Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Patty D'Avolio Herman has founded Elite STARS, it's a foundation for Special Needs Children, they learn gymnastics, cheerleading, swimming, baseball, many activities. Patty and her group also take the children out of town to compete against other teams, her cheerleading group has won many awards, Patty gets so many people including her family involved in her many activities to support her passion. She puts on an annual golf outings as well to raise funds, puts in many many hours for her kids. She should be on Channel 7 for "Someone You Should Know".
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

As a volunteer coach with the Elite Stars I have experienced a lot of life changing lessons that I might not have learned without the help of this wonderful foundation. Patty is an inspiration to many and continues to support and encourage athletes, no matter their difference to branch out, try their best, and always move forward. Just watching what she does with these children makes you love her even more. Without her fire and passion the Elite Stars wouldn't be the same. Although the althletes we work with have special needs, never once have we treated them as if they do. We push them just as hard as we would any other child and that's what makes us different from the rest. Every single athlete loves being around everyone apart of the Elite Stars. It's more of a family than a team. The athletes are more excited for the accomplishments of their peers than for their own achievements and that's what makes it a joy to work with the Stars. Being apart of the Stars has impacted me more than anything. The attitudes of the athletes are impeccable. No matter the obstacle, big or small, nothing is impossible to them and when they do fail, they get back up and just keep on going. These athletes are an inspiration to not just me but anyone who has had the opportunity to be apart of the foundation. I have never been apart of such a loving and accepting community and without the stars I would be lost. This foundation deserves an endless amount of support wether it be donations, attendance to their events or just a simple word to help inform more people of what we do. The Elite Stars deserves recognition for their amazing talent and warm hearts. Nothing beats waking up at 8 am on a Saturday morning to walk into the gym and see the athletes bright eyed and bushy tailed and ready to work.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I have been a peer coach for Elite Stars for a few years now. I think that this organization does an amazing thing for all the athletes involved. I help coach the figure skating team, when i am home from college, and seeing the improvement in each and everyone of those skaters is a truly amazing feeling, which is one of the reason I love to coach. I think that this organization, no matter what team you are on, does truly remarkable things for their athletes. It not only creates friendships between the athletes, but it also builds confidence in them. These athletes know that when they go to practice for Elite Stars that they are going to a safe place that accepts them for who they are.
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I enjoy helping the athletes at elite strive to be the best they can and to Acheive their personal and team goals. They are extremely dedicated competitors and we are all proud of them!
Alex Chmielewski

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I started off volunteering for Elite Stars in high school in 2008. I would attend practices weekly and competitions. Now that I am away at school, I am unable to attend the weekly practices but I still attend the 5 day summer camp in July where I am the head coach for the balance beam. Through this organization I have met so many outstanding people, including other volunteers, family and parents and of course the athletes. This is a program I intend to continue being a part of as long as I can. And I could not imagine not being apart of it. Everyone genuinely cares for one another and each coach is dedicated beyond compare, willing to put in time to get our athletes to national and international competition. I love this team and everything about it. Patty Hermann is the most inspirational person in my life and I am so happy I get to be apart of her life-changing program. Not only does it change the lives of the athletes and families but everyone else involved as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

The Elite Stars is a fantastic program! As a parent of a peer volunteer, I can honestly say that it's not just the athletes who benefit from this program. As far as I can see - it's a win-win for all who are involved in the organization. Every year I look forward to the summer camp performance - to watch the coaches and the athletes in action is a feeling like no other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I started coaching for STARS a couple years ago and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best experiences thus far in my life. Working with children with disabilities has opened my eyes to many amazing things and caused me realize how fortunate I am. The children I've coached are just like any other person and truly do have the kindest of hearts! It is such an amazing feeling knowing that these children look up to you in so many ways not only as a coach but a friend as well. Patty Hermann is also such an inspiring woman and devotes so much of her life to this program that means so much to so many families and volunteers. This organization means the world a lot of its athletes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Coaching for this program has been eye opening. These children look up to us and it feels amazing knowing we can help our athletes go above and beyond. Elite stars is a one of a kind program. Where else can you find people who are willing to treat these kids as athletes. Regardless of their disability, we give them the chance to train and compete in the way that they want to. This program is amazing and I don't know what my life would be without volunteering with them,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

The Elite Stars Program has benefitted me more than I can even describe. I came into the program thinking that I would be doing most of the teaching but in reality I learn so many valuable things from these athletes. I am so blessed to be in the STARS family. The athletes have taught me life lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. From being involved in this program, I have officially decided that I will major in Special Education. I have recruited people to join me in this life changing experience whether they would be participating or coaching. I have been involved in this program since I was 7 and now I'm 17. I have grown up with these kids and they are way more than just the kids I coach they are my favorite people, friends, and teachers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I began coaching for the Elite Stars program 9 years ago at the age of 11. This has truly been a life changing experience and has shaped the person I am today. I cannot thank the Parents and Patty Hermann enough for giving me the opportunity to work with these wonderful athletes. Through coaching STARS I have learned so many qualities that I posses. I will continue to use these as I begin my journey of becoming an adult. This program has helped me get through some of the toughest times in my life because of the overwhelming support from the athletes and their families. I consider each and every one of them as a part of my family. Now that I am in college I have chosen to pursue the career of teaching. A huge reason I came to this decision is because of my experience with STARS. Working with athletes with special needs has shown me how capable anyone can be if approached and taught in the correct way. There are no goals to high or no barriers that stand in their way. Every goal I set for my gymnasts they achieve it and continually blow me away. These are the most dedicated group of athletes I have ever met. I am so blessed to have them in my life and I will never give up on them. I knew I could not go far away for college because I needed to be able to come and coach. Their endless smiles, friendship and love keep me going and brighten up my day. I can never leave a practice without being in a good mood because everyone that is involved in this program is simply amazing. Patty Hermann the founder has taken me in like a daughter and has been a mentor to me as I have grown up. I hope that one day I can be as successful as her and make an impact on the community like she has. I am eternally grateful for the opportunities she and her program have given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers