Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am writing as the first person to benefit from the residential treatment at the Oasis Empowerment Center. I had struggled with drug addiction for 18 years and even with multiple times in various recovery programs, staying sober was hard because of the lack of long-term help. Thanks to the services that this center provides I have had the time and support needed to learn how to live independently and have received relevant training for jobs. In fact I am now employed by the Oasis Empowerment Center as staff and I am able to share my life experiences with women who have the same struggles as I have had. I look forward to helping more women on Guam overcome this ever increasing island problem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would introduce a community transport service so ladies without transport could call upon us to get them to the outpatient classes held at the center. I would also have more weekend projects and activities for the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I came to the Animu Project needing a way to start new life because I was tired of all the hitting and fighting at home. They took me and my daughter in and gave me lots of help. I forgot what love felt like

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger house

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

After facing significant trauma in my life, coming here was a life changer. The healing that has taken place in my heart is more dramatic and intense than I could have ever imagined. They work with the whole person, in a direct, loving, and relational way. The folks at this fine establishment are changing lives, and impacting the community in a way that is so much larger than their collective ability. They do more than empower, they walk with you through the darkness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double their funding, and expand their organization beyond the islands.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I was a heavy alcoholic and survived high-school pretty much drunk. Then I had trouble holding down a job because I would drink on the job. I ended up homeless and things started to really crash around me. I did not know if I would even live but I did not want to end my life. The Oasis took me in and I started to get my life changed. I did graduate the Oasis and then went off island. Sadly I did not keep sober when I joined family and made new friends. When I got pregnant, my mom got abusive and I came back to Guam and Oasis. Things are better now. Nothing seem easy but I love my little boy and and have a job. I found hope at Oasis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

Before I entered the Oasis, I was a drug addict who was lost and alone,” says recent Oasis graduate Julia Han. “I had a dysfunctional family, was distant from my kids due to my drug addiction, and my friends stopped coming around after I was busted by the DEA.” Julia said she knew it was the time to stop her drug habits, but having no support led her into a depression that resulted into relapse. On her way back to jail she had hit her bottom and seriously contemplated suicide. It was then that she found out about the Oasis through her counselor and probation officer. She entered the Oasis to find a way forward. “The Oasis has taught me to appreciate everything because God has created life for us,” she said. “The Oasis has opened my eyes to being a born again Christian where I realize that everything happens for a reason. The journey I went through was a struggle, but I appreciate my journey because it led me to serve the Lord.” Julia has two biological daughters, seven step-children, and two grandkids. For her the future is to continue with her recovery, work on parenting skills, and live life with God’s help. Julia graduated this month from the six-month residential program, and she is still actively involved with classes, activities, and fund-raisers at the Oasis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

I was the first client at Oasis way back in 2004. I gotta say, I did not have any place to go and I called Allison and the Oasis took me in. It was simple and basic but I got started on a new life. I got my boy back, I got a car, they gave me a job and I even went back to school to become a Social Worker. While I was at Oasis, my life was really growing.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

Ive been disabled all my life but while I was at Oasis, I really stated to earn some money. The folks at Oasis helped me start a business selling periwinkles to landscapers. They helped me get a grant to get started and it was great when we got to sell the plants. I loved making money. Matt and Josie really helped me out. Thank You.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

I was able to share some of my story with on the Oasis prevention outreach at various High Schools. Our rape prevention group has made a significant impact as we talked to many high school youth. One thing that seemed to happen because of me being able to share was that several teens opened up to share their stories. At JFK, the teacher gave the students the chance to write to us and we heard of several who were now drinking to deaden their pain that they experienced by being raped or molested. People need to find healing from their pain, not just a way to cope with it. At Oasis, hearts are healed and lives are being changed. Its not just about learning to get by without drugs or alcohol, it is about becoming whole.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2010

more

May 28, 2010

In 2004, my life was hopeless and in crisis. I was using drugs, and was trapped in a life where i had to sell sex to survive. No longer is that the case. I am now living on my own, I have a job and whats best of all, I have a family. The Oasis is a place where I found that God does answer prayers and makes dreams come true.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, my life is different today because of the healing power of love that is practical.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Unconditional love flows freely, with no strings attached

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help provide mentoring, life-skills training, and recovery sponsorship. Also, we are working on ways to share the stories of the women in their recovery and communicate these through newsletters, web pages, and mail appeals.Saturdays, Oasis ladies are raising funds washing cars to pay their client fees. Come out and get your car washed and grab a sponge and help out. Volunteer