Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2012

WHY STARS ATHLETICS? STARS Athletics is proud to offer a unique program for individuals with special needs from 4 years of age and up. Specialized training designed especially for individuals with de... more

September 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After 28 years in the field of servicing individuals with special needs I continue to be amazed with what has been accomplished with the Elite Stars program. Superior in all aspects of training, coaching, facilities and development, our program continues to soar attracting athletes from over 26 different suburbs. I am elated to have developed and created a program that continues to defy the perception that athletes with special needs cannot be competitively treated and trained like others. The Stars continue to grow in sport, spirit and splendor each day. I am blessed to be surrounded by the countries best athletes and coaches. Go Stars!!
April 10, 2012

WHY STARS ATHLETICS?
STARS Athletics is proud to offer a unique program for individuals with special needs from 4 years of age and up. Specialized training designed especially for individuals with developmental and physical limitations. Designed by a Therapeutic Recreation Specialist,
Personal Trainer and United States Association of Gymnastics Professional, UCA Cheer Professional and ISI/UFSA Skating Professional, the STARS program promises to develop athletes both physically and mentally while maximizing the fun!

Recreational programs promise fun, fitness, socialization and a learning opportunity for families to gain an understanding of healthy lifestyles and the opportunities available to those individuals with special needs. The competitive programs are one-of-a-kind programs that offer elite coaching, great facilities and year-round training and competition opportunities to athletes with special needs. Athletes receive superior certified coaching support and have the opportunity to take part in the outstanding peer coach program, outings, clinics, camps, special events, trips and meets and competitions (locally & across the USA).

STARS Athletics is home to several Special Olympic World Champions, numerous State and District Champions and many other titles in the sport of special needs gymnastics, cheerleading and figure skating. Superior and above the rest, the STARS are the elite for athletes with special needs. Founder Patty Hermann serves on the Special Olympic International Committee representing the USA in the sport of special needs gymnastics.

INDIVIDUAL GOALS. WORLD CLASS RESULTS
The goal of the program is to train athletes in both USAG/UCA/ISI skills and Special Olympic routines; therefore, empowering all athletes to reach their highest possible potential both physically and mentally. Education, training, diet, nutrition, fitness, wellness and community involvement are all a part of this unique training program that works to develop athletes as a whole person. STARS Athletics is about more than just gymnastics, cheerleading and figure skating, it’s about getting more, doing more and being more.

WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT
STARS Athletics specializes in this inclusive training track for a population which is currently not training and/or competing in USAG/UCA/ISI/UFSA skills and events. High intensive “normal” competitive training experiences with extended social opportunities in a “non-segregated” atmosphere is the priority. Certified and trained adult coaches, top notch training environments, trained and highly skilled peer coaches and professionally trained dance instructors are part of the foundation which makes this the place “where champions come to train.” Parents and family members are invited and encouraged to take part in the STARS Parents Club, assist with competitions, and participate in special events and fundraisers.

ARE YOU READY TO MAXIMIZE YOUR POTENTIAL?
Great facilities, fun social environment, certified adult coaches, skilled peer coaches, skilled dance instructors, special events, community shows, outings, specialty clinics, camps, parties, competition opportunities, both local and across the USA, and being a part of a superior sport family. STARS Athletics invites you to join our family where the only thing “special” in our programs is what we offer and the way we do things.

For additional information please contact:
Patty Hermann, CEO & Founder
phermann@elitestars.org or elitestars.org
847-804-3545

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I am an athletic trainer at The Academy of Athletic Advancement, where the Elite Stars come to improve their power, agility and overall fitness. Being involved with such a great program has been truly rewarding. The level of competitiveness each athlete brings to the gym is inspiring and creates a fun environment to be around. The Stars continue to make leaps and bounds at The Academy and I encourage any athletes with special needs to consider the Elite Stars.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

The Elite Stars program is an amazing organization. I currently run the fitness portion of the program. These athletes continue to inspire me with their courage, strength, and determination. We provide them with an environment in which they are not defined by their disability. They learn about success, failure, hard work, and what it takes to be a champion. I am proud to be a part of this organization and would recommend it to any athlete with special needs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

The Elite Stars program is fantastic & services individuals with special needs beyond the scope of traditional services for folks aspiring to get more for their children with special needs. The Stars are nationally known for their high level of training, coaching & skill development. The program enriches & educates all involved-coaches, administrators, athletes, volunteers & families. The continued growth of the program proves it's worth as the Stars are invited across the USA to participate to show others what is capable when given the platform to train & excel. This program is the best in the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help fund it. Currently, this program receives no grants or assistance from the corporate world. Small fundraisers and individual accounts are what makes this organization run. I would love to see some corporate donor assistance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers