Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.901645
Write A Review
March 26, 2015

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

I am a beneficiary of Educational Pathways International's (EPI) generosity and great work in Ghana and can only say positive things about them! I am a final year business administration student in Gh... more

March 26, 2015

Undoubtedly the best charity out there supporting the education of young bright and needy students in Ghana. Mr. & Mrs. Lafrance, the founders of EPI, have a heart of gold. I am a beneficiary of their scholarship scheme and all I can say is thank you for giving me a second shot at success. I now stand a better chance to impact my world! EPI in summary, gives young bright students hope and a chance to dream again! I recommend EPI to any awarding organisation or body. They rock!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make no changes! They simply rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2012

I am a beneficiary of Educational Pathways International's (EPI) generosity and great work in Ghana and can only say positive things about them! I am a final year business administration student in Ghana's high flying University Ashesi College and this was made possible through the help and support of EPI. I got awarded this scholarship at the beginning of my second year and it has been an amazing journey with them through out. EPI covers my tuition and accommodation and this support has contributed enormously to the great things I have achieved in school. It has given me the second chance to excel in life by becoming the young rising African star that I am. I have been able to participate in Model UN programs, which included the World Model UN conference held in Boston in 2010. I also interned with Goldman Sachs in the UK, during the 2012 Spring Internship Program and got offered a place in their summer 2013 Internship program. Furthermore, got selected to attend the annual WISE Summits held in Doha Qatar for two conservative years, firstly as a learner and then a mentor and speaker in the second year. Additionally, I served students in the capacity of the Ashesi Student Cpuncil Welfare Chairperson in my second and third year. During my tenure in office, some of the things I did included organizing the second annual talent show dubbed Kaleidoscope, which raised funds to support students. I also sat on the board who disbursed some of these funds (from the Student Scholarship fund, set up by an Ashesi Student and managed by students) to two students to cover their tuition by $1000 each during the 2011-2012 academic year. All of these milestones would not have been possible/realized, without the assistance of EPI. They also have an office here in Ghana which serves as a great support center for beneficiaries of their scholarship program and this is just amazing. Another exciting part of the program, which is worth mentioning is the fact that Sara and Leonard Lafrance; the leadership of the program, embark on annual visits to Ghana every year to get updated and track the progress of students on the program. This demonstrates their dedication to the program and commitment to the students they support; a testament of true leadership! Just as I mentioned in my introduction, I can only but praise this nonprofit for all the outstanding work they are doing with students in Ghana, spanning Ashesi University College, Unvieristy of Ghana Legon and Kwame Nkrumah Univeristy of Science and Technology KNUST, to mention a few. This nonprofit is certainly worth noticing and I am grateful for all their suppport!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2015

more

March 22, 2015

It is with utmost delight I write this review about Educational Pathways International. EPI was the haven I ran to when I needed financial assistance for the completion of my university education. Although I expected to recieve financial assistance only, EPI gave me more than that; It gave me a family I could walk to when I felt lonely, counselling when I needed guidance and training when the need arose.
Currently I am a final year student of University of Ghana and I owe this laurelto Educational Pathways International. EPI gave me a reason to believe in myself and my dreams. EPI also thaught me confidence, perseverance and respect for all humans. They gave me another chance to trust my life goals.
I am so grateful EPI for your enormous help, I pray and hope others also benefit from your philanthropy.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

March 16, 2015

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I cannot overstate how immensely EPI has helped me in my personal and academic life. At the he end of my first year stay at the university, my world came tumbling down. I had not the smallest amount o... more

March 16, 2015

Discovering EPI has being like jumping into an oasis of life. I am yet to come across any non-profit which genuinely pursues its social interventions with the passion which EPI does.

I am so proud of EPI and I feel really privileged to be part of the numerous lives that EPI has impacted
here in Ghana. Words cannot help me communicate my sense of gratitude the way I feel it.
EPI does not do its things like any ordinary scholarship foundation. It seeks to develop its beneficiaries in every aspect of their lives in order to produce all rounded individuals who will be able to make real life impact in their communities.

I strongly recommend EPI to any institutions that promotes the interest of non-profits. If there’s anything that will help EPI get more recognised and earn the support of many donors, I strongly recommend EPI.
I will love to continue to see such a great non-profit grow and transform more lives right before my eyes. Long live EPI! Long live the Lafrances!
October 4, 2013

I cannot overstate how immensely EPI has helped me in my personal and academic life. At the he end of my first year stay at the university, my world came tumbling down. I had not the smallest amount of hope of where to get funding for be remaining three years of study.
But when I had the rare
opportunity to join the EPI family, all I concentrate on now, is when to study and how.
My life has undergone a great transformation under EPI’s scholarship program. Thanks to the Lafrances, I smile and to the future with boldness and confidence.
The ever-growing EPI family continues to transform lives beyond national borders and skin color.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would strengthen the finance base of the organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2015

more

March 13, 2015

Reliable. That is how I would describe Educational Pathways International, EPI. EPI was there for me when I needed help financing my education at the university of Ghana business school. EPI provided for me financially in all areas of my education, the Lafrances basically took an interest in my wellbeing. Educational Pathways International has been an umbrella to shelter me from some major storms in my life, and a rock i can lean on.

The scholarship enabled me to stay comfortably in school and concentrate on gaining knowledge to better the world around me. I also gained a new set of friends who were always there for me. I remember when the programme coordinator during my time in school would call me and my friends, also on the scheme, to teach us some valuable life skills not taught in the classroom. She would also speak to me about relationships, ask about my family and put her romantic novels at my disposal.

I felt that Sara and Leonard Lafrance believed in me and expected great and admirable things from me; it was one of my greatest sources of motivation. It made me gain confidence in myself and my abilities and, opened my eyes to the great things I could do for myself and the people around me. I still feel same.

It has been two years since I completed my undergraduate degree in Banking and Finance, but EPI still has an interest in my life. The EPI family shared in my joy when I secured a position in a reputable bank in the country after my graduation, and continue to do so as I climb the corporate ladder and transform into a matured and wise woman. I believe that EPI will be with me in every step of the way, in all areas of my life cheering me on and supporting me.

I gained a new family when I went looking for financial assistance. EPI is family.

I strongly recommend EPI to any awarding organization; EPI and the Lafrances are a gift to mankind.

Sophia Acquah
March 2, 2015

more

March 2, 2015

EPI is a beautiful family that has rekindle my hope of completing my tertiary education. This well structured organisation offers not only financial support to her members but also engages her beneficiaries in activities that fosters good interpersonal relationship. Ever since I joined EPI, apart from not having to struggle to settle my school fees, I have also gained in areas such as, goal setting skills, career guidance and communication skills. I have found a family away from home comprising peers who are vibrant and enthusiastic in all regards. Thanks to Mr. and Mrs Lafrance and her supportive Benefactores and Benefactresses for choosing to assist my brothers and sisters.
February 24, 2015

more

February 24, 2015

Educational Pathways International (EPI) has given hope to those of us who thought education was a thing for the rich which we could only dream of. Receiving this scholarship has helped me achieve my dream of securing education in one of the best universities in Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology(KNUST).

EPI will go a long way to change the economic class of my family background since my education at KNUST will spur me on to greater opportunities in life. EPI has not only given hope to me and my family but it is transforming and nurturing the development of a whole nation as we the beneficiaries are the future of Ghana.

Receiving this scholarship has fortified my identity as a beacon of hope and example to many youth especially the females (brilliant but needy students like me) in my community. EPI has given not only me but others an opportunity to acquire the needed knowledge to make meaningful contributions which will go a long way to affect and positively change the current state of growth and development in Ghana.

Educational Pathways International(EPI) to me is more like a family. EPI has brought us (students) together to learn from each other, help each other and also influence the lives of others. I therefore recommend EPI to any awarding organization for their generous contribution to the youth in Ghana.

Valentina Nyame
3rd Year student
Human Settlement Planning
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Am Essel Akos, a beneficiary of the Educational Pathways International (EPI) and it had a great impact on me. This scholarship fund boasted my academic performance when I was in the university and I graduated with a good class. Aside the good academic performance I learn a lot of skills and abilities that cannot be achieved in the lecture hall. Through it yearly internship program, I am able to learn basic office skill, techniques and have experience which helps me in every work environment I found myself. EPI scholarship stands as both academic boaster and social life stimulator, coming into contact with other beneficiaries and coordinators of the scholarship scheme in Ghana I learn how to live with each other and good social life. EPI is a family on its own and trust me a lively, happy, and God centered family
February 4, 2015

more

February 4, 2015

Educational Pathways International which supports needy but brilliant students really made my path through KNUST a success. EPI took away the burden of having to think of how to pay my fees, how to feed and more importantly supported me in getting books to study. EPI advocates for good grades. This made it possible and motivated me to graduate with first class honours in Electrical/Electronic Engineering. EPI is a family to me. One thing I really like about EPI is the unity within its members even after graduation we still hold meetings to discuss how to help our community and we also receive messages from our sponsors and coordinators. With the support of EPI through its community service, I can now speak in public. This has been of immerse help to me during my national service with Ghana Grid company since we give presentations during safety meetings. EPI also gave me the medium to reach out to the people in my community so as to help. To Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance and all those that support EPI I thank you very much for the impact you have played in my life, not only academically but also all spheres of my life through your guidance and support. I recommend EPI to any awarding organization for their selfless dedication to mankind.
Jonathan Alidu Salifu
February 3, 2015

more

February 3, 2015

Before I met Educational Pathways International (EPI), I was just a frustrated medical student desperate of how to financially sustain my education.
Thanks to EPI, I now have all the attention I need for my studies as all my educational expenses are taken care of.
And as EPI not only
'provides fish' but teaches it beneficiaries how to become better leaders of tomorrow, I have learned, through the various seminar packages it provides, to contribute my quota to society.
For this I am much grateful and pray Educational Pathways International threads on its life-touching path ad infinitum.
EPI, you are one in a million!
February 2, 2015

more

February 2, 2015

I am happy to write this review as a beneficiary of EPI full scholarship program during my undergraduate studies at the University of Ghana. Currently, I serve as the President of the EPI Alumni Charter in Ghana. The aims of EPI, of making the African continent a better place to live, rightly coincide with those of many Africans seeking higher education to build their skillset for the job market and to contribute their quota to their nation’s development.

EPI, over the past years, has collaborated with leading universities in Ghana to train African intellectuals with appreciable and evidence-based understanding of African societies, pre and post-colonial past, values and institutions. The end goal is that these trained Africans can lead the search for African model of development that would restore human dignity and decent living to ordinary people in Africa.

Clauses in the EPI scholarship agreement seek to solve the problem of brain drain. I strongly believe that the best means of tackling Africa’s development problem is to train African intellectuals to lead the quest for finding solutions to their country’s development problems. That exactly is the business of EPI.

EPI did not only remove my financial burden during my undergraduate Political Science studies at the University of Ghana, it also encouraged me to believe in myself and to think beyond the ordinary. EPI’s merit-based scholarship takes into consideration high academic scores, past leadership and voluntary activities, in the selection process. High academic scores are also needed to maintain the scholarship throughout undergraduate years.

The EPI country coordinator is a great addition to the program. She is unceasingly looking out for you, readily writes recommendations and even speaks with organizations on your behalf for internship opportunities. By the time I was done with my undergraduate studies, I had enormous volunteer and paid work experience on my resume. These voluntary services helped me to develop key competencies such as good communication, presentation, interpersonal and networking skills, probing and analytical thinking abilities.

EPI Alumni Charter and Activities

EPI alumni consist of young graduates from University of Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology and Ashesi University College who have all benefited from the EPI scholarship while undertaking their undergraduate degrees. These young graduates, now with different types of work experience, skill-set and qualifications in Medicine, Computer Science, Engineering, Economics, Banking and Finance, Leadership and Communication, have the potential and motivation to succeed in varying working environments while giving back to society through voluntary work.

The alumni charter, the yearly alumni meeting with the Lafrances and the periodic alumni meeting with EPI country coordinator are all means of continuously supporting EPI scholars after completing school. The President, Sara Lafrance, and the EPI office in Ghana have both written compelling recommendation letters for some EPI graduates, including myself, for post graduate studies and for job interviews.
The yearly meeting with the Lanfrances provides an interesting experience as alumni take turns to share their entrepreneurial stories and dreams for the future.

Creditably, EPI graduates from all universities continue to stay in touch through the Alumni Network Charter. This networking has helped some scholars to secure jobs and scholarships for post-graduate studies.
The EPI alumni charter is currently undertaking a community service project in selected Senior High Schools in Ghana to provide mentoring, teaching support, public health education, scholarship application processes, motivation and career development information to students and staff. The services we provide for Senior High Schools are entirely voluntary with all funding borne by the EPI alumni. This is one of our means of giving back to society and we are highly elated to do this.

Emmanuel Kpogo
EPI Alumni President, Ghana

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers