Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

I write this review from the perspective of a donor who has been working with ESH over the past year. ESH's staff is extremely responsive and easy to work with. It is refreshing to work with individuals that are motivated by their passion to help others, and therefore can drive positive relationships with businesses to benefit their clients. The staff is great about providing direction and feedback which really offers a sense of connection to the House. Out of all my donations or charity activities the ones made with ESH have been the most impactful as there is such a direct connection between the staff and the program they run. I would encourage other businesses and people to get involved with ESH as donors as it has proven to be an extremely rewarding experience for both parties involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility in the communtiy and among local businesses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

As a new volunteer at The Elizabeth Stone House, only starting 6 months ago, I have been amazed at how dedicated and passionate the Staff and Board Members are to the women and children of ESH. I recently had the pleasure of attending a dinner in honor of the beneficiaries ESH supports and hear about each and every woman's accomplishments thus far. Being present at the dinner allowed me the opportunity to see first hand how important ESH's mission is to their fellow beneficiaries. ESH is changing people's lives in a significant way and I am sincerely blessed to play a small part in this amazing organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2012

I've beeen involved with the Elizabeth Stone House for over four years now. First as a donor, then as a volunteer and I just became a board member this year. Elizabeth Stone House makes a difference... more

June 18, 2014

Elizabeth Stone House has some of the most dedicated and results-oriented staff in the non-profit world in my opinion. They are truly focused on their mission of helping both families and individuals impacted by domestic violence, substance abuse and mental illness resolve their issues and become independent and productive individuals. The staff at ESH sets goals with its residents and monitors their progress. They are an important force within the Roxbury, MA community and they make a difference every day.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2012

I've beeen involved with the Elizabeth Stone House for over four years now. First as a donor, then as a volunteer and I just became a board member this year. Elizabeth Stone House makes a difference in the lives of its clients and I've seen this first hand. One of our board members is a former resident of the Stone House and her story as well as the story of many others is inspiring. Both the staff and the board of Elizabeth Stone House are very committed individuals trying to make a difference every day in the lives of their residents and in the local community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

I started working with the Elizabeth Stone House (ESH) as a volunteer hiker, raising money for the organization. Through the hike, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the women whose lives had bee... more

May 9, 2014

The Elizabeth Stone House provides a holistic approach to helping women and their children find independence. In addition to mental health and addiction treatment services, the ESH teaches fiscal responsibility and all of the practical skills needed to become productive and successful in living independently. In addition to the domestic violence shelter and transitional housing program, hundreds of community members receive support and services from the ESH. It is amazing how much the staff can do with their limited resources -- they are incredibly dedicated. I am proud to be affiliated with the ESH.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to meet more community need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2012

I started working with the Elizabeth Stone House (ESH) as a volunteer hiker, raising money for the organization. Through the hike, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the women whose lives had been changed by the services offered by the ESH. The personalized approach to each woman's situation and needs is really unique. I like that the goal is to help women lead independent lives, and be the best parents they can be. And the continued support for women and their children after they leave the ESH ensures long-term success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I love working with the staff of ESH and helping the beneficiaries of ESH reach their self-sufficiency goals. This organization is staffed with people who work very hard for the wellbeing of not just the folks that reside at ESH, but also of the community as a whole. ESH tries, and succeeds, in teaching folks to be better informed about domestic violence, substance abuse, and mental illness, but also helps the children of those impacted by these societal ills to learn to stop the cycles that tend to come along when dealing with such ills. I have been involved with ESH for 5+ years now and have nothing but positive things to say about this organization. I can only hope that more folks in the Commonwealth and beyond learn about the wonderful mission of ESH and help ESH accomplish its goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been a Board member for the Elizabeth Stone House for 2 years now and I continue to be impressed by this organization's Staff and Board with regard to their commitment and skill in serving those individuals and families whose lives have been effected by domestic violence. ESH is a high functioning organization that makes a significant contribution to both its residents and its neighboring community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I've been the independent auditor for Elizabeth Stone House for 20 years, and have enjoyed watching this fine Organization continue to evolve and grow as a leader in the domestic violence field. ESH continues to excel in finding ways to empower people to reclaim their lives and their independence. My hat is off to the amazing dedicated team and Board of ESH.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

Great place to volunteer. The staff really cares about the residents and what they do there more

September 12, 2013

I have been volunteering at the Stone House since I was in high school along with a few of my childhood friends (15 years now). It is a great organization that gives people a second chance. Watching what they do and the dedication of their staff is truly inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

Great place to volunteer. The staff really cares about the residents and what they do there

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2012

I donate and occasionally volunteer with Elizabeth Stone House because the services they provide give people a shot in life. The women and children dealing with domestic violence aren't worried about ... more

September 4, 2013

I volunteer at and donate to Elizabeth Stone House because their efforts give people a chance in life. They take people in dire circumstances, often victims of domestic abuse - women, children, and some men - and strive to not only deliver them from their predicaments but give them a foundation to succeed. And they have programs in place to help people sustain their improved lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2012

I donate and occasionally volunteer with Elizabeth Stone House because the services they provide give people a shot in life. The women and children dealing with domestic violence aren't worried about acing a math test to become an engineer, practicing to become a star baseball player, or working with other community members to improve their neighborhood. They are trying to avoid the next acute trauma, they are wondering where their next meal might come from...The Elizabeth Stone House gives them a chance to live a life of freedom, rather than being controlled, a chance to thrive, rather than working hard to simply survive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

What a pleasure it's been for us to be a part of "whats happening" @ ESH. We are involved with getting the hikers up to the mountains for their annual hike.It's been many years since we started performing this service.... the reason for that is because it's their biggest fund raising...however we truly feel blessed by being a small part of these women living @ ESH ( w/ children) getting an opportunity for a new beginning and everyone needs an opportunity to be what they were created to be...thank you Elizabeth Stone House for your continued service and for having the heart to perform all that it takes

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers