Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2012

I have seen women have hope for their future restored to them through this amazing work and have tangible experience of the love of the living God in their lives. Its an amazing work being achieved he... more

September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am nearing the end of my third visit to the Oasis Empowerment Centre serving the ladies in recovery here. For this trip, a three month one, I had to forfeit my job to enable me to be away for an extended length of time. That is a measure of how I rate the amazing work that is being achieved here. It really is invaluable service and I have seen lives changed as the ladies become free of the addictive mind changing habits that have had a grip on their lives for so very long.
Not only does this establishment serve ladies in recovery but also ladies escaping violent relationships and victims of sex crimes offering a safe place to reside while they piece back together their lives and before moving on into other accommodation. They help their ladies go on to gain employment and suitable and appropriate housing for them and their dependants. Ongoing support is offered enabling and empowering them to be and to remain fully integrated back into their society safely. It is one of the few church organisations that I know of which fruitfully exists to serve their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more accommodation to serve more ladies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2012

I have seen women have hope for their future restored to them through this amazing work and have tangible experience of the love of the living God in their lives. Its an amazing work being achieved here and its impacting many lives in an enormously powerful way. The material used by this ministry is unashamedly Christian and is very powerful. On my first visit to Guam I was witness to many receiving a believers baptism in the ocean, most of those being baptised were recovering addicts of some description. As well as fighting their demons effectively and being equipped with the tools to continue to do that, these ladies often find the only living and active God in the process. It is life changing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2010

I worked for Elim pacific Ministries for about four years. Before that I was a volunteer for about 3 years. It was the best 7 years of my life. There is nothing in life that beats being a part of som... more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the blessing to be a part of this ministry for many years. It has fulfilled the acute desire and heart longing to see homeless, abused, addicted and disabled women and men find freedom, joy, and purpose in life. Before Oasis there was nowhere for them to receive this kind of care. It would break my heart every time I would encounter one of these ladies on the street and have no where to take them. Before the Oasis, a young girl coming out of the hospital to the street, asked me to take her home with me, but I was unable to do so, being homeless myself at the time, ( I have not been homeless since being involved with the Oasis over the last 10 years) this young girl was introduced to a bad crowd and was killed by a person in this group. Had there been an Oasis then, I believe this girl would be alive today. Over the years countless women, children and families have been given a new lease on life and saved from the horrors of a life on the streets. I, being one of them. And for that I am truly grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2010

I worked for Elim pacific Ministries for about four years. Before that I was a volunteer for about 3 years. It was the best 7 years of my life. There is nothing in life that beats being a part of something that is so life changing for a group of people who other wise would have no chance at a better life or any life at all. I was a part of helping women who were coming out of prison or off the streets. Some from terrible abuse. And many other life Issue's. They are given a new chance at life in a beautiful home setting where their material and spiritual needs are met. They learn the tools they need to live a life of victory. It is a long term program from anywhere of 6 months or longer. There is no place else here for these women to go. This is one of the most important nonprofits I support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

With my own life.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Elim Pacific Ministries is not like any other church outreach I have been involved with. Many churches just preach about getting saved so you can go to heaven. It seems that everything they are doing here is about releasing heaven on earth! I know Guam is a rather poor and remote island with a lot of people on welfare. But this ministry believes in changing the world. They have invested in the other Pacific Islands like Pohnpei and the Philippines and Tonga and Nauru. They have worked to transform situations by setting up a recovery center and a job training center too. The work with the disabled has helped many people move forward in life. Now the domestic violence transitional housing program is really changing lives too. This is what its all about!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to get a bigger building. With more space they could help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I worked two summers at Zion Fellowship Church/Oasis Empowerment Center regarding Deaf initiatives on Guam. First summer, i worked as a volunteer and 2nd summer, I worked as an intern. Working with people at this place was a very great and rewarding experiences. They're very friendly and have a great, giving hearts. I would definitely come back and work with them again! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! I love the way it is. Exceeding my expectations often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I came to help at the carwash and found hidden treasures thrift store and became a donor too

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give some regular free advertising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

In the four years that I have been involved at Oasis, I have seen countless lives transformed, including my own. The work Oasis does with women is beyond amazing. I have seen women set free from add... more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Oasis Empowerment Center is a life changing organization that not only helps women overcome their addictions but also builds them up, enabling them to be an asset to society and be able to experience restoration to the relationships damaged by addiction. Oasis not only meets the practical needs of women, such as housing and food, it also brings healing both emotionally and spiritually, giving them the tools necessary to remain clean and sober and succeed in their recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would see to it that it had the funding necessary to multiply the the impact it is having on this island.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2012

In the four years that I have been involved at Oasis, I have seen countless lives transformed, including my own. The work Oasis does with women is beyond amazing. I have seen women set free from addictions, I have seen families restored and I have seen women who once were takers from the system become productive members of society who are giving back to the community. The beauty of Oasis is that they not only help ladies overcome their addictions but they also deal with the root issues which caused these addictions to begin with, thereby truly setting the captive free!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See more funding made available to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

Elim Pacific Ministries is dedicated to Love people where they are at, but not to leave them there. It is wonderful to see how they use a holistic approach to impact the person at the root of the issue so that they can truly start to heal and move forward in their walk with Christ and living in freedom. I love working for Elim Pacific Ministries. I tell everyone I know to come and spend time working here because I know that it will revolutionize their life and the way they minister.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

I came out to help at Oasis when it was first getting started back in 2004. Not only did I love what was happening in the lives of women, my life was changed in the process too. This is a great place to serve and would highly recommend it as a life-changing center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

May 25, 2012

more

May 25, 2012

While I was finishing my degree, I was able to do my internship at Oasis. Elim Pacific Ministires and their many outreaches are making a difference. I loved working with the ladies at Oasis. While I was able to learn a lot and grow as a professional. Watching the ladies overcome addictions and start living in a new way is really powerful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

I work at the Oasis Empowerment Center and it is truly an Oasis for women who are lost and suffering from drug addiction. I have seen family reunification and women get sober. This is a fantastic supp... more

September 5, 2013

Elim Pacific Ministries serves a great need in Guam. From ministry to providing housing for homeless mothers and children, this organization is amazing! There are no other nonprofits or for profits on Guam that serve women in this capacity. Elim Pacific Ministries gives food for the body and food for the soul!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012

I work at the Oasis Empowerment Center and it is truly an Oasis for women who are lost and suffering from drug addiction. I have seen family reunification and women get sober. This is a fantastic supportive system for women and really helps them achieve sobriety in a Christian-focused environment. Many of the ladies receive Christ as their salvation and have that extra support in their sobriety and are able to grasp their dreams again. The heart of the Oasis workers is amazing and many of the staff are prior clients giving back - it is awe-inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help provide mentoring, life-skills training, and recovery sponsorship. Also, we are working on ways to share the stories of the women in their recovery and communicate these through newsletters, web pages, and mail appeals.Saturdays, Oasis ladies are raising funds washing cars to pay their client fees. Come out and get your car washed and grab a sponge and help out. Volunteer