Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 21, 2013

This organization began in 2010 with 12 scholarship awards. Through 2013, it has awarded a total of 84 scholarships to orphaned boys, Maasai girls, and other impoverished children in Arusha, Tanzania.... more

October 15, 2014

I have been affiliated with EfforTZ since its inception in 2010. In its short 4 years of operations, it has awarded over 100 scholarships, provided over 6,000 books, and sent almost 3 tons of school supplies to some of the poorest children in Arusha, Tanzania. EfforTZ makes an investment in lives of children today and changes their futures and those of their families forever. I am proud to be affiliated with this organization and provide both financial and personal support to all of its efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

This organization began in 2010 with 12 scholarship awards. Through 2013, it has awarded a total of 84 scholarships to orphaned boys, Maasai girls, and other impoverished children in Arusha, Tanzania. In 2010 it provided 100 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools; through 2013 it has supplied 4,520 lbs of school supplies to its partner schools. More than 4,000 children have benefited from the generous donations of the supporters, volunteers and friends of this organization. I am incredibly impressed by the dedicated commitment of everyone involved with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

EfforTZ was formed in June of 2010 with the intention of providing scholarships to impoverished Tanzanian children. They started with 11 full scholarships to orphaned or abandoned boys. In 2012, they provided full scholarships to 24 children, and in 2013 they will have 32 children on full scholarships. They rescued these children from poverty and gave them the ability to hope and dream of a bright future. And, they also provided 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies to more than 4,000 students in 6 public primary schools in Arusha, Tanzania in 2012 and have already shipped another 2,000 pounds of books and school supplies for 2013. This is a small organization that is doing big things for the children of Tanzania.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 25, 2013

I've been privileged to be involved with EfforTZ Foundation since its inception both as a board member, volunteer, and sponsor of one of their scholarship students. The time and energy everyone involv... more

September 3, 2014

EfforTZ has made a huge difference in the lives of many children, particularly the girls of the Maasai tribe. Without the scholarships to secondary school that EfforTZ gives to them they would be married off, at the age of 12 or 13, by their fathers for the dowry. All of the principles and the directors give their time out of love and passion. None of them receive a salary.
September 25, 2013

I've been privileged to be involved with EfforTZ Foundation since its inception both as a board member, volunteer, and sponsor of one of their scholarship students. The time and energy everyone involved with this nonprofit puts into helping these children is wonderful to see. Even better is how the children, given the opportunity of receiving an education, work so hard to take advantage of this great gift. They want to succeed as badly as we want them to succeed. For years, before I became involved with EfforTZ, I wanted to somehow make a difference in the world. I feel EfforTZ has given me that opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase donations so we could help more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

EfforTZ Foundation does a great job of helping the needy children of Tanzania receive a quality education! What also impresses me is that no one at the foundation receives a salary. It's an all-volunteer nonprofit. They focus on two very needy populations: orphaned and abandoned boys and Maasai girls. These girls are usually married off at 12 and 13 to much older men by their fathers who want the dowry. With EfforTZ's help the girls now have a chance to live out their dreams!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

We have been donating to EfforTZ since its inception. While we gladly contribute to many orgaanizations whose work aligns with our goals and priorities, EfforTZ is the only one that uses every dollar taken in to directly benefit the children whose educational needs it was meant to address. These are young boys and girls who have no families and who would otherwise have no opportunities whatsoever to change their status in life. As a result of EfforTZ, however, these children are provided with a place to live, an advocate, and an education that is directly targeted to whatever capacity they possess to attain a better life for themselves. As a result, formery homeless children who likely would have otherwise lived on the street are excelling. We are kept apprised of their progress through copies of their report cards as well as from letters written by the children themselves. To see their capacity to write in English grow over time is incredible. These are children who will make a posiotive mark in the world, and who will someday pay forward the benefit they have been given. This ia an organization that makes a true difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish I had more money to give them

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

EfforTZ Foundation is a great way to contribute your donation because your money goes strait to the kids in Tanzina for their education. I have the utmost trust and respect for the people that run this Non Profit Org. Two of the members are members of my church so I know that my donations are directly hellping the kids in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

EfforTZ Foundation is a wonderful effort to educate children in Tanzania. The founders are educators who not only raise funds but go to Tanzania to teach and follow the money to see that it is being used in the best possible way. They use their own money to get there and support their efforts with additional funding.
I am very impressed with the gains they have made and will continue to support them for as long as I am able .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

This is a wonderful charity, and we have been supporting it (modestly) for a few years now. We are so excited about the ways in which the children have benefited from this non profit. Because of this group, the children have educational opportunities and loving volunteers who visit them and help guide them with their futures. We always get hand written notes thanking us for our support, which means a lot to us. We are so happy to be a part of this foundation!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

What better way to improve the health and well-being and ensure a brighter future for children in Tanzania than by providing quality educational support? That's exactly what the dedicated people of EfforTZ Foundation, Inc. do in a very personal way. I am proud to support this organization and hope that it is able to continue providing its services for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find ways to increase the resources available to this group to continue and expand its very worthwhile and effective services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

This organization provides a very worth while service to many young people in Africa. They have been instrumental in providing educational scholarships,books, and other materials to some of the orphans in Tanzania. Through the work of dedicated volunteers they have enriched the lives of many. It is a joy to receive their newsletter and see the smiling faces of some of the kids they have helped.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Nothing can help better human life more than education. I admire and support the giving of books by Effortz.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with... more

September 25, 2013

Prior to helping start EfforTZ in 2010, I had already spent several months in Tanzania, working with some of the teachers in public schools and researching some of the affordable private schools in the Arusha area. As an educator and public school teacher in the US for more than 40 years, I loved the positive attitude toward improving education that permeated many of the people I met--in spite of their poverty and limited resources.
Since 2010, I have returned with other volunteers--and most recently with my 15 year old grandson!-- to continue to work with some of our scholarship students and local schools and to distribute supplies. It is thrilling to see first-hand the differences that EfforTZ is making in the real lives of Tanzanian young people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

i had seen firsthand in a month-long volunteer stay in Arusha in 2008 the difficult conditions in the schools. They were attempting to teach English in elementary school classes of 60+ children with no books, no supplies. Yet most teachers and students were eager to learn. As an educator who had taught in US public schools for 41 years, and having fallen in love with the people of Tanzania and their spirit in the face of extreme poverty, I felt called to help in whatever way I could. EfforTZ has provided practical and meaningful ways of providing that help. None of our volunteers receive compensation, and we have been able to provide scholarships for both boys and young women that will enable them to get good educations, have worked alongside teachers in their classrooms to model different ways to learn English skills, and provided classroom supplies that were desperately needed. I feel blessed to have been a part of EfforTZ.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do you have a wide social network? If so, you could tell your church, co-workers, club members or friends and family about the work we do.

How about helping us organize a clothing or school supply drive? Do you love to run, bike or walk? How about doing these things in a race and getting friends to sponsor you on behalf of EfforTZ?

Do you love photography and travel? Consider going to Tanzania and snapping photos for us to use on our website and in our newsletters?

There are many other ways to help us. Email us and let's discuss it! Volunteer