Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.927835
Write A Review
May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

El Porvenir models how to support people and communities to improve their own circumstances. The projects are initiated by the community and El Porvenir supports their plans with volunteers and supplies. They work with people rather than impose their own goals on them. This partnership makes it an affirming experience for everyone involved. I will go again soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a sponsor to launch a national fundraising campaign in the U.S..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

In 2012, I took a trip with El Porvenir to the Camoapa region of Nicaragua. I was 18 years old, and went by myself. I didn't know anyone, I speak VERY little Spanish, and had no idea what to expect. It was an absolutely eye-opening experience! To see the heart of the people in Nicaragua, and also the heart of El Porvenir was so amazing. I hold that trip very dear to my heart, and share my experience with everyone that lets me share it with them.

I can't wait until I have the opportunity to go back to Nicaragua with El Porvenir!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Our church has been involved with El Porvenir for several years, 2 Mission Trips and one I personally went on. We have been very impressed with the whole organization, from the person organizing the trips, local office here in Denver, the guides in Nicaragua, the building project folks they 'contract'--I do not have one negative thing to say about the whole organization. They make conditions better for the people of Nicaragua and I am proud to be a very small part of that. The Nicaraguans help with the projects as well and are so appreciative of our help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 19, 2012

This was my second trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir. We brought a friend with us. It is a fabulous opportunity to work with a grass roots organization providing life saving WATER!!!! A lot of hard... more

October 30, 2013

I have traveled to Nicaragua 3 times to work on water projects. I love that El Porvenir requires community participation. There is so much pride involved when people have a personal investment. My children don't a buy me presents for Holidays anymore. They donate to El Porvenir in my honor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2012

This was my second trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir. We brought a friend with us. It is a fabulous opportunity to work with a grass roots organization providing life saving WATER!!!! A lot of hard work, a lot of fun! We will go back next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2011

November 2010 my husband and I spent 10 days on a latrine brigade in El Sauce with El Porvenir. it was the BEST service project I have ever been on. Well organized, safe, efficient, friendly. We worked hard, laughed a lot, and made new friends. And, we put in 13 latrines! A hand up, not a hand out. That's what I experienced. Carol Atwell

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By participating in a brigade to build latrines in Puente Ocho, Nicaragua

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no idea.

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

El Porvenir's vision is clear and executed well. Starting with a mission of clean water for rural Nicaragua, they saw how sanitation, deforestation and a lack of education on these issues was impacting their clean water mission. They expanded their work to address these issues to support sustainable sources of clean water.

With only a one in-country gringo and a few stateside, they built an organization run by Nicaraguans, designed their mission as technical assistance to a local community that has an active role in their project. El Porvenir follows up with the community on each project and uses simple technology that can be maintained locally and is sustainable.

Volunteers can get involved in work projects that are well organized, informative, and transformative.

Overhead is low so donations have a big impact on the people it is intended to help

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility in developed nations so that El Provenir would have more money to assist more rural Nicaraguans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband and I have volunteered on projects run by several different organizations. But the water project we worked on in Nicaragua with El Porvenir was by far the best organized, most smoothly run, and truly inclusive project of any we have experienced. The people from the village participated in the decision making and we worked side by side with them building a lavenders and shower stall. El Porvenir does not stop its support with the end of the building. It returns to visit the people, make sure the equipment is maintained, and trouble shoots for years to come. El Porvenir is an outstanding organization.

Sheila and Ed Rogers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization! When my son was 14 I traveled with him to Nicaragua with El Porvenir for a service trip to build latrines in a village near Dario. We were a group of Oberlin College graduates, eclectic as can be, accompanied by an Oberlin professor with expertise as a researcher in Nicaragua and parts of Central America. What a time we had! Another mother came with her son near in age to mine, and the boys worked side by side with the adults and were the hit of the community we worked with. Impressive to me was how well organized the trip was, from meeting us at the airport (in a beat-up Russian made mini-truck, but how appropriate!) to take us to the hotel, where the electricity was out but candles led our way. Our interpreter was wonderful, local hosts and planner all excelled in what they did. The side trips to see the coffee plantation and other sites made it a rich experience. I appreciated a trip of value, the opportunity to help my son learn about service, and that we lived and ate not as outsiders, but with villagers. Also appreciated that we worked side-by-side with villagers, and that there was local capacity building to sustain clean water and sanitation systems. Great all around experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can they turn-key train others to start similar organizations in other countries? How can capacity be built to do similar work in other places?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband, Doug Beaman, and I went to Nicaragua with El Porvenir and helped to build a water well for a small village and an elementary school near El Saulse. We have talked to hundreds of people about the value of volunteering with the wonderful organization of El Porvenir to help the amazing people of Nicaragua. The people in the village worked so hard to build this well. We were happy that our team could fill in for about ten villagers who could continue with their regular farming and jobs on the days we worked. After graduating high school two years ago our grandson, Matt Beaman, who had heard our stories, also went with El Porvenir to do reforestation in Nicaragua. He loved it as much as we did! My favorite memory is of the poetry written by the Nicaraguan people in celebration of their new well!! Chyril Turner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir was marvelous! It was exciting to see communities working together with third-world technology to improve their health, nutrition and the environment with very simple tools. Perhaps, we in the US could take some lessons from these dear people. I hope I can go again in some capacity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek to implement some of their strategies elsewhere on the planet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found El Porvenir to be a top-notch organization. They were well organized, friendly and clear about their mission. I participated in a week-long build of a laundry station [a laundry tray/wash board with a small attached water reservoir] and an enclosed shower. Previous builds had produced an outhouse and a water well, both of which were well maintained. They had safe water to drink and cook.
The people who were receiving these items worked side by side with us, and much harder than we could physically. They had already dug a large hole to become a storage tank for the used water, so it would seep slowly through the soil back into the water table. Previously the families had used fields as toilets and washed clothes and their bodies in the local stream, which polluted the water. Our families had already started the next phase of El Porvenir's mission: planting 4000 to prevent erosion and hold the water in the ground instead of flooding away during heavy rains.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's been two years and I haven't thought of one. We worked hard, but had adequate time to rest and drink water and eat snacks morning and afternoon and a hot lunch each noon cooked by the families that would use the laundry and shower. At dinner we went to a local restaurant for a typical local dinner. There was plenty of food and several dishes included. The last Saturday we could go on a ropes course.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers