do what they do. This charity goes above and beyond to make sure that all emergency worst responders have a way to get help. Thank you Skip for all that you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Upon doing training for CISM with some of their volunteers, our group was discussing a certain scenario. As the conversation continued the chaplain was quick to notice a certain response in me. And in a very professional manner began working with me. I left training having my own healing experience and hands on training. A burden I had carried for many years thinking I had handled and passed. Has now truly been put in clearer light and understanding, and had put me at a whole other level of peace with those events. I am an EMT, who was married to Police officer who was a LODD, and there were issues with a dispatcher. Lots of PTSD in this little group of 3. I am thankful for Emergency Ministries help and am now working on becoming part of this special group of people. I cant say enough about them or the service they provide. I have been in the EMS field for 17 yrs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Our organization contributes a substantial sum annually due to the value Emergency Ministries provides our staff. We promote EM as a member service, we present it to our staff in our Orientation of new members/employees. Chaplain Straus has even attended these orientations and shares the services Emergency Ministries provides in greater detail.

In a recent Orientation class for 16 new full-time firefighters of which most came from the Gulf Coast Area but others came from other parts of Texas and one from Florida, those firefighters commented about how they were impressed by how our organization takes care of its people and that providing the services of Emergency Ministries was unbelievable and they thought it had huge value and they had never heard of it before.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Market Emergency Ministries nationwide if funding and staffing were adequate to expand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2012

There are times when even the trite phase 24/7 does not accurately describe the commitment of an individual. In the time that I have known Skip, I have been amazed at his level of commitment to Emerg... more

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with this ministry for 2 years as a member of the board. The loyalty and commitment of the staff is second to none. The effect of their efforts on the community is amazing. At the most difficult time for first responders they minister in a most personnel way. I will continue to support this ministry with my time and financial contributions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are times when even the trite phase 24/7 does not accurately describe the commitment of an individual. In the time that I have known Skip, I have been amazed at his level of commitment to Emergency Ministries. Skip's dedication to this ministry is complete. For weeks on end he his available 24 hours a day to be of service to first responders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I reached out to them for help and Emergency Ministries has helped guide me in the right direction . Emergency Ministries has also provided me the tools I needed to go forward with my studies and my mission to help the brotherhood in the fire dept.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide chaplain training : classes or courses

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

What an awesome Ministries!!!!!!
I know by personal experiance what this Ministries can offer to the First Responders and the community.
It had just been a couple of months that I finished my school with the Church of God Chaplains Commission so I could become the Chaplain for Klein Fire
Dept. the rest of my training will have to be OJT and the Holly Spirt speaking through me, they can't teach that at school, when we had a Fire Fighter die due to illness in the Dept. I had the husband who is also a Firefighter and friend ask me if I would do her funeral with Fire Fighter honors. I was honored to do it , but there was just one problem . This was going to be my first funeral and not only that, she was a good friend and we had also responded to fires together which was going to make it even harder to preform the funeral. I had to make sure everything came out perfect, and not mess this up . So the big question is where do I start ? Well I called on a good friend I had met a few months earlier (Skip Straus) with Emergency Minstries and asked for his help, he didn't even have to think about it twice, he send a couple of his chaplains to start helping me prepare and then he also stepped in to help me plan and coordinate the funeral. He stood by my side through the whole thing. I could't have done this alone. I ask myself how does a First Responder agency exists without a Chaplain or the support of Emergency Ministries. I am forever in debt to Skip with Emergency Ministries he did not care if our Dept belong to his Ministries or not. EMERGENCY MINISTRIES ANSWERED THE CALL !!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have weekly meeting between Chaplains so if they have issues they are going through they can get feed back from other Chaplains on how to handle the situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is a true blessing to our EMS organization. Day or night we can call on them when our crew members are dealing with the aftermath of a bad call...or even dealing with a personal issue outside of work. I don't know what we would do if we didn't have Emergency Ministries to call upon for assistance in these times...in the world of EMS it can sometimes be hard to find someone to talk to privately and confidentially who actually understands what you are talking about in relation to a call.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have served on the board of Emergency Ministries for 10 plus years and have witnessed a tremendous need to support our first responders. Emergency Ministries provides a much needed service to first responders...a service that many of them don't even realize they need. First reponders see so much trauma that it effects the quality of their lives in a very personal way. This is where Emergency ministries and Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) comes in to play. Without a healthy method for debriefing, stress that first reponders experience builds up. Anyone who has ever experienced stress understands that eventually that stress has to be released. This release can take many different forms, even to the point of becoming life threatening. By applying proven techniques such as CISM, Emergency Ministries provides a much needed service to first responders and their families. Emergency Ministries is just beginning to reach new heights and needs your support more than ever. Visit www.emergencyministries.org to learn how you can help those who help you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness to first responders, increase the number of Chaplains, and increase funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us work a special event Volunteer