Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.976195
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

We have adopted several cats from this shelter throughout the years. Very compassionate, great environment for cats who seek a forever home. A++++ all the way!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change Nothing :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I brought a badly injured stray to Gifford, and they went out of their way to give that cat care no other shelter would have ever offered. Even though he was FIV+ and had a badly injured eye and ear, they got him all the medical care he needed, gave him his own room for the required six months, let us visit him often, brushed him, fed him, brought him back to life...and now he is a happy, spoiled boy in his forever home with one of the Gifford volunteers. This is a wonderful facility full of dedicated staff and volunteers. I have never been to another shelter like it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger and more well-known, so that more cats could be lucky enough to be cared for at Gifford and find their forever homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Giffords. My first visit was in 2011 when I was looking to adopt and the staff was so helpful in determining what type of cat would be best for my home. It was great to be able to interact with the cats outside of cages and it felt like the staff and volunteers really knew each animal and their personality. I was so impressed with the shelter that when I decided with my fiance to get another cat a year later, we knew we had to adopt from Gifford.

In addition to the great service during the adoption process, I have loved what the shelter has done as an organization. From setting up the outdoor space for the cats, to sponsoring the showing of "The Paw Project" and starting fundraising efforts that focus on particular health issues the cats face, they have really gone above and beyond to help all the cats that come in their doors.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This is the most amazing no-kill, caretaking, heart-filled cat home around. I got a wonderful cat from the Ellen M Gifford Sheltering Home 17 years ago, and she is still the best cat companion I've ever had. I am so impressed with the way they handle the cats, with such love and concern -- and they take care to place the cats in good homes that will work. One of my favorite organizations around.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

My husband and I were volunteers at Gifford and sadly are no longer able help out. While there and since we left my opinion of Gifford has not changed. This place is AWESOME! Everyone who works there and volunteers there really love the cats they take in. The cage less environment make for happy kitties. They also do amazing work with shy cats. We even adopted a cat that they rescued from another shelter who said he was "unadoptable". Because of the work Gifford did with him and the relationship we have built with him, he is a loving cat now who loves to be pet and brushed and get belly rubs! I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Ellen M Gifford Sheltering Home and their amazing staff and volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I was searching for a "cat specific" rescue to donate to as there tends to be so much focus on rescue dogs (and trust me, I donate to them too)! Upon doing my research I read wonderful things about the Gifford Cat Shelter and know I know why! I have visited the shelter several times over the last year to donate supplies or discuss fundraising opportunities and am always just so impressed with this facility. If I had to be a cat looking for a home I hope I would end up here!
The staff and volunteers have always been such a joy to work with. Their knowledge and passion always shines through and you can just tell they love what they do. What impresses me the most however is the facility for the cats. I love that these furry angels can roam free and have the ability to go both inside and out for exercise, mental stimulation, etc. I am just so happy to see all the cats not locked up in tiny cages.
I do a lot of rescue work and while I know space is always a challenge for shelters I think Gifford does an amazing job utilizing the space they have. I adore the cat towers and levels in their shelter. Cats can roam around and climb which is so important for their quality of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would honestly make would be giving them more room (and more money) if I could so they could help save more cats!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I honestly can't say enough good things about Gifford and the incredible folks who work and volunteer there. The first time I went, I meant to quickly stop in to check it out and ended up staying for over 3 hours because I was so impressed. The level of care and attention that they give the cats living at the home is unparalleled. Every time I went to visit there were several volunteers spending time with all of the cats and giving them exactly what they needed--whether it was playing with some of the more energetic kitties or giving quiet attention to some of the shyer ones. And they do an incredible job of keeping the spaces clean. There was no shelter smell or cat smell at all.

But I think the thing that stands out the most is how much they care about placing the right cats with the right family. I've been to shelters before where they just want to get the cats out the door as quickly as possible, but that's not the case at Gifford. They really know the personalities of the cats and speak extensively with potential adopters about which cat might work best for their family. My boyfriend and I have a hedgehog whom we love dearly and were looking for a cat to complete our little family. It was important that we found a cat who wouldn't be a danger to the hedgie and we found her thanks to Gifford! They know their cats so well and can really help guide you in your selection of the perfect cat. Wonderful people, wonderful cats, wonderful organization!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! Just keep doing what you're doing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

This place is amazing. It's the happiest shelter I have ever seen. The cats roam around out of cages, and are happy and healthy. They do a great job of placing cats with their forever homes and work so hard to keep them all healthy. They do not put down any sick cats that they can take care of with medicine or surgery, etc. and they do not put down to make room for other cats. I am also a volunteer and an adopter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2014

more

April 27, 2014

The Gifford Shelter is a godsend to both people and cats. It is a no-kill shelter, and takes in as many cats as it can. Once there, the cats are cared for in a cageless, cheerful environment and given time to get used to their environment and show well to the adopting public. The care and attention given the cats by the managers are outstanding. The medical status of every cat is monitored carefully, and veterinary visits are liberally provided when necessary. The managers carefully match cats with adopters, so you have the best chance of adopting a cat that will be your companion for life.

I am so proud and happy to volunteer for such a wonderful organization.
April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

The dedication that these people have to the cats is amazing... they are relentless. The fact that they have had some cats living their for 9 years, an outdoor feral cat area, and house cats with FIV exemplifies this dedication and unstoppable desire to support these animals in need. The facilities are health-inducing, as the cats are able to roam and play without the stress that small cages promote (especially for those straight off of the streets). I have seen so many cats flourish as a result of the volunteers and workers after being taken off of the street. I could not love this place more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers