Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.927835
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

El Porvenir's vision is clear and executed well. Starting with a mission of clean water for rural Nicaragua, they saw how sanitation, deforestation and a lack of education on these issues was impacting their clean water mission. They expanded their work to address these issues to support sustainable sources of clean water.

With only a one in-country gringo and a few stateside, they built an organization run by Nicaraguans, designed their mission as technical assistance to a local community that has an active role in their project. El Porvenir follows up with the community on each project and uses simple technology that can be maintained locally and is sustainable.

Volunteers can get involved in work projects that are well organized, informative, and transformative.

Overhead is low so donations have a big impact on the people it is intended to help

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their visibility in developed nations so that El Provenir would have more money to assist more rural Nicaraguans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband and I have volunteered on projects run by several different organizations. But the water project we worked on in Nicaragua with El Porvenir was by far the best organized, most smoothly run, and truly inclusive project of any we have experienced. The people from the village participated in the decision making and we worked side by side with them building a lavenders and shower stall. El Porvenir does not stop its support with the end of the building. It returns to visit the people, make sure the equipment is maintained, and trouble shoots for years to come. El Porvenir is an outstanding organization.

Sheila and Ed Rogers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization! When my son was 14 I traveled with him to Nicaragua with El Porvenir for a service trip to build latrines in a village near Dario. We were a group of Oberlin College graduates, eclectic as can be, accompanied by an Oberlin professor with expertise as a researcher in Nicaragua and parts of Central America. What a time we had! Another mother came with her son near in age to mine, and the boys worked side by side with the adults and were the hit of the community we worked with. Impressive to me was how well organized the trip was, from meeting us at the airport (in a beat-up Russian made mini-truck, but how appropriate!) to take us to the hotel, where the electricity was out but candles led our way. Our interpreter was wonderful, local hosts and planner all excelled in what they did. The side trips to see the coffee plantation and other sites made it a rich experience. I appreciated a trip of value, the opportunity to help my son learn about service, and that we lived and ate not as outsiders, but with villagers. Also appreciated that we worked side-by-side with villagers, and that there was local capacity building to sustain clean water and sanitation systems. Great all around experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

can they turn-key train others to start similar organizations in other countries? How can capacity be built to do similar work in other places?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband, Doug Beaman, and I went to Nicaragua with El Porvenir and helped to build a water well for a small village and an elementary school near El Saulse. We have talked to hundreds of people about the value of volunteering with the wonderful organization of El Porvenir to help the amazing people of Nicaragua. The people in the village worked so hard to build this well. We were happy that our team could fill in for about ten villagers who could continue with their regular farming and jobs on the days we worked. After graduating high school two years ago our grandson, Matt Beaman, who had heard our stories, also went with El Porvenir to do reforestation in Nicaragua. He loved it as much as we did! My favorite memory is of the poetry written by the Nicaraguan people in celebration of their new well!! Chyril Turner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My brother has been on the Board of El Porvenir for many years, I think from the beginning. I see his passion and dedication to bringing clean water to the people of Nicaragua. I hear the stories and saw the pictures of his trip to work on the wells. Because of my brother's belief in this work and in it's founder, Carol. I feel good about supporting El Porvenir. I feel it is very people centered in its mission and in its administration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir was marvelous! It was exciting to see communities working together with third-world technology to improve their health, nutrition and the environment with very simple tools. Perhaps, we in the US could take some lessons from these dear people. I hope I can go again in some capacity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek to implement some of their strategies elsewhere on the planet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In the 1980s, I worked with an international housing development organization. Friends who were working with the same organization in Nicaragua saw the need that wasn't being met for water and sanitation projects to go along with the housing development projects. El Porvenir was born, out of a community need and a clear vision, and has continued to make a difference in community after community. I know that when I make a donation, it is put to good use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found El Porvenir to be a top-notch organization. They were well organized, friendly and clear about their mission. I participated in a week-long build of a laundry station [a laundry tray/wash board with a small attached water reservoir] and an enclosed shower. Previous builds had produced an outhouse and a water well, both of which were well maintained. They had safe water to drink and cook.
The people who were receiving these items worked side by side with us, and much harder than we could physically. They had already dug a large hole to become a storage tank for the used water, so it would seep slowly through the soil back into the water table. Previously the families had used fields as toilets and washed clothes and their bodies in the local stream, which polluted the water. Our families had already started the next phase of El Porvenir's mission: planting 4000 to prevent erosion and hold the water in the ground instead of flooding away during heavy rains.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's been two years and I haven't thought of one. We worked hard, but had adequate time to rest and drink water and eat snacks morning and afternoon and a hot lunch each noon cooked by the families that would use the laundry and shower. At dinner we went to a local restaurant for a typical local dinner. There was plenty of food and several dishes included. The last Saturday we could go on a ropes course.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Having traveled with a group of 14 people from all across the U.S. to help in Nicaragua through El Porvenir, I have the highest regard for this NGO. It is significant they work with people in the rural areas of that amazing country to help those people better their lives. El Porvenir works in the best way to allow long term, lasting benefits for the people of Nicaragua. People of that country take ownership, maintenance, care, and passion for their own water supply, hygiene, reforestation, and cooperation. It's about neighbor helping neighbor. An amazing country to spend time in and learn about. Nicaraguans want the best possible for their families. Right now I am excited about going to work with El Porvenir for 9 days next month. I encourage more peope to go there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 28, 2012

I have gone to Nicaragua to work with this group twice now, and both experiences have been so positive, I hope I can go again. The operation is based on the 'Habitat model,' with local communities co... more

October 30, 2013

I have been down to Nicaragua twice on work trips with this wonderful non-profit. There are three main things I love about El Porvenir. First, their projects of reforestation, hygiene, and clean water are driven by the local people who need these projects the most. It is not a case of norteamericanos swooping in to help the poor. So, there is a great local buy-in from the beginning, and pride in projects completed.
Second, the local people are grateful and gracious to all who help. The cross-cultural sharing is a great by-product of the work. Strong friendships and memories are made on work trips.
Third, the money donated is used wisely. Nicaraguans are the main staff within the country, and all donations are utilized to the utmost gain for the people who need clean water and a better standard of living the most.
I can't recommend El Porvenir enough, and talk to everyone I know about their work, both to encourage donations AND promote the fact that we are blessed with abundant clean water and hygiene, and should never take that for granted! Working with them has been the most important thing I have ever done with my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

I have gone to Nicaragua to work with this group twice now, and both experiences have been so positive, I hope I can go again. The operation is based on the 'Habitat model,' with local communities coming up with projects to provide water (wells), hygiene (latrines and handwashing stations), and community improvement (clothes washing stations & smoke-reducing ovens). A secondary focus is on reforestation. Rural communities (mostly poor) come up with the plan, a commitment to a % of the cost, and provide most of the sweat equity. Work brigades travel to Nicaragua with chaperones and interpreters, and assist in the building of projects, as they learn of Nicaraguan customs, food, and life. The first trip, I helped build latrines and a hand-washing station for a school which had no facilities before we came. This year, I helped build clothes-washing stations and a bathing cubicle for another village. I have told many people that my two trips have been the most important thing I have done in my 58 years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 19, 2011

I am just home from a week long working trip to Nicaragua. Our small brigade of four worked in a village of 469 people, called Casas Viejas, up in the mountains to the west of Ciudad Dario. We helped install 3 latrines and a hand washing station for the village elementary school. Before, the children had to walk home to use the latrine and wash their hands, taking away class time. The kids LOVE to learn, and they hated missing any class time. El Porvenir gives the gift of better health through better sanitation. Families in small villages like Casas Viejas usually earn less than $5/day, so better health means less money spent on medicines.

A major reason I support El Porvenir is that the work projects are community-driven. The local people come up with a project and a plan, and must commit to labor and a % of the project's cost. This creates a buy-in of ownership and pride in the project. It's not about 'wealthy' Americans swooping in to 'rescue' Nicaraguans.
Our chaperones/translators were great, and worked right along with us. This NGO is a wonderful way to meet the local people, and make their lives better for generations. I hope I can go on another work brigade next year. I can NOT think of a better use of my vacation time.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing children excited that they would no longer have to miss any learning time due to having to walk home to use a latrine.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have known El Porvenir's work for about 10 years, and I can't think of anything I have seen that I would change.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers