Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

I am a volunteer fundraiser for the Elizabeth Stone House through Wilderness Heals. What keeps me coming back is the fact that this organization really supports its clients, in many ways and in ways that allow individual success. The Stone House is a journey for its clients, not just a quick fix. Keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I became aware of the Elizabeth Stone House through one of their employees and have been impressed with there structure and goals every since. They have created an environment that develops a connection to clients that makes it possible for them to believe they can change their life for themselves and their children. I think beside be very well organized with an exceptional staff they have not stray from their goal which is the improvement of the life and future of the individuals and families they work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people aware of the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

Over the past several years I have both donated financially and voluteered with the Thanksgiving dinner and the Spring for Change Award celebration. I continue to find this to be a remarkable organization with their continued focus on helping the women and children within the Boston area to overcome challenges, build their confidence and position them for a successful future. The staff and volunteers are consistently looking for opportunities to improve the programs to optimize the desired impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

I have raised money for the Stone House through the Wilderness Heals fundraiser for 5 years now and have always been impressed with this organization. The entire staff is committed to fulfilling their mission and every time I go to the Stone House I see this shine through in the conversations I hear, the programming taking place and the work that is being done. I can't imagine NOT giving to this incredible nonprofit and supporting the important work that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

This was my fifth summer hiking for the Elizabeth Stone House and my first "season" working with their new SOLES volunteer group supporting their annual Wilderness Heals fundraising hike.

ESH has never ceased to impress me. They work hard to not only serve the community but to continue
improving their services and their results. Every time I hear from them, there's always a landmark update to share and a goal for the future. In five short years, the hike alone has grown, and it now has its own five-year planning committee and its own source of volunteer support (SOLES). The staff and board are effective, knowledgeable, friendly, and some of the hardest working people I've ever known.

More than anything, the words of ESH residents highlight the impact this organization has on the community and on individuals. Every resident I've heard speak shares how empowered she feels, how glad she is to have her life back, and how much she owes to ESH and its staff for helping her take control again.

I can't think of a better organization to serve and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

I've raised funds for the Elizabeth Stone House by participating on the Wilderness Heals hike for the past 3 summers. And I've served on the ESH Board of Directors for 1 year. The organization provides life-saving services to women and their children, and also provides programs and support to over 800 people in the community each year. It is a most exciting time for the ESH -- a new facility will eventually be built a few blocks from the current site, that will dramatically increase the programs that ESH can offer.
I am proud to be affiliated with the Elizabeth Stone House. Employees of the ESH are some of the most dedicated, professional, and caring people I've had the pleasure to meet. They are helping women change their lives, gain independence, and raise healthy, happy families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage all to donate to the ESH Capital Campaign to build a new facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The Elizabeth Stone House is a unique community asset to the families it serves. As a retired social worker I am impressed by the service model that the ESH follows. Every action and interaction with the families is directed towards fostering self-responsibility ,autonomy, family integrity and independence. It is a soul-satisfying pleasure to donate time, expertise , and money to this incredible endeavor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ESH's people, be they board members, volunteers, employees or beneficiaries (women, men, children and families), are an inspiration. The passion to improve lives is palpable when you meet them, but especially when you set foot at ESH. It is with great pleasure that I donate money and volunteer time to this organization and I would highly recommend that others do the same. I would also recommend visiting the Stone House, because a picture is worth a thousand words, but the live visual is worth millions.

All in all, it may be easier to donate to well known charities, but the truth is that you don't know exactly where your dollar goes. With ESH, you see your dollars in action and you see how much help just one of them can provide. As for volunteering, any amount of time is welcomed and you are always greeted with a happy face and a hug.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have had the opportunity to work with the Elizabeth Stone House over the past 2+ years. Their dedication and devotion to helping the women and childeren through challenging times is commendable. They work side by side to build confidence in the participants and provide the needed support structure to help get the family back on the right track.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I donate and occasionally volunteer at Elizabeth Stone House. They are doing wonderful things for the women and children in their community and their dedication grows each year with new programs and soon a new facility. The whole team is wonderful.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers