Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.927085
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

We meet with them in the Denver Office and learned how El Porvenir helps Nicaragua villagers build there own clean water systems with their own efforts. It is amazing when people have clean water systems it leads to so may other things like latrines, good health in the young and old, education on health, more time for child to go to school and less fetching water out of contaminated sources, preserving the forests, cleaner cooking systems.

I have seen it first hand what the differences is without clean drinking water and with clean drinking water. This program succeeds and sustains through small donations, one dollar at a time. It also saves children's life's, one clean drop at a time. it is impressive how effective El Porvenir by how many villagers now have access to clean water and all the great things that comes with their program.

The Denver group passion is impressive. When we have donated to the cause they have been so fast to correspond with us and thank us for our support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In developing a solar oven project in Nica I happened upon well after well, and newly built lavatories that were built by El Porvenir. I couldn't help but be impressed with the work, and ended up sponsoring a latrine myself. They do the real work that needs doing, as far as I can tell.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2011

I served on the board of directors of El Porvenir for many years. I was very involved in El Porvenir's policy-making, fundraising, staffing, and planning. I visited Nicaragua every year and lived in... more

October 31, 2013

El Porvenir is a serious, transparent, effective development organization working only in Nicaragua, with 20 years' experience in rural water and sanitation project development. I have worked in or visited its projects many times over the past 20 years and am impressed with the integrity of the organization and the long-term impact it has on rural communities. You read a lot of promotional prose on the internet about development organizations, but I can attest from direct personal knowledge that this one really does what it says it does. Nicaragua is a poor country whose government cannot fund infrastructure, but depends on international investment and donations to provide clean drinking water, sanitary facilities, and reforestation of watersheds. El Porvenir has been making such investments in Nicaragua since 1989. These investments are always locally initiated and after self-help construction are left in the hands of the village to maintain and repair. I have seen projects still working well 14 years or more after construction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2011

I served on the board of directors of El Porvenir for many years. I was very involved in El Porvenir's policy-making, fundraising, staffing, and planning. I visited Nicaragua every year and lived in Nicaragua for four years recently. I am very familiar with El Porvenir's history, development, and method of operation in Nicaragua, and feel proud of being part of this organization and its work. I have talked with the people of the villages, especially the women, about the changes in their lives brought about by the new well, the new gravity flow water system (the most dramatic changes), the new latrines, the new lavandero. I have seen and heard the pride and ownership the villagers feel in these projects, which they initiated, built, and continue to care for and use. El Porvenir meets a fundamental human need, supports the initiative and strengths of Nicaraguan people, hires Nicaraguans to carry out its work, and operates with minimal administrative expenditure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting dozens and dozens of villages where El Porvenir responded to local requests for help with specific projects that the people themselves had identified as a need and wanted to build.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want it to be able to expand its operations and work in more regions of Nicaragua. The need for clean drinking water and sanitation is still very great in all rural areas of the country.

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I think that El Porvenir does a great service for Nicaragua and Nicaraguans. It involves the community members to help make improvements to their communities and enrich their lives. The group has a mission to provide clean water in the rural areas by providing education to help themselves making them more independent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any changes that I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I sponsored the construction of a well in my daughters name for a rural community. My daughter passed away as a child and I wanted to help families provide clean drinking water to their children - globally, water born illness is the greatest cause of death for children under five. El Porvenir dedicated a plaque at the base of the well to my daughter. The plaque reads in Spanish so that the residents using the well could remember my daughter in the life giving water. Three years later there continue to be fresh flowers placed upon the plaque daily. This is the greatest and most joyous gift that I have been able to share. The work that this organization does is unsurpassed. They work with local communities to build and maintain structures and in doing so give residents pride and responsibility in the water and sanitation systems that are created. El Porvenir brings donors and volunteers down to Nicaragua to meet with families and see the projects that they have forwarded and they do this with a skeleton administrative budget in order to stretch dollars to where they belong - the families who need and deserve clean water.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase funding in order to expand the work that they do so that more people could be served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My brother has been on the Board of El Porvenir for many years, I think from the beginning. I see his passion and dedication to bringing clean water to the people of Nicaragua. I hear the stories and saw the pictures of his trip to work on the wells. Because of my brother's belief in this work and in it's founder, Carol. I feel good about supporting El Porvenir. I feel it is very people centered in its mission and in its administration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In the 1980s, I worked with an international housing development organization. Friends who were working with the same organization in Nicaragua saw the need that wasn't being met for water and sanitation projects to go along with the housing development projects. El Porvenir was born, out of a community need and a clear vision, and has continued to make a difference in community after community. I know that when I make a donation, it is put to good use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

A wonderful organization that has pioneered bringing clean drinking water on a sustainable basis to some of the most remote areas of Haiti. A rare combination of compassion and cost effectiveness!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its work and its resources

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Since I became aware of this organization, I have been incredibly impressed
And inspired by their work. They bring clean drinking water to do many in need.
I am eager to continue serif the work that they do and the see the lives
That they have impacted.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

El Porvenir is a great non-profit that provides access to clean water and sanitation to many communities in Nicaragua. While the necessity of these fundamental facilities is obvious, what makes El Porvenir great is that it also provides education to the communities, ensures that they have or can save the capital to maintain and repair the facilities, and empowers members of the community to take charge of the projects. This not only increases the sustainability of the projects, but creates a great sense of value and self sufficiency in communities, this coupled with the health benefits and lifestyle improvements that access to clean water and basic sanitation provides can have a tremendous and long lasting impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers