Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.927835
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

A wonderful organization that has pioneered bringing clean drinking water on a sustainable basis to some of the most remote areas of Haiti. A rare combination of compassion and cost effectiveness!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its work and its resources

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Since I became aware of this organization, I have been incredibly impressed
And inspired by their work. They bring clean drinking water to do many in need.
I am eager to continue serif the work that they do and the see the lives
That they have impacted.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

El Porvenir is a great non-profit that provides access to clean water and sanitation to many communities in Nicaragua. While the necessity of these fundamental facilities is obvious, what makes El Porvenir great is that it also provides education to the communities, ensures that they have or can save the capital to maintain and repair the facilities, and empowers members of the community to take charge of the projects. This not only increases the sustainability of the projects, but creates a great sense of value and self sufficiency in communities, this coupled with the health benefits and lifestyle improvements that access to clean water and basic sanitation provides can have a tremendous and long lasting impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered for an El Porvenir work vacation via Elderhostel (now Road Scholar). We elders constructed a lavandero, a laundry station in a poor rural community. We learned a lot and had so much fun in the process that our group volunteered together for several more times. The great thing is that all projects are interrelated, and each step follows logically - latrine construction with uphill reforestation and the making of fuel-saving stoves; lavandero construction after well construction; graywater treatment after lavandero construction.... All projects are requested by the local people, and education is provided by El Porvenir. Much of the "advertising" of El Porvenir is word of mouth from members of communities who have benefitted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand services to the Atlantic Coast communities

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

H2O for Life engages youth across the country to investigate the global water crisis while taking action to raise funds to provide water, sanitation and hygiene education to schools in developing countries. El Porvenir is our NGO partner in Nicaragua. They provide a school to school connection with photos, project desriptions and stories about life in one school. Over the past 6 years, H2O for Life has donated more than $80,000 for projects through El Porvenir. I personally volunteered on a "work" team and know that the work being done is making a difference for schools and communities in Nicaragua.

They are one of our TOP NGO partners that we have worked with. We can't imagine doing our work without including El Porvenir as a top provider of schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provision of GPS coordinates to all school projects that would help our US schools be able to locate the exact school location within the country. More photos- But- El Porvenir is at the top of the bar for our NGO partner relationships.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a Nicaraguan now living in the US, my family and I in Nicaragua have been personally impacted by the work carried out by El Porvenir. El Porvenir built the first water well in my town of Puertas Viejas. As a child, my brothers and I had to get up every morning at 4:00 am to get water and had to carry it in buckets on our heads from wherever we could find it for consumption and to do the housechores. Some times we had to drink the contaminated water from the lake or a nearby creek, but that was the only water that was available. When El Porvenir built the waterwell we finally had clean water to drink, bathe and do the house chores without us kids spending hrs and hrs carrying water to our homes. Instead, we could dedicate more time to our school work and to help our parents with other house chores.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything. They are doing an amazing job.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I funded a project in Cana Brava, Nicaragua through El Porvenir. The purpose of the project was a way to honor our son. In March of 2013, we visited the site and were accompanied by their staff. We were very pleased with our project, their staff, and the community that welcomed us.

I would highly recommend anyone considering a water project, whether through a school, church, or personal reason to consider El Porvenir. They are very passionate about helping people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not Change a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have contributed for many years.
El Porvenir helps rural communities in Nicaragua to build wells and latrines. Most of the labor is local, but EP also organized work trips from donor groups.
El Porvenir seems to be very cost effective. They are also very good about letting us know
we are appreciated, even with phone calls.
Clean water is important to us, and we like to be part of an organization that brings clean water to those who need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send less mail. We prefer our money goes to work, rather than postage.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our church, St. Michael & All Angels, Portland, Oregon, has been sending work crews to Nicaragua for many years through the El Porvenir program. The teams have built technologically appropriate and sustainable water supply, sanitation, and wash facilities in rural villages that struggle to maintain clean water supplies. The personal transformation in the people who have done this work is evident and it furthers our personal commitment to ministry through actions to help people in need. I have been a donor and fund raiser for El Porvenir, including making them my charity of choice in fundraising in connection with a marathon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it better known. They do great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with El Porvenir since 1995, and have served on its board since 1999. I'm a teacher now, but I was trained in economic geography and rural development, and I have lived, worked and/or done research in a number of Latin American countries, including Nicaragua. El Porvenir is without a doubt one of the most effective organizations of its kind that I have encountered, thanks to its self-help methodology, integrated approach, incredibly dedicated staff and focus on results. The many U.S. high school students I have taken to work on EP projects have seen that amazing things are accomplished when local residents are enabled to better their communities. Most of my students report that the experience has changed their lives. In working with villagers and hearing their stories firsthand, they invariably conclude that EP is the "real deal."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the many water, sanitation, and reforestation projects that I have worked on or visited over the past 16 years; in the tangible improvements (wells, latrines, trees, etc.) that my eyes can see and my hands can touch; and most importantly in the stories the beneficiaries/participants (village residents) tell of how these projects have improved their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand to other regions of Nicaragua, and perhaps someday to other countries in the region.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers