Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 6, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2012

I found out about EMBRACED via volunteering through my company. I am SO glad I found out about this service! I obtained a walker and back brace for my grandmother who recently fell and had to have back surgery. These items helped her regain her independence. The best part about the service, besides the friendly staff and easy process, is its free! If my grandmother had to go through insurance, this would have cost hundreds of dollars. THANK YOU EMBRACED for all your help!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 11, 2011

I have worked in the sustainability arena since 1997 with an extensive background in multi-stakeholder initiatives with corporations, government and NGO’s. Using systems thinking the goal is to develop and deploy cutting edge organizations, standards and programs that provide positive reduction in environmental impact, economic and social benefits.
Embraced meets and exceeds this criteria as an innovative servant leadership organization. Through it’s mission Embraced provides a solution “to ensure that all people have access to quality orthopaedic and prosthetic devices that can improve the quality of their lives”. Embraced embodies the pioneering spirit having uncovered an unmet societal need and fulfilling a meaningful mission that truly gives back— adhering to the highest level of professionalism and ethics.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by seeing how those in need have been given the ability to function again. They are able to simply walk or regain their mobility through the philanthropy of Embraced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every individual and organization would be introduced to Embraced to contribute through funding and donations so the millions of unused orthopaedic and prosthetic devices (crutches, walkers, wheelchairs, etc) sitting in basements and closets would get those in need – helping them to heal and live again.

November 10, 2011

more

November 10, 2011

I am a professional in the sustainability sector who learned of Embraced through discussions with a Board member. Obviously, the reuse component of Embraced is vital to environmental stewardship. Not only does Embraced collect and distribute gently-used durable medical supplies (crutches, wheelchairs, walkers, etc.) but it also reuses bins donated from a major product manufacturer to collect the equipment. This is the definition of " reuse squared" - saving millions of tons of waste from the landfill! But the great news is the reuse factor is just a pleasant by-product of the real mission of Embraced.

I have viewed video testimonials of the patients who have been served Embraced . Their stories validate that the mission of Embraced is being brought to life by providing mobility and independence to those less fortunate.

Lauren, below is my review...please edit if necessary and send back comments and I will upload to GuideStar.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
On a personal note, I have met Lauren O'Brien, the executive director of Embraced. Lauren's passion for Embraced is real. Her drive and vision for the organization is built on the principle "the mother of invention is necessity." Lauren personally experienced being injured. She realized, upon her recovery, the medical equipment that provided her own independence was still in good condition and was not being used. There had to be a way to extend the life of the equipment AND helping the medically under-served. Thus, the concept of Embraced was born.

Embraced is also very active in the community generating awareness and support through carefully planned activities of its volunteers and Board members. In addition to much needed funding from donors and grants, Embraced is being built by hundreds of hours of sweat equity.

Anyone serving or served by Embraced cannot help but experience a sense of purpose and value. It meets the triple bottom line - it is an environmentally, economically, and socially valuable service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the testimonies of those who have used equipment donated by Embraced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the capital - human and financial - to help raise awareness of the mission of Embraced.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

I had an opportunity to be involved with an Embraced event this year and the experience was life changing.
Volunteers often work long hard hours and although they receive satisfaction of "doing something good" they rarely have an opportunity to witness the foundation at work. I had the
pleasure of seeing Embraced at work first hand, how it impacts people in need and the hospitals that supply the care.
The night before Battle of the Burgers, the largest Embraced event of the year, Lauren (Embraced founder) received a call that a young girl had been severely injured and needed assistance with supplies. We had been working all day loading trucks and getting set up for the next day's event when Lauren said without hesitation, "I need to make a delivery", and guess who was driving.
Like most of us, I've only walked into hospitals a few times and it was always to visit someone I knew and loved so this was very different for me, but not for Lauren. Regardless of the circumstances, we're all uncomfortable entering a hospital but the words of praise we received from the doctor put me right at ease. The doctor was shocked how quick Embraced responded and admitted that most supplies take several days, if not weeks to arrive. She also warned us the injured girl was in terrible pain and understandably not easy to deal with.
I watched from the door as Lauren introduced herself to the family and began a dialogue with the injured girl. I expected a difficult situation but Lauren had an incredible one on one with the patient. She explained everything from how to use the equipment to how she should donate it to another in need when she had recovered. By the time we left the little girl was laughing and, if only for a few minutes of that day, Embraced had made an incredible impact on their lives - going forward the impact is truly immeasurable.
Battle of the Burgers was a great experience, a huge success and a memorable event but the event that I talk about and remember is that day in the hospital when I saw a wonderful foundation at work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

Embraced is a wonderful organization with an amazing mission. I have volunteered during their sort days as well as at their fundraising event. I always feel fulfilled knowing I am helping an organization I believe in. When I first heard about what Embraced does, I thought it seemed like such an obvious need and I couldn't believe there weren't more people already doing what Embraced does. This organization fills a need and does it well. I look forward to volunteering with them many more times!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing all of the supplies they have been able to collect. I've also heard wonderful stories about supplies being delivered to those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to other cities

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2011

more

November 8, 2011

I have volunteered for Embraced on several occasions and each experience has been amazing! I love the fundamental concept behind Embraced: gathering of medical supplies from those who no longer require them and redistribution to people who are in desperate need of them! Not only does Embraced satisfy the medical needs of thousands of people, often in destitute areas, but it has the added bonus of eliminating waste from the places where they collect the supplies. This knowledge is undoubtedly one of the reasons why I feel volunteering for Embraced is so fulfilling and keeps me coming back.
The best volunteering experience I have had with Embraced was emptying their warehouse after the earthquake disaster in Haiti and sending every last supply to the battered country. The extensive media coverage made the Haitian's suffering almost palpable and to be able to contribute to the relief efforts in a small way was unbelievably rewarding.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

shipping out supplies to Haiti after the earthquake.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep pushing to scale up. Particularly, more inventory space! Also, expand to other cities in the Southeast. This concept would work worldwide, and I believe that's where Embraced is headed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have more boxes available to store the donated equipment.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Always meet great new people every time i volunteer!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers