Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.968755
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I started working with the Elizabeth Stone House (ESH) as a volunteer hiker, raising money for the organization. Through the hike, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the women whose lives had been changed by the services offered by the ESH. The personalized approach to each woman's situation and needs is really unique. I like that the goal is to help women lead independent lives, and be the best parents they can be. And the continued support for women and their children after they leave the ESH ensures long-term success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have volunteered with the Elizabeth Stone House since 2009. My first experience was as a hiker in the 2009 Wilderness Heals Fundraiser. I was immediately impressed not only by the wonderful staff, and the work that they do, but also by the personal stories of the residents. The Stone House involves many former residents in community outreach and fundraising efforts -- a policy that empowers the women and validates the organization. Since 2009, I have continued to volunteer with ESH as a team leader for the Wilderness Heals event and, occasionally, as a helping hand for events held onsite. In addition to being a strong voice for struggling families, ESH also seems to be a Learning Org. In other words, the Stone House is always looking for ways to reflect and improve upon the services they provide, and the manner by which they provide them. The leadership in the organization actively pursues feedback from everyone, including funders, donors, volunteers, employees, clients, and community members. This is indeed a "Top-Rated" organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a member of the Gentlemen's society and also served as a "big brother" to a young boy staying at the Stone House. The house provides vital shelter for women in terrible situations and helps them rebuild their lives in ways they absolutely would not be able to without ESH. The residents I have gotten to know are always happy and smiling and all of them are making great strides to getting their lives back on track through taking classes and participating in provided workshops. I will always stay involved with this charity and support battered women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

My fraternity has been able to get involved with the elizabeth stone house. We have had multiple canned food and supplies drives and last year participated in their adopt a family program around christmas time. We have enjoyed these projects and hope to continue volunteering for the house.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I have been involved with the Elizabeth Stone House since 2008. They are a remarkable organization in that they continuously look at what they're doing and assess whether or not it is the most effective way to help it's clients. ESH continues to grow as an agency and provides support to families in countless ways. Their mission reflects the agency's efforts to provide resources that promote positive change for any individual who may need it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

The Elizabeth Stone House is a terrific organization. They offer a broad range of services and support for the families and individuals they serve with transitional house, domestic violence shelter and other supportive services. The Stone House staff focus on the needs of the individuals and work hard to provide what that individual person/family needs. That can range from personal finance training, child rearing support, addiction recovery services and simply a chance to confide in and share their stories, aspirations and challenges.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

My wife and I have been connected to and have contributed in several ways to Elizabeth Stone House over the years, and we entirely support their efforts to assist women and families in need of help at very difficult times in their lives. My personal ways of contributing have included participating as actively as I can in the work of the so-called Gentle Men's group, both through on-site events to bring food and entertainment to the residents of Elizabeth Stone House and through extended conversations and discussions with some of the residents (including many of the children) who have always shown themselves to be open and friendly, despite their difficult circumstances. We also support financially the Wilderness Hikes organized by Elizabeth Stone house, which are a positive challenge to some of the women and can represent an enormous achievement in their lives to complete. The staff have always shown themselves to be very welcoming and very appreciative of these relatively small contributions to the work of the Elizabeth Stone House.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Since joining the board 3 year ago, I have been amazed by the staff at the stone house and the dedictaion they have for improving the lives of each and every person who walks through the door for help! It has been a pleasure to watch the stone house grow and I am looking forward to watching it develop in the furture.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

As a public relations agency, we have worked with dozens of non-profit organizations and the Elizabeth Stone House ranks among the best. The staff of the Stone House is always thinks of the impact on its clients with every decision it makes. Every member of the staff that I have met is working together to make a difference in the lives of the families they serve. Watching the people they have served (primarily women) come back to help the organization and others in the community after they have been able to get their own lives back on track is proof the Stone House is truly impacting lives for the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

The Elizabeth Stone House is a great organization, with dedicated staff, that works hard to serve its clients and the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers