Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am writing as the first person to benefit from the residential treatment at the Oasis Empowerment Center. I had struggled with drug addiction for 18 years and even with multiple times in various recovery programs, staying sober was hard because of the lack of long-term help. Thanks to the services that this center provides I have had the time and support needed to learn how to live independently and have received relevant training for jobs. In fact I am now employed by the Oasis Empowerment Center as staff and I am able to share my life experiences with women who have the same struggles as I have had. I look forward to helping more women on Guam overcome this ever increasing island problem.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would introduce a community transport service so ladies without transport could call upon us to get them to the outpatient classes held at the center. I would also have more weekend projects and activities for the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2012

I have seen women have hope for their future restored to them through this amazing work and have tangible experience of the love of the living God in their lives. Its an amazing work being achieved he... more

September 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am nearing the end of my third visit to the Oasis Empowerment Centre serving the ladies in recovery here. For this trip, a three month one, I had to forfeit my job to enable me to be away for an extended length of time. That is a measure of how I rate the amazing work that is being achieved here. It really is invaluable service and I have seen lives changed as the ladies become free of the addictive mind changing habits that have had a grip on their lives for so very long.
Not only does this establishment serve ladies in recovery but also ladies escaping violent relationships and victims of sex crimes offering a safe place to reside while they piece back together their lives and before moving on into other accommodation. They help their ladies go on to gain employment and suitable and appropriate housing for them and their dependants. Ongoing support is offered enabling and empowering them to be and to remain fully integrated back into their society safely. It is one of the few church organisations that I know of which fruitfully exists to serve their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more accommodation to serve more ladies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2012

I have seen women have hope for their future restored to them through this amazing work and have tangible experience of the love of the living God in their lives. Its an amazing work being achieved here and its impacting many lives in an enormously powerful way. The material used by this ministry is unashamedly Christian and is very powerful. On my first visit to Guam I was witness to many receiving a believers baptism in the ocean, most of those being baptised were recovering addicts of some description. As well as fighting their demons effectively and being equipped with the tools to continue to do that, these ladies often find the only living and active God in the process. It is life changing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2010

I worked for Elim pacific Ministries for about four years. Before that I was a volunteer for about 3 years. It was the best 7 years of my life. There is nothing in life that beats being a part of som... more

September 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the blessing to be a part of this ministry for many years. It has fulfilled the acute desire and heart longing to see homeless, abused, addicted and disabled women and men find freedom, joy, and purpose in life. Before Oasis there was nowhere for them to receive this kind of care. It would break my heart every time I would encounter one of these ladies on the street and have no where to take them. Before the Oasis, a young girl coming out of the hospital to the street, asked me to take her home with me, but I was unable to do so, being homeless myself at the time, ( I have not been homeless since being involved with the Oasis over the last 10 years) this young girl was introduced to a bad crowd and was killed by a person in this group. Had there been an Oasis then, I believe this girl would be alive today. Over the years countless women, children and families have been given a new lease on life and saved from the horrors of a life on the streets. I, being one of them. And for that I am truly grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2010

I worked for Elim pacific Ministries for about four years. Before that I was a volunteer for about 3 years. It was the best 7 years of my life. There is nothing in life that beats being a part of something that is so life changing for a group of people who other wise would have no chance at a better life or any life at all. I was a part of helping women who were coming out of prison or off the streets. Some from terrible abuse. And many other life Issue's. They are given a new chance at life in a beautiful home setting where their material and spiritual needs are met. They learn the tools they need to live a life of victory. It is a long term program from anywhere of 6 months or longer. There is no place else here for these women to go. This is one of the most important nonprofits I support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

With my own life.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Elim Pacific Ministries is not like any other church outreach I have been involved with. Many churches just preach about getting saved so you can go to heaven. It seems that everything they are doing here is about releasing heaven on earth! I know Guam is a rather poor and remote island with a lot of people on welfare. But this ministry believes in changing the world. They have invested in the other Pacific Islands like Pohnpei and the Philippines and Tonga and Nauru. They have worked to transform situations by setting up a recovery center and a job training center too. The work with the disabled has helped many people move forward in life. Now the domestic violence transitional housing program is really changing lives too. This is what its all about!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to get a bigger building. With more space they could help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I worked two summers at Zion Fellowship Church/Oasis Empowerment Center regarding Deaf initiatives on Guam. First summer, i worked as a volunteer and 2nd summer, I worked as an intern. Working with people at this place was a very great and rewarding experiences. They're very friendly and have a great, giving hearts. I would definitely come back and work with them again! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! I love the way it is. Exceeding my expectations often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Oasis Empowerment Center has radically changed my life. Throughout the years my journeys have taken me to Ethiopia, Australia, Philippines, and Mexico where I have worked to help Empower people and facilitate change. Oasis provides a safe place for women who are homeless and suffering from life controlling problems. Every time that i return to Guam and join alongside Oasis I know that I am sure to see lives set free, changed, and restored. I love getting to be apart of change and seeing restoration in a tangible way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We need a house for more women. So many, people are asking for help. Some for short term help, others for longer term help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Reviewing the documentation for this organization has been quite an eye-opener. Other organizations do one or two specific things. But Oasis is helping people get connected to so many main-stream services, in addition to providing effective recovery counseling that changes lives. The ways they help the homeless get housing solutions, the unemployed get job training, the disabled get assistance, the needy get helped. Its quite impressive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I want to work to help increase the collaborative support that is provided from various government agencies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I came to the Animu Project needing a way to start new life because I was tired of all the hitting and fighting at home. They took me and my daughter in and gave me lots of help. I forgot what love felt like

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger house

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I came to help at the carwash and found hidden treasures thrift store and became a donor too

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give some regular free advertising

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 11, 2012

I have been involved with this ministry for 10 years now and love seeing the way lives are changed and hope is restored. Daily we see miracles as inner healing occurs in the lives of people we serve. ... more

September 9, 2013

This is a non profit that aims to give everybody a chance...A place where miracles happen. Where lives are transformed and set on track to be productive members of society. Elim Pacific is located in the heart of the beautiful island of Guam, has been serving the Pacific region for 17 years and aims to continue making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a business administrator

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2012

I have been involved with this ministry for 10 years now and love seeing the way lives are changed and hope is restored. Daily we see miracles as inner healing occurs in the lives of people we serve. Please come by and see for yourself what is happening here at Zion Fellowship, at Oasis Empowerment Center, at Hidden Treasures. Its really great.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am inspired by the heroic acts I see as women face their deepest fears and confront the pain of their past. The journey of recovery is life-changing and as we keep taking the steps inner healing does occur

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money to be able to accomplish more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

This is a place miracles happen.

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help provide mentoring, life-skills training, and recovery sponsorship. Also, we are working on ways to share the stories of the women in their recovery and communicate these through newsletters, web pages, and mail appeals.Saturdays, Oasis ladies are raising funds washing cars to pay their client fees. Come out and get your car washed and grab a sponge and help out. Volunteer