Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 29, 2013

I've been involved with EfforTZ since it was started. Everyone involved with the nonprofit generously gives of their time and money to help the children of Tanzania. No one takes a salary or looks for... more

October 20, 2014

I'e been involved with EfforTZ since the beginning. One of its major strengths is that all of those involved with it have a passion for its mission of helping educate children in Tanzania. Those who run it and are on the board donate their time. No one is doing it for money. We're heping these children change their lives through education because we believe we can make a difference and, that with the proper tools, these children can make a difference in their own lives and those of their community and their country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2013

I've been involved with EfforTZ since it was started. Everyone involved with the nonprofit generously gives of their time and money to help the children of Tanzania. No one takes a salary or looks for compensation for their work. I've never met a more dedicated group of volunteers and board members. The children are an inspiration for us all. The joy they have in their faces whenever any of us are with them is more than enough reward for our modest contribution of time and money. Many nonprofits wind up having a negligible effect on their recipients because they spread themselves too thin, trying to service too many children. EfforTZ doesn't follow that approach. It tries to make a major change in a few children's lives. In that way it succeeds better than most nonprofits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to broaden our base of volunteers and supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

I'm proud to be part of this organization. The foundation does a great job of providing needy children with a quality education. Everyone involved is really committed to what they're doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 22, 2013

I have been with EfforTZ since its formation.. While small in size the work we do is life changing. Focused on providing educational scholarships to needy children in Tanzania, we believe strongly i... more

October 15, 2014

I have been involved with EfforTZ since 2010. Our initial focus was on providing scholarships to 12 orphan boys in Arusha,Tanzania. Today, we continue our educational support of these boys, and have added some 23 Maasai girls to our scholarship program. We work closely with each of our scholarship recipients to design a unique educational path, place them in educational environments where they can flourish, closely monitor their progress, and provide needed tools and support for a successful experience. Their accomplishments have been truly amazing. Helping to change the lives of our scholarship recipients through education they would not have otherwise received has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.
September 22, 2013

I have been with EfforTZ since its formation.. While small in size the work we do is life changing.
Focused on providing educational scholarships to needy children in Tanzania, we believe strongly in the transformational power of education. And we see it happening every day with the children
we support. Our scholarship recipients will be part of a new generation of highly educated and skilled young adults who will lead this improvised country to a new era of greater prosperity. So exciting to play a role in this process.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its resource base so that more children could benefit from its work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I have been involved with EfforTZ since inception and could not be more excited about the progress we have made in the past two years. The scholarships we are providing to orphans and other needy children in Tanzania are truly life altering. With our support these children are receiving the education necessary for a future of opportunity where they will help lead the county from decades of poverty. What a satisfying experience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 21, 2013

This organization began in 2010 with 12 scholarship awards. Through 2013, it has awarded a total of 84 scholarships to orphaned boys, Maasai girls, and other impoverished children in Arusha, Tanzania.... more

October 15, 2014

I have been affiliated with EfforTZ since its inception in 2010. In its short 4 years of operations, it has awarded over 100 scholarships, provided over 6,000 books, and sent almost 3 tons of school supplies to some of the poorest children in Arusha, Tanzania. EfforTZ makes an investment in lives of children today and changes their futures and those of their families forever. I am proud to be affiliated with this organization and provide both financial and personal support to all of its efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

This organization began in 2010 with 12 scholarship awards. Through 2013, it has awarded a total of 84 scholarships to orphaned boys, Maasai girls, and other impoverished children in Arusha, Tanzania. In 2010 it provided 100 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools; through 2013 it has supplied 4,520 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools. More than 4,000 children have benefited from the generous donations of the supporters, volunteers and friends of this organization. I am incredibly impressed by the dedicated commitment of everyone involved with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

EfforTZ was formed in June of 2010 with the intention of providing scholarships to impoverished Tanzanian children. They started with 11 full scholarships to orphaned or abandoned boys. In 2012, they provided full scholarships to 24 children, and in 2013 they will have 32 children on full scholarships. They rescued these children from poverty and gave them the ability to hope and dream of a bright future. And, they also provided 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies to more than 4,000 students in 6 public primary schools in Arusha, Tanzania in 2012 and have already shipped another 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies for 2013. This is a small organization that is doing big things for the children of Tanzania.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 25, 2013

I've been privileged to be involved with EfforTZ Foundation since its inception both as a board member, volunteer, and sponsor of one of their scholarship students. The time and energy everyone involv... more

September 3, 2014

EfforTZ has made a huge difference in the lives of many children, particularly the girls of the Maasai tribe. Without the scholarships to secondary school that EfforTZ gives to them they would be married off, at the age of 12 or 13, by their fathers for the dowry. All of the principles and the directors give their time out of love and passion. None of them receive a salary.
September 25, 2013

I've been privileged to be involved with EfforTZ Foundation since its inception both as a board member, volunteer, and sponsor of one of their scholarship students. The time and energy everyone involved with this nonprofit puts into helping these children is wonderful to see. Even better is how the children, given the opportunity of receiving an education, work so hard to take advantage of this great gift. They want to succeed as badly as we want them to succeed. For years, before I became involved with EfforTZ, I wanted to somehow make a difference in the world. I feel EfforTZ has given me that opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase donations so we could help more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

EfforTZ Foundation does a great job of helping the needy children of Tanzania receive a quality education! What also impresses me is that no one at the foundation receives a salary. It's an all-volunteer nonprofit. They focus on two very needy populations: orphaned and abandoned boys and Maasai girls. These girls are usually married off at 12 and 13 to much older men by their fathers who want the dowry. With EfforTZ's help the girls now have a chance to live out their dreams!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with... more

September 25, 2013

Prior to helping start EfforTZ in 2010, I had already spent several months in Tanzania, working with some of the teachers in public schools and researching some of the affordable private schools in the Arusha area. As an educator and public school teacher in the US for more than 40 years, I loved the positive attitude toward improving education that permeated many of the people I met--in spite of their poverty and limited resources.
Since 2010, I have returned with other volunteers--and most recently with my 15 year old grandson!-- to continue to work with some of our scholarship students and local schools and to distribute supplies. It is thrilling to see first-hand the differences that EfforTZ is making in the real lives of Tanzanian young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with no books, no supplies. Yet most teachers and students were eager to learn. As an educator who had taught in US public schools for 41 years, and having fallen in love with the people of Tanzania and their spirit in the face of extreme poverty, I felt called to help in whatever way I could. EfforTZ has provided practical and meaningful ways of providing that help. None of our volunteers receive compensation, and we have been able to provide scholarships for both boys and young women that will enable them to get good educations, have worked alongside teachers in their classrooms to model different ways to learn English skills, and provided classroom supplies that were desperately needed. I feel blessed to have been a part of EfforTZ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I am humbled to be part of this wonderful organization, which is focused on providing improved educational opportunities for underserved children in Tanzania. When we began in 2010, we were providing... more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We started EfforTZ more than three years ago with a vision for improving the educational opportunities for a small number of orphans. It was important to me that we set realistic goals and meet them. Each year since then we have been able to meet our goals and set new, higher goals. It was a great joy to have five
of our scholarship recipients graduate from Level 7 this year from two of the best schools in Arusha. It is also gratifying to know that more Maasai girls from the villages we serve are eager to apply for help to improve their education and their opportunities. I am blessed to be part of EfforTZ team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

I am humbled to be part of this wonderful organization, which is focused on providing improved educational opportunities for underserved children in Tanzania. When we began in 2010, we were providing private school scholarships for the orphaned boys from TACODA Children's Home in Arusha and a few public school scholarships for family members of TACODA's staff. We have since expanded that to include young women from Maasai villages who have traditionally been excluded from education beyond the age of 12. EfforTZ is an all-volunteer non-profit, so all donations go directly to services in Tanzania. My experience with EfforTZ has been life-changing for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do you have a wide social network? If so, you could tell your church, co-workers, club members or friends and family about the work we do.

How about helping us organize a clothing or school supply drive? Do you love to run, bike or walk? How about doing these things in a race and getting friends to sponsor you on behalf of EfforTZ?

Do you love photography and travel? Consider going to Tanzania and snapping photos for us to use on our website and in our newsletters?

There are many other ways to help us. Email us and let's discuss it! Volunteer