Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.975615
Write A Review
August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

I've raised funds for the Elizabeth Stone House by participating on the Wilderness Heals hike for the past 3 summers. And I've served on the ESH Board of Directors for 1 year. The organization provides life-saving services to women and their children, and also provides programs and support to over 800 people in the community each year. It is a most exciting time for the ESH -- a new facility will eventually be built a few blocks from the current site, that will dramatically increase the programs that ESH can offer.
I am proud to be affiliated with the Elizabeth Stone House. Employees of the ESH are some of the most dedicated, professional, and caring people I've had the pleasure to meet. They are helping women change their lives, gain independence, and raise healthy, happy families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage all to donate to the ESH Capital Campaign to build a new facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The Elizabeth Stone House is a unique community asset to the families it serves. As a retired social worker I am impressed by the service model that the ESH follows. Every action and interaction with the families is directed towards fostering self-responsibility ,autonomy, family integrity and independence. It is a soul-satisfying pleasure to donate time, expertise , and money to this incredible endeavor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ESH's people, be they board members, volunteers, employees or beneficiaries (women, men, children and families), are an inspiration. The passion to improve lives is palpable when you meet them, but especially when you set foot at ESH. It is with great pleasure that I donate money and volunteer time to this organization and I would highly recommend that others do the same. I would also recommend visiting the Stone House, because a picture is worth a thousand words, but the live visual is worth millions.

All in all, it may be easier to donate to well known charities, but the truth is that you don't know exactly where your dollar goes. With ESH, you see your dollars in action and you see how much help just one of them can provide. As for volunteering, any amount of time is welcomed and you are always greeted with a happy face and a hug.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have had the opportunity to work with the Elizabeth Stone House over the past 2+ years. Their dedication and devotion to helping the women and childeren through challenging times is commendable. They work side by side to build confidence in the participants and provide the needed support structure to help get the family back on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I donate and occasionally volunteer at Elizabeth Stone House. They are doing wonderful things for the women and children in their community and their dedication grows each year with new programs and soon a new facility. The whole team is wonderful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

The Elizabeth Stone House provides support, educational opportunities, and a community for those struggling because of abuse, mental illness, and/or addiction. ESH provides multiple opportunities throughout the year for associates from our company to connect with families impacted by these hardships, bringing awareness to the implications of these adversities while simultaneously striving to break these dangerous cycles. ESH really excells at providing impactful volunteer opportunities that pull at your heart strings and inspire community members to continue to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

The past two summers, I have backpacked for 3 days in the White Mountains in New Hampshire for a fundraiser called "Wilderness Heals" in support of the Elizabeth Stone House. I would like to share a short story about one of the women who spoke to all of the hikers the morning that we began the three day hike through the White Mountains. This woman is someone who has been helped by the Elizabeth Stone House in the past and is living proof that with encouragement and support, anyone can remove themselves from a domestic abuse situation.

She began her speech with tears (happy ones of course) and spoke of how much the Stone House means to her. She said many things of which I can’t remember word for word but there were three statements that she made that stuck out to me.
“The Elizabeth Stone House was able to provide me with a Christmas present for my son.”
“The Elizabeth Stone House provided me with a bus ticket every day so I could get back and forth to work.”
These two statements show that the women who come to the Stone House are just looking for some kind of normalcy after being in violent situations for so long. They want their children to look back and have happy memories of their childhood instead of violent ones. They are not looking for a handout so that they can just sit around and do nothing; they want to better the lives of themselves and their children.
The last statement the woman made is something that will stay with me forever and brings tears to my eyes as I think about it. I’ve never heard anyone say this so simply yet so powerfully:
“There are those who need help and those who can help”
I believe it’s true for everyone; at times we may need help and other times we have the means and can help.
The Elizabeth Stone House is the ONLY OPTION for many of these women and children. There is no place else to go. Organizations like these are shutting down left and right due to budget cuts. The Stone House is one of the last of its kind in the area.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I joined the Board in 2006, but my family had supported ESH with donations for many years before that because we knew of the wonderful work they did. ESH and its mission have grown tremendously over the years, serving more and more people both in residence and in the community, and the impact is has on those it serves is profound. My participation on this Board is a privilege, because it enables me to see first-hand the effect ESH has on residents and their children, helping them to take control of their lives and move past some terrible experiences and difficult challenges onto a positive path forward. And ESH's community outreach and programs expand its sphere of influence to the entire community and beyond. The staff at ESH is second to none - an amazing group of committed, compassionate and extremely capable people who work tirelessly for the people they are helping. This is a top-notch organization providing invaluable services and making a real difference, as we hear all the time from former residents who have come back to visit and express that sentiment. ESH doesn't just have programs for adults - the staff works with their children, too, who have been witnesses and even victims as well. There is nothing more rewarding than having a mother tell us how well her children are doing because of what ESH has done for her and her family, because we have then helped two generations of that family and, we hope, successive ones as well. I hope anyone reading this will check out the website for more detailed information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have volunteered with the Elizabeth Stone House since 2009. My first experience was as a hiker in the 2009 Wilderness Heals Fundraiser. I was immediately impressed not only by the wonderful staff, and the work that they do, but also by the personal stories of the residents. The Stone House involves many former residents in community outreach and fundraising efforts -- a policy that empowers the women and validates the organization. Since 2009, I have continued to volunteer with ESH as a team leader for the Wilderness Heals event and, occasionally, as a helping hand for events held onsite. In addition to being a strong voice for struggling families, ESH also seems to be a Learning Org. In other words, the Stone House is always looking for ways to reflect and improve upon the services they provide, and the manner by which they provide them. The leadership in the organization actively pursues feedback from everyone, including funders, donors, volunteers, employees, clients, and community members. This is indeed a "Top-Rated" organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a member of the Gentlemen's society and also served as a "big brother" to a young boy staying at the Stone House. The house provides vital shelter for women in terrible situations and helps them rebuild their lives in ways they absolutely would not be able to without ESH. The residents I have gotten to know are always happy and smiling and all of them are making great strides to getting their lives back on track through taking classes and participating in provided workshops. I will always stay involved with this charity and support battered women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers