Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I enjoy helping the athletes at elite strive to be the best they can and to Acheive their personal and team goals. They are extremely dedicated competitors and we are all proud of them!
Alex Chmielewski

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I started off volunteering for Elite Stars in high school in 2008. I would attend practices weekly and competitions. Now that I am away at school, I am unable to attend the weekly practices but I still attend the 5 day summer camp in July where I am the head coach for the balance beam. Through this organization I have met so many outstanding people, including other volunteers, family and parents and of course the athletes. This is a program I intend to continue being a part of as long as I can. And I could not imagine not being apart of it. Everyone genuinely cares for one another and each coach is dedicated beyond compare, willing to put in time to get our athletes to national and international competition. I love this team and everything about it. Patty Hermann is the most inspirational person in my life and I am so happy I get to be apart of her life-changing program. Not only does it change the lives of the athletes and families but everyone else involved as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

The Elite Stars is a fantastic program! As a parent of a peer volunteer, I can honestly say that it's not just the athletes who benefit from this program. As far as I can see - it's a win-win for all who are involved in the organization. Every year I look forward to the summer camp performance - to watch the coaches and the athletes in action is a feeling like no other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I started coaching for STARS a couple years ago and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best experiences thus far in my life. Working with children with disabilities has opened my eyes to many amazing things and caused me realize how fortunate I am. The children I've coached are just like any other person and truly do have the kindest of hearts! It is such an amazing feeling knowing that these children look up to you in so many ways not only as a coach but a friend as well. Patty Hermann is also such an inspiring woman and devotes so much of her life to this program that means so much to so many families and volunteers. This organization means the world a lot of its athletes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Coaching for this program has been eye opening. These children look up to us and it feels amazing knowing we can help our athletes go above and beyond. Elite stars is a one of a kind program. Where else can you find people who are willing to treat these kids as athletes. Regardless of their disability, we give them the chance to train and compete in the way that they want to. This program is amazing and I don't know what my life would be without volunteering with them,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

The Elite Stars Program has benefitted me more than I can even describe. I came into the program thinking that I would be doing most of the teaching but in reality I learn so many valuable things from these athletes. I am so blessed to be in the STARS family. The athletes have taught me life lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. From being involved in this program, I have officially decided that I will major in Special Education. I have recruited people to join me in this life changing experience whether they would be participating or coaching. I have been involved in this program since I was 7 and now I'm 17. I have grown up with these kids and they are way more than just the kids I coach they are my favorite people, friends, and teachers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I began coaching for the Elite Stars program 9 years ago at the age of 11. This has truly been a life changing experience and has shaped the person I am today. I cannot thank the Parents and Patty Hermann enough for giving me the opportunity to work with these wonderful athletes. Through coaching STARS I have learned so many qualities that I posses. I will continue to use these as I begin my journey of becoming an adult. This program has helped me get through some of the toughest times in my life because of the overwhelming support from the athletes and their families. I consider each and every one of them as a part of my family. Now that I am in college I have chosen to pursue the career of teaching. A huge reason I came to this decision is because of my experience with STARS. Working with athletes with special needs has shown me how capable anyone can be if approached and taught in the correct way. There are no goals to high or no barriers that stand in their way. Every goal I set for my gymnasts they achieve it and continually blow me away. These are the most dedicated group of athletes I have ever met. I am so blessed to have them in my life and I will never give up on them. I knew I could not go far away for college because I needed to be able to come and coach. Their endless smiles, friendship and love keep me going and brighten up my day. I can never leave a practice without being in a good mood because everyone that is involved in this program is simply amazing. Patty Hermann the founder has taken me in like a daughter and has been a mentor to me as I have grown up. I hope that one day I can be as successful as her and make an impact on the community like she has. I am eternally grateful for the opportunities she and her program have given me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I volunteer there every saturday when I can. It is a great experiance coach the kids, they want so badly to be a part of something and with this program, they are. All of them are always excited to coome and work hard learing gymnastics and learning important social skills for their lives. I coach the boys and they are a really great group of kids. All the coaches and especially the organizers are so committed, making it such a good program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

In the year 2003, my life with the Elite Stars Program began. This program opened my eyes to how capable ANYONE and EVERYONE is at being a champion. All of the programs, including, gymnastics, dance, ice skating and cheerleading, are all filled with talented special needs athletes. When the Stars walk out onto any competition floor, people cannot help but watch. The talent that leaps off the stage of the dance floor, tumbles across the mat on the gymnastics floor, and flies through the air on the cheer floor all amaze everyone in its presence. The kids on all of these teams are extremely talented and are run to the best potential they can achieve. The coaches set no limits to what the athletes are capable of, but rather goals the coaches know the athletes will reach! You would think as being a coach I would be doing all of the teaching, but this program is set up in such an intelligent way, by Patty Hermann, that the volunteer staff also walks away with new knowledge. The staff learns skills such as nurturing, responsibility, leadership, maturity, independence, creativity and the honor of knowing you are changing someone's life. Most of the volunteers are high schooler's that achieve skills and knowledge that normally do not come until much later in life. These volunteers could be going out, but they choose to hold to their commitment of being their for these amazing athletes! This program helped me to grow and mature in ways that I am so thankful for. There is not one kid or coach who does not look forward to Saturday morning practices! Patty Hermann gives people a chance for their fullest potential in any sport, activity, or leadership role to shine. She truly sticks to her words, "Changing the World of Sports, One Athlete at a Time."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I am the parent of two children who benefit from the Elite STARS Athletic programs. One of my daughters has Down Syndrome and participates in the gymnastics program. My other daughter is a peer coach for the gymnastics program. I can't tell you how much, both of my children benefit from being involved in the gymnastics program. The life experiences that both of them are having, each at a different level, are priceless. Patty Hermann has put together such powerful, life changing experiences for both the special needs athletes and the peer coaching opportunities, it is hard to put into mere words. The programs consist of gymnastics, skating, cheer, dance and power. Each year we have seen great growth in all areas. There is a great sense of family among everyone, from athlete to peer coach, to moms, dads, siblings, friends and relatives. It is with much gratitude that we say "Thank You, Patty for all that you do."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers