Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

As a new volunteer at The Elizabeth Stone House, only starting 6 months ago, I have been amazed at how dedicated and passionate the Staff and Board Members are to the women and children of ESH. I recently had the pleasure of attending a dinner in honor of the beneficiaries ESH supports and hear about each and every woman's accomplishments thus far. Being present at the dinner allowed me the opportunity to see first hand how important ESH's mission is to their fellow beneficiaries. ESH is changing people's lives in a significant way and I am sincerely blessed to play a small part in this amazing organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I love working with the staff of ESH and helping the beneficiaries of ESH reach their self-sufficiency goals. This organization is staffed with people who work very hard for the wellbeing of not just the folks that reside at ESH, but also of the community as a whole. ESH tries, and succeeds, in teaching folks to be better informed about domestic violence, substance abuse, and mental illness, but also helps the children of those impacted by these societal ills to learn to stop the cycles that tend to come along when dealing with such ills. I have been involved with ESH for 5+ years now and have nothing but positive things to say about this organization. I can only hope that more folks in the Commonwealth and beyond learn about the wonderful mission of ESH and help ESH accomplish its goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

Great place to volunteer. The staff really cares about the residents and what they do there more

September 12, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Stone House since I was in high school along with a few of my childhood friends (15 years now). It is a great organization that gives people a second chance. Watching what they do and the dedication of their staff is truly inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

Great place to volunteer. The staff really cares about the residents and what they do there

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2012

I donate and occasionally volunteer with Elizabeth Stone House because the services they provide give people a shot in life. The women and children dealing with domestic violence aren't worried about ... more

September 4, 2013

I volunteer at and donate to Elizabeth Stone House because their efforts give people a chance in life. They take people in dire circumstances, often victims of domestic abuse - women, children, and some men - and strive to not only deliver them from their predicaments but give them a foundation to succeed. And they have programs in place to help people sustain their improved lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2012

I donate and occasionally volunteer with Elizabeth Stone House because the services they provide give people a shot in life. The women and children dealing with domestic violence aren't worried about acing a math test to become an engineer, practicing to become a star baseball player, or working with other community members to improve their neighborhood. They are trying to avoid the next acute trauma, they are wondering where their next meal might come from...The Elizabeth Stone House gives them a chance to live a life of freedom, rather than being controlled, a chance to thrive, rather than working hard to simply survive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

I am a volunteer fundraiser for the Elizabeth Stone House through Wilderness Heals. What keeps me coming back is the fact that this organization really supports its clients, in many ways and in ways that allow individual success. The Stone House is a journey for its clients, not just a quick fix. Keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have raised money for the Stone House through the Wilderness Heals fundraiser for 5 years now and have always been impressed with this organization. The entire staff is committed to fulfilling their mission and every time I go to the Stone House I see this shine through in the conversations I hear, the programming taking place and the work that is being done. I can't imagine NOT giving to this incredible nonprofit and supporting the important work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

This was my fifth summer hiking for the Elizabeth Stone House and my first "season" working with their new SOLES volunteer group supporting their annual Wilderness Heals fundraising hike.

ESH has never ceased to impress me. They work hard to not only serve the community but to continue
improving their services and their results. Every time I hear from them, there's always a landmark update to share and a goal for the future. In five short years, the hike alone has grown, and it now has its own five-year planning committee and its own source of volunteer support (SOLES). The staff and board are effective, knowledgeable, friendly, and some of the hardest working people I've ever known.

More than anything, the words of ESH residents highlight the impact this organization has on the community and on individuals. Every resident I've heard speak shares how empowered she feels, how glad she is to have her life back, and how much she owes to ESH and its staff for helping her take control again.

I can't think of a better organization to serve and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have had the opportunity to work with the Elizabeth Stone House over the past 2+ years. Their dedication and devotion to helping the women and childeren through challenging times is commendable. They work side by side to build confidence in the participants and provide the needed support structure to help get the family back on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

The Elizabeth Stone House provides support, educational opportunities, and a community for those struggling because of abuse, mental illness, and/or addiction. ESH provides multiple opportunities throughout the year for associates from our company to connect with families impacted by these hardships, bringing awareness to the implications of these adversities while simultaneously striving to break these dangerous cycles. ESH really excells at providing impactful volunteer opportunities that pull at your heart strings and inspire community members to continue to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

The past two summers, I have backpacked for 3 days in the White Mountains in New Hampshire for a fundraiser called "Wilderness Heals" in support of the Elizabeth Stone House. I would like to share a short story about one of the women who spoke to all of the hikers the morning that we began the three day hike through the White Mountains. This woman is someone who has been helped by the Elizabeth Stone House in the past and is living proof that with encouragement and support, anyone can remove themselves from a domestic abuse situation.

She began her speech with tears (happy ones of course) and spoke of how much the Stone House means to her. She said many things of which I can’t remember word for word but there were three statements that she made that stuck out to me.
“The Elizabeth Stone House was able to provide me with a Christmas present for my son.”
“The Elizabeth Stone House provided me with a bus ticket every day so I could get back and forth to work.”
These two statements show that the women who come to the Stone House are just looking for some kind of normalcy after being in violent situations for so long. They want their children to look back and have happy memories of their childhood instead of violent ones. They are not looking for a handout so that they can just sit around and do nothing; they want to better the lives of themselves and their children.
The last statement the woman made is something that will stay with me forever and brings tears to my eyes as I think about it. I’ve never heard anyone say this so simply yet so powerfully:
“There are those who need help and those who can help”
I believe it’s true for everyone; at times we may need help and other times we have the means and can help.
The Elizabeth Stone House is the ONLY OPTION for many of these women and children. There is no place else to go. Organizations like these are shutting down left and right due to budget cuts. The Stone House is one of the last of its kind in the area.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers