Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.823535
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

I would like to commend the organization for stepping up and helping young ladies to understand their value and worth through mentoring. My daughter is also a current member of the group and she looks... more

November 13, 2012

What can't I say about Elizabeth Haven? For over two years, I have had the opportunity to volunteer with a great group of individuals to bring inspiration and direction to various young ladies. These young ladies are taught invaluable life lessons that will bring personal development from home to education to careers. They learn how to care, share, and nurture relationships with one another, family members and other friends. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity to be a volunteer for LIFE!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

I would like to commend the organization for stepping up and helping young ladies to understand their value and worth through mentoring. My daughter is also a current member of the group and she looks forward to spending time with other young ladies where she doesn't have to compete, but share experiences. Vicky, thank you for allowing us to be a part of Elizabeth Haven.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter has more of a positive outlook in school and everyday life. She is excited to experience what it could be like when she attends college.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to reach a broader spectrum of the inner city or less fortunate children, both male and female.

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Elizabeth Haven does so much more than take girls on summer trips to visit college campuses. The organization provides an environment where young girls can develop and grow into strong young women. They have the opportunity to interact with professionals throughout the year, which expands their knowledge. They also participate in college and personal development workshops to prepare them for next steps in their lives. I am honored to serve as volunteer for Elizabeth Haven. I believe in the work they do, and I know it is building confidence and enthusiasm in the lives of the young women it serves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Elizabeth Haven has been such a tremendous blessing to the community in the Greenspoint and Spring area of Houston, TX. I'm sure this program will touch the lives of even more young teen girls beyond Houston. These young ladies have been introduced to the world of education, and has given them the gift of dreaming. They have had the pleasure of visiting and lodging in college dormitories here in Houston, trips to New York, Denver, Washington DC, and more to come. Visiting Colleges all free of charge to the girls. Victoria Ochiche works tirelessly to make this happen for these young ladies. Yes, I recommend Elizabeth Haven to the surrounding Communities and the world!! I have truly enjoyed being a volunteer to see lives changed up close and personal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

Awesome program for young girls to be involved in to learn about education and to teach life lessons for adult hood.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

The experinces this organization provide for young ladies are phonomenal! The self esteem and charater building has been vital to our community. My daughters have participated in several of the events sponsored by this organization and the staff and other volunteers left an ever lasting impression on my daughter that changed her attitude and prespective on the direction of her life. I am eternally grateful for this organization and wish the group becomes larger to have a greater impact on our youth. Well done Elizabeth Haven Community Projects!!!!!!!! Thanks for your service to our community and our youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

I HAVE BEEN RAISING MONEY FOR THIS ORGANIZATION WITH MY COMPANY FOR A FEW YEARS BECAUSE WE BELEIVE IN THE WORK ELIZABETHHAVEN IS DOING WITH YOUNG GIRLS. I HAD THE PLEASURE OF WORKING WITH THEM IN 2010 AS A VOLUNTEER IN DENVER CO I WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH ALL OF THE GIRLS AND THEIR BEHAVIOR AND EVERYTHING THE ORGANIZATION IS HELPING THE GIRLS WITH. I WILL CONTINUE TO DO WHAT I CAN FOR THE ORGANIZATION.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

WHEN THEY CAME TO DENVER CO AND STAYED AT THE COLLEGE FOR A WEEK AND I HELPED WITH MEALS, THE GIRLS AND THE OTHER VOLUNTEERS REALLY APPRECIATED MY HELP AND THANKED ME FOR MY MY HELP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ADD MORE PEOPLE TO HELP RAISE MONEY SO THEY COULD DO MORE THINGS WITH THE GIRLS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

NOTHING

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

DEFINITELY NEW FRIENDS , AND ALSO I WAS ABLE TO SEE HOW THE OTHER VOLUNTEERS WORK AND HOW THE ORGANIZATION WORKS

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

PROUD

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 21, 2011

more

April 21, 2011

This is a great organization. I believe the impact of the girls being exposed to life on a college campus alone is worth the time spent making that happen. These young ladies are being given an opportunity I never had. I think if I had this camp when I was younger, I would have made some different choices because I would have known what was really available.
Above the great experience, these girls are learning communication and interpersonal skills to help them express their individual personalities with a greater respect for others as well.
I'm mostly grateful that these young ladies are being provided experiences outside of their current reality and out of their state. The first few years of the camp, the organization stayed on college campuses here in Texas. Last year was the first year the camp went out of state. Beyond recognizing college is an option, these girls now recognize the importance of finding a college which is a good fit for their life, their career pursuits and to find a college which specializes in their major. This has opened up eyes to out of state opportunities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As anyone who volunteers knows, we may expect to give out and never think how much we will learn and grow from the experience. Being at camp last year helped me to have more confidence in my individuality. I'm still learning how not to people please and this gave me an opportunity to grow in that area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see this organization expand it's current scope of summer camp to quarterly and eventually monthly gatherings to support these young ladies in education, faith-based experiences, extra-curricular activities and college and career planning. It would be great to see and support them more than the one week during camp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This volunteer experience made me feel joy.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

I had a phenomenal experience working with Elizabeth Haven. When I came in, I was ready and willing to help as a camp counselor, however, not only did I have a chance to help the girls, they also helped me. Their appreciation for the program is something that will stay with me for a lifetime. I truly believe that this camp has impacted and will continue to impact these girls in ways that will be seen in years to come!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen some of these girls prior to going to the camp deal with feelings of insecurity, self-esteem, etc., however after the camp, these issues have drastically diminished and in most cases completely disappear. Not only are we a camp counselor for the summer camp, but we follow up and keep in touch with the girls for mentoring!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find a way to provide more funds to the organization so that they could do more!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers