Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.927835
Write A Review
May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

El Porvenir models how to support people and communities to improve their own circumstances. The projects are initiated by the community and El Porvenir supports their plans with volunteers and supplies. They work with people rather than impose their own goals on them. This partnership makes it an affirming experience for everyone involved. I will go again soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a sponsor to launch a national fundraising campaign in the U.S..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

We meet with them in the Denver Office and learned how El Porvenir helps Nicaragua villagers build there own clean water systems with their own efforts. It is amazing when people have clean water systems it leads to so may other things like latrines, good health in the young and old, education on health, more time for child to go to school and less fetching water out of contaminated sources, preserving the forests, cleaner cooking systems.

I have seen it first hand what the differences is without clean drinking water and with clean drinking water. This program succeeds and sustains through small donations, one dollar at a time. It also saves children's life's, one clean drop at a time. it is impressive how effective El Porvenir by how many villagers now have access to clean water and all the great things that comes with their program.

The Denver group passion is impressive. When we have donated to the cause they have been so fast to correspond with us and thank us for our support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

In 2012, I took a trip with El Porvenir to the Camoapa region of Nicaragua. I was 18 years old, and went by myself. I didn't know anyone, I speak VERY little Spanish, and had no idea what to expect. It was an absolutely eye-opening experience! To see the heart of the people in Nicaragua, and also the heart of El Porvenir was so amazing. I hold that trip very dear to my heart, and share my experience with everyone that lets me share it with them.

I can't wait until I have the opportunity to go back to Nicaragua with El Porvenir!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Our church has been involved with El Porvenir for several years, 2 Mission Trips and one I personally went on. We have been very impressed with the whole organization, from the person organizing the trips, local office here in Denver, the guides in Nicaragua, the building project folks they 'contract'--I do not have one negative thing to say about the whole organization. They make conditions better for the people of Nicaragua and I am proud to be a very small part of that. The Nicaraguans help with the projects as well and are so appreciative of our help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In developing a solar oven project in Nica I happened upon well after well, and newly built lavatories that were built by El Porvenir. I couldn't help but be impressed with the work, and ended up sponsoring a latrine myself. They do the real work that needs doing, as far as I can tell.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2011

I served on the board of directors of El Porvenir for many years. I was very involved in El Porvenir's policy-making, fundraising, staffing, and planning. I visited Nicaragua every year and lived in... more

October 31, 2013

El Porvenir is a serious, transparent, effective development organization working only in Nicaragua, with 20 years' experience in rural water and sanitation project development. I have worked in or visited its projects many times over the past 20 years and am impressed with the integrity of the organization and the long-term impact it has on rural communities. You read a lot of promotional prose on the internet about development organizations, but I can attest from direct personal knowledge that this one really does what it says it does. Nicaragua is a poor country whose government cannot fund infrastructure, but depends on international investment and donations to provide clean drinking water, sanitary facilities, and reforestation of watersheds. El Porvenir has been making such investments in Nicaragua since 1989. These investments are always locally initiated and after self-help construction are left in the hands of the village to maintain and repair. I have seen projects still working well 14 years or more after construction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2011

I served on the board of directors of El Porvenir for many years. I was very involved in El Porvenir's policy-making, fundraising, staffing, and planning. I visited Nicaragua every year and lived in Nicaragua for four years recently. I am very familiar with El Porvenir's history, development, and method of operation in Nicaragua, and feel proud of being part of this organization and its work. I have talked with the people of the villages, especially the women, about the changes in their lives brought about by the new well, the new gravity flow water system (the most dramatic changes), the new latrines, the new lavandero. I have seen and heard the pride and ownership the villagers feel in these projects, which they initiated, built, and continue to care for and use. El Porvenir meets a fundamental human need, supports the initiative and strengths of Nicaraguan people, hires Nicaraguans to carry out its work, and operates with minimal administrative expenditure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting dozens and dozens of villages where El Porvenir responded to local requests for help with specific projects that the people themselves had identified as a need and wanted to build.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want it to be able to expand its operations and work in more regions of Nicaragua. The need for clean drinking water and sanitation is still very great in all rural areas of the country.

October 30, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
February 19, 2012

This was my second trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir. We brought a friend with us. It is a fabulous opportunity to work with a grass roots organization providing life saving WATER!!!! A lot of hard... more

October 30, 2013

I have traveled to Nicaragua 3 times to work on water projects. I love that El Porvenir requires community participation. There is so much pride involved when people have a personal investment. My children don't a buy me presents for Holidays anymore. They donate to El Porvenir in my honor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2012

This was my second trip to Nicaragua with El Porvenir. We brought a friend with us. It is a fabulous opportunity to work with a grass roots organization providing life saving WATER!!!! A lot of hard work, a lot of fun! We will go back next year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 16, 2011

November 2010 my husband and I spent 10 days on a latrine brigade in El Sauce with El Porvenir. it was the BEST service project I have ever been on. Well organized, safe, efficient, friendly. We worked hard, laughed a lot, and made new friends. And, we put in 13 latrines! A hand up, not a hand out. That's what I experienced. Carol Atwell

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By participating in a brigade to build latrines in Puente Ocho, Nicaragua

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no idea.

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I think that El Porvenir does a great service for Nicaragua and Nicaraguans. It involves the community members to help make improvements to their communities and enrich their lives. The group has a mission to provide clean water in the rural areas by providing education to help themselves making them more independent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know of any changes that I would make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I sponsored the construction of a well in my daughters name for a rural community. My daughter passed away as a child and I wanted to help families provide clean drinking water to their children - globally, water born illness is the greatest cause of death for children under five. El Porvenir dedicated a plaque at the base of the well to my daughter. The plaque reads in Spanish so that the residents using the well could remember my daughter in the life giving water. Three years later there continue to be fresh flowers placed upon the plaque daily. This is the greatest and most joyous gift that I have been able to share. The work that this organization does is unsurpassed. They work with local communities to build and maintain structures and in doing so give residents pride and responsibility in the water and sanitation systems that are created. El Porvenir brings donors and volunteers down to Nicaragua to meet with families and see the projects that they have forwarded and they do this with a skeleton administrative budget in order to stretch dollars to where they belong - the families who need and deserve clean water.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase funding in order to expand the work that they do so that more people could be served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

El Porvenir is a wonderful and sustainable nonprofit that makes a real difference in the lives of rural Nicaraguans. They hire local people to work with local people, creating jobs while providing vital services the government cannot. Water, sanitation, and hygiene provide the best chance for people to get out of poverty, and El Porvenir attacks this problem in the best ways possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! They are doing it right!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers