Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12.83333345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 22, 2014

This is such a wonderful place that put their elephants first every day. I have never met more caring group people who have devoted their time to care for elephants. It is such a honor to volunteer for The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was taken back when I first read about The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee. This is one organization that is 100% on board helping the elephants that are in their care. The organization is up front and accountable for everything they do. Their web site explains, in detail, how the sanctuary came about to present day. Emphasis on educating the public about the plight of Elephants in the wild, zoos and circuses is a major goal of theirs that I believe in. I live , not far, from another Elephant sanctuary who's main goal is breeding. I was so disappointed to find out the conditions these Elephants are living in and the misleading information available to the public for this "breeding farm" NOT SANCTUARY!
Yes, I love Elephants and believe that The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee is the best in the United States. I live 11 hrs. away but have dedicated myself to help out in anyway that I can.
Once you check out their web site, you will fall in love with them and form a special relationship and understanding with the Elephants. The Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee is the REAL thing. Check them out--you will not be disappointed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes----they are" above and beyond" in the work that they are doing!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 18, 2014

I went into the trip expecting it to not be very fun but i was very pleasantly surprised. I left with a vastly improved knowledge of elephants and what we can do to help them. I really enjoyed working to help such a good cause and hearing all of the amazing stories of the elephants lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more supplies available but i understand that it is not possible without grants and donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my volunteering experience. I felt as though the Sanctuary staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the elephants and their role in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2014

Volunteering at The Elephant Sanctuary was more than I could ask for. I came along as the staff person for an Alternative Spring Break trip through Appalachian State University. I was told we would probably not event get to see elephants. We saw a ton! It was great seeing them so happy in their environment. During the volunteer week we were able to transplant bamboo for the Elephants, plant fruit bearing trees of Apples and Pears, and plant more grape vines that will be used as treats for the elephants. We also cleaned out a barn that had not been used for about 20 years. Now it can be updated and used for storage and a place for the Elephants to go during poor weather conditions. We also cleaned out a tool shed and raked leaves for the Elephants to eat. We even cut down tree limbs. We did so much more than this...Everything we did we got to see how it was used or it was explained to us how it was used. The orientation when we arrived was so helpful in learning the plight of elephants. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Everyone should be so lucky as to volunteer here. You could tell everyone there loved not just elephants, but all animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them work on PR regarding why it is closed to the public. I don't think the general public understands the reasons behind it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 15, 2014

I am proud to be a part of the support for The Elephant Sanctuarry. They do very important work providing a home for these amazing beings, I feel that my money is well spent, supporting their dedication and exhaustive efforts to make a good life of retirement in nature for our Elephant friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them raise much more money to help even more Elephants get back to the nature that they deserve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 14, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2014

I am passionate that the time has come and gone in our society for animals, especially large and wild animals like elephants, big cats and orcas, to no longer be kept in captivity such as zoos, circuses, and sea shows and exploited for our so-called amusement. While society is not there yet, The Elephant Sanctuary in Hohenwald, TN. has taken a sacred oath to see that captive elephants have a free and unfettered end to their lives in the company of other elephants and away from the eyes of the public. Through the miracles of technology, we, the public, can watch these elephants on the elecam and through the Sanctuary's YouTube videos. It's no longer acceptable to chain these beautiful creatures and make them perform for us. To see them live out their lives with their best friends, other elephants, is magnificent. I believe The Elephant Sanctuary is an amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow allow them to save more elephants and to post more and more wonderful videos.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The folks slamming this nonprofit simply because the ED was ousted.... your pettiness only hurts the organization and the elephants. This is a great nonprofit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Since Carol Buckley was ousted in an ugly coup, the Sanctuary has tenuously maintained a facade of its old self but, in reality, it has been eviscerated. It's run by a board that knows and cares about money, not elephants. There is no one -- no one -- on staff with anything remotely approaching Carol's knowledge of, experience with and deep affinity for elephants.

As to Marcella Smith's comments about Carol: A few years ago Marcella wanted to build a house on property she bought bordering the Sanctuary. To enter her property from the front to build the house would have required her to build a bridge across a stream, which she could not afford. Instead, Marcella wanted construction crews to be able to drive THROUGH part of the Sanctuary habitat to reach her property. Carol refused, given the disruption it would have caused to the elephants and their daily lives. Ms. Smith is obviously still angry.

There are many people who idolized Carol Buckley but, since the coup, have demonized her. Their comments should be taken with a large grain of salt. And those who hold to their belief that nothing has changed at the Sanctuary show their lack of knowledge of the therapeutic process Carol developed there.

I would advise potential donors to stay away from the Sanctuary until Carol Buckley returns.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 28, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am no longer employed as Director of Husbandry at the Sanctuary. I left just a few months after Rob Atkinson, CEO, left. Janice Zeitlin is acting CEO. Susan Mikota is Director of Veterinary Services. [This website asks me to rate the Sanctuary: I do not wish to rate the Sanctuary so I have selected the middle rating in each category and the same number of stars it already had to satiate the demand of the site without meaning to imply any opinion about the sanctuary in my rating.]

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers