Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.975615
Write A Review
June 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

I've beeen involved with the Elizabeth Stone House for over four years now. First as a donor, then as a volunteer and I just became a board member this year. Elizabeth Stone House makes a difference... more

June 18, 2014

Elizabeth Stone House has some of the most dedicated and results-oriented staff in the non-profit world in my opinion. They are truly focused on their mission of helping both families and individuals impacted by domestic violence, substance abuse and mental illness resolve their issues and become independent and productive individuals. The staff at ESH sets goals with its residents and monitors their progress. They are an important force within the Roxbury, MA community and they make a difference every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2012

I've beeen involved with the Elizabeth Stone House for over four years now. First as a donor, then as a volunteer and I just became a board member this year. Elizabeth Stone House makes a difference in the lives of its clients and I've seen this first hand. One of our board members is a former resident of the Stone House and her story as well as the story of many others is inspiring. Both the staff and the board of Elizabeth Stone House are very committed individuals trying to make a difference every day in the lives of their residents and in the local community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

I started working with the Elizabeth Stone House (ESH) as a volunteer hiker, raising money for the organization. Through the hike, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the women whose lives had bee... more

May 9, 2014

The Elizabeth Stone House provides a holistic approach to helping women and their children find independence. In addition to mental health and addiction treatment services, the ESH teaches fiscal responsibility and all of the practical skills needed to become productive and successful in living independently. In addition to the domestic violence shelter and transitional housing program, hundreds of community members receive support and services from the ESH. It is amazing how much the staff can do with their limited resources -- they are incredibly dedicated. I am proud to be affiliated with the ESH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to meet more community need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2012

I started working with the Elizabeth Stone House (ESH) as a volunteer hiker, raising money for the organization. Through the hike, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the women whose lives had been changed by the services offered by the ESH. The personalized approach to each woman's situation and needs is really unique. I like that the goal is to help women lead independent lives, and be the best parents they can be. And the continued support for women and their children after they leave the ESH ensures long-term success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been a Board member for the Elizabeth Stone House for 2 years now and I continue to be impressed by this organization's Staff and Board with regard to their commitment and skill in serving those individuals and families whose lives have been effected by domestic violence. ESH is a high functioning organization that makes a significant contribution to both its residents and its neighboring community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

I've raised funds for the Elizabeth Stone House by participating on the Wilderness Heals hike for the past 3 summers. And I've served on the ESH Board of Directors for 1 year. The organization provides life-saving services to women and their children, and also provides programs and support to over 800 people in the community each year. It is a most exciting time for the ESH -- a new facility will eventually be built a few blocks from the current site, that will dramatically increase the programs that ESH can offer.
I am proud to be affiliated with the Elizabeth Stone House. Employees of the ESH are some of the most dedicated, professional, and caring people I've had the pleasure to meet. They are helping women change their lives, gain independence, and raise healthy, happy families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage all to donate to the ESH Capital Campaign to build a new facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The Elizabeth Stone House is a unique community asset to the families it serves. As a retired social worker I am impressed by the service model that the ESH follows. Every action and interaction with the families is directed towards fostering self-responsibility ,autonomy, family integrity and independence. It is a soul-satisfying pleasure to donate time, expertise , and money to this incredible endeavor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I joined the Board in 2006, but my family had supported ESH with donations for many years before that because we knew of the wonderful work they did. ESH and its mission have grown tremendously over the years, serving more and more people both in residence and in the community, and the impact is has on those it serves is profound. My participation on this Board is a privilege, because it enables me to see first-hand the effect ESH has on residents and their children, helping them to take control of their lives and move past some terrible experiences and difficult challenges onto a positive path forward. And ESH's community outreach and programs expand its sphere of influence to the entire community and beyond. The staff at ESH is second to none - an amazing group of committed, compassionate and extremely capable people who work tirelessly for the people they are helping. This is a top-notch organization providing invaluable services and making a real difference, as we hear all the time from former residents who have come back to visit and express that sentiment. ESH doesn't just have programs for adults - the staff works with their children, too, who have been witnesses and even victims as well. There is nothing more rewarding than having a mother tell us how well her children are doing because of what ESH has done for her and her family, because we have then helped two generations of that family and, we hope, successive ones as well. I hope anyone reading this will check out the website for more detailed information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Since joining the board 3 year ago, I have been amazed by the staff at the stone house and the dedictaion they have for improving the lives of each and every person who walks through the door for help! It has been a pleasure to watch the stone house grow and I am looking forward to watching it develop in the furture.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers