Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with... more

September 25, 2013

Prior to helping start EfforTZ in 2010, I had already spent several months in Tanzania, working with some of the teachers in public schools and researching some of the affordable private schools in the Arusha area. As an educator and public school teacher in the US for more than 40 years, I loved the positive attitude toward improving education that permeated many of the people I met--in spite of their poverty and limited resources.
Since 2010, I have returned with other volunteers--and most recently with my 15 year old grandson!-- to continue to work with some of our scholarship students and local schools and to distribute supplies. It is thrilling to see first-hand the differences that EfforTZ is making in the real lives of Tanzanian young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with no books, no supplies. Yet most teachers and students were eager to learn. As an educator who had taught in US public schools for 41 years, and having fallen in love with the people of Tanzania and their spirit in the face of extreme poverty, I felt called to help in whatever way I could. EfforTZ has provided practical and meaningful ways of providing that help. None of our volunteers receive compensation, and we have been able to provide scholarships for both boys and young women that will enable them to get good educations, have worked alongside teachers in their classrooms to model different ways to learn English skills, and provided classroom supplies that were desperately needed. I feel blessed to have been a part of EfforTZ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I am humbled to be part of this wonderful organization, which is focused on providing improved educational opportunities for underserved children in Tanzania. When we began in 2010, we were providing... more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We started EfforTZ more than three years ago with a vision for improving the educational opportunities for a small number of orphans. It was important to me that we set realistic goals and meet them. Each year since then we have been able to meet our goals and set new, higher goals. It was a great joy to have five
of our scholarship recipients graduate from Level 7 this year from two of the best schools in Arusha. It is also gratifying to know that more Maasai girls from the villages we serve are eager to apply for help to improve their education and their opportunities. I am blessed to be part of EfforTZ team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

I am humbled to be part of this wonderful organization, which is focused on providing improved educational opportunities for underserved children in Tanzania. When we began in 2010, we were providing private school scholarships for the orphaned boys from TACODA Children's Home in Arusha and a few public school scholarships for family members of TACODA's staff. We have since expanded that to include young women from Maasai villages who have traditionally been excluded from education beyond the age of 12. EfforTZ is an all-volunteer non-profit, so all donations go directly to services in Tanzania. My experience with EfforTZ has been life-changing for me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

My husband and I have supported EfforTZ from its beginning. The founders of Effortz are personnally involved and donate their time and energy to the efforts. We are so happy to sponsor a scholarship each year and to know that one of the children is going to have a completely different life because of us and the good work EfforTZ performs. While I may never see the scholarship recipient in person, the photos of the smiling faces of healthy, happy children is reward enough for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand to benefit more children,especially the at risk female population.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I have been involved with EfforTZ since inception and could not be more excited about the progress we have made in the past two years. The scholarships we are providing to orphans and other needy chil... more

September 22, 2013

I have been with EfforTZ since its formation.. While small in size the work we do is life changing.
Focused on providing educational scholarships to needy children in Tanzania, we believe strongly in the transformational power of education. And we see it happening every day with the children
we support. Our scholarship recipients will be part of a new generation of highly educated and skilled young adults who will lead this improvised country to a new era of greater prosperity. So exciting to play a role in this process.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its resource base so that more children could benefit from its work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I have been involved with EfforTZ since inception and could not be more excited about the progress we have made in the past two years. The scholarships we are providing to orphans and other needy children in Tanzania are truly life altering. With our support these children are receiving the education necessary for a future of opportunity where they will help lead the county from decades of poverty. What a satisfying experience!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

EfforTZ was formed in June of 2010 with the intention of providing scholarships to impoverished Tanzanian children. They started with 11 full scholarships to orphaned or abandoned boys. In 2012, they ... more

September 21, 2013

This organization began in 2010 with 12 scholarship awards. Through 2013, it has awarded a total of 84 scholarships to orphaned boys, Maasai girls, and other impoverished children in Arusha, Tanzania. In 2010 it provided 100 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools; through 2013 it has supplied 4,520 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools. More than 4,000 children have benefited from the generous donations of the supporters, volunteers and friends of this organization. I am incredibly impressed by the dedicated commitment of everyone involved with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

EfforTZ was formed in June of 2010 with the intention of providing scholarships to impoverished Tanzanian children. They started with 11 full scholarships to orphaned or abandoned boys. In 2012, they provided full scholarships to 24 children, and in 2013 they will have 32 children on full scholarships. They rescued these children from poverty and gave them the ability to hope and dream of a bright future. And, they also provided 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies to more than 4,000 students in 6 public primary schools in Arusha, Tanzania in 2012 and have already shipped another 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies for 2013. This is a small organization that is doing big things for the children of Tanzania.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The passion, dedication and tireless hard work shown by the founders of EfforTZ and its volunteers are profoundly moving. As one who teaches children, I feel extremely confident that all children whose lives are touched and changed by EfforTZ are indeed blessed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As the manager of the nation's largest workplace giving campaign, I see a lot of nonprofits doing great work in every possible cause, in nearly every possible location. I am impressed with the dedication and passion of the board of EfforTZ and the work they are doing to change individual lives. I give a large portion of my own personal donation to EfforTZ each year, and I am certain they make the best possible use of my donation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The EfforTZ foundation team is an inspired, dedicated, passionate group. Their vision starts with educating orphans, and by changing the lives of individual children, one at a time, they aim to improve society. They keep feet on the ground in Tanzania to verify that donations are spent with maximum effect, and bring enormous experience in teaching, management, and operations to the project. EfforTZ maximizes the impact of every donor dollar, and I have never felt like my little donations made such a big difference. Thank you EfforTZ foundation!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The impact of EfforTZ is truly inspiring. The founders of the organization have gone to great lengths to ensure that Tanzania's orphans are well-fed, clothed, and schooled in a nurturing environment, which has enabled the children to thrive and succeed despite the grave circumstances they've been faced with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

My husband and I have supported Effortz since its inception. The founders of this organization are experienced educators who have a clear vision for the foundation and a genuine passion for offering children in this part of Tanzania an education. I have traveled fairly extensively through Sub-Saharan Africa over the last 15 years. I've seen first-hand how NGOs and non-profits in the region go about trying to fulfill their purposes. In terms of positive impact per dollar, Effortz must be among the leaders. Because the founders donate their own time and effort to running the foundation, we know that every dollar we donate is directed to an orphaned or disadvantaged child's education. What better investment could there be in our global society?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do you have a wide social network? If so, you could tell your church, co-workers, club members or friends and family about the work we do.

How about helping us organize a clothing or school supply drive? Do you love to run, bike or walk? How about doing these things in a race and getting friends to sponsor you on behalf of EfforTZ?

Do you love photography and travel? Consider going to Tanzania and snapping photos for us to use on our website and in our newsletters?

There are many other ways to help us. Email us and let's discuss it! Volunteer