Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.892865
Write A Review
February 24, 2015

more

February 24, 2015

Educational Pathways International (EPI) has given hope to those of us who thought education was a thing for the rich which we could only dream of. Receiving this scholarship has helped me achieve my dream of securing education in one of the best universities in Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology(KNUST).

EPI will go a long way to change the economic class of my family background since my education at KNUST will spur me on to greater opportunities in life. EPI has not only given hope to me and my family but it is transforming and nurturing the development of a whole nation as we the beneficiaries are the future of Ghana.

Receiving this scholarship has fortified my identity as a beacon of hope and example to many youth especially the females (brilliant but needy students like me) in my community. EPI has given not only me but others an opportunity to acquire the needed knowledge to make meaningful contributions which will go a long way to affect and positively change the current state of growth and development in Ghana.

Educational Pathways International(EPI) to me is more like a family. EPI has brought us (students) together to learn from each other, help each other and also influence the lives of others. I therefore recommend EPI to any awarding organization for their generous contribution to the youth in Ghana.

Valentina Nyame
3rd Year student
Human Settlement Planning
Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Am Essel Akos, a beneficiary of the Educational Pathways International (EPI) and it had a great impact on me. This scholarship fund boasted my academic performance when I was in the university and I graduated with a good class. Aside the good academic performance I learn a lot of skills and abilities that cannot be achieved in the lecture hall. Through it yearly internship program, I am able to learn basic office skill, techniques and have experience which helps me in every work environment I found myself. EPI scholarship stands as both academic boaster and social life stimulator, coming into contact with other beneficiaries and coordinators of the scholarship scheme in Ghana I learn how to live with each other and good social life. EPI is a family on its own and trust me a lively, happy, and God centered family
February 4, 2015

more

February 4, 2015

Educational Pathways International which supports needy but brilliant students really made my path through KNUST a success. EPI took away the burden of having to think of how to pay my fees, how to feed and more importantly supported me in getting books to study. EPI advocates for good grades. This made it possible and motivated me to graduate with first class honours in Electrical/Electronic Engineering. EPI is a family to me. One thing I really like about EPI is the unity within its members even after graduation we still hold meetings to discuss how to help our community and we also receive messages from our sponsors and coordinators. With the support of EPI through its community service, I can now speak in public. This has been of immerse help to me during my national service with Ghana Grid company since we give presentations during safety meetings. EPI also gave me the medium to reach out to the people in my community so as to help. To Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance and all those that support EPI I thank you very much for the impact you have played in my life, not only academically but also all spheres of my life through your guidance and support. I recommend EPI to any awarding organization for their selfless dedication to mankind.
Jonathan Alidu Salifu
February 3, 2015

more

February 3, 2015

Before I met Educational Pathways International (EPI), I was just a frustrated medical student desperate of how to financially sustain my education.
Thanks to EPI, I now have all the attention I need for my studies as all my educational expenses are taken care of.
And as EPI not only
'provides fish' but teaches it beneficiaries how to become better leaders of tomorrow, I have learned, through the various seminar packages it provides, to contribute my quota to society.
For this I am much grateful and pray Educational Pathways International threads on its life-touching path ad infinitum.
EPI, you are one in a million!
February 2, 2015

more

February 2, 2015

I am happy to write this review as a beneficiary of EPI full scholarship program during my undergraduate studies at the University of Ghana. Currently, I serve as the President of the EPI Alumni Charter in Ghana. The aims of EPI, of making the African continent a better place to live, rightly coincide with those of many Africans seeking higher education to build their skillset for the job market and to contribute their quota to their nation’s development.

EPI, over the past years, has collaborated with leading universities in Ghana to train African intellectuals with appreciable and evidence-based understanding of African societies, pre and post-colonial past, values and institutions. The end goal is that these trained Africans can lead the search for African model of development that would restore human dignity and decent living to ordinary people in Africa.

Clauses in the EPI scholarship agreement seek to solve the problem of brain drain. I strongly believe that the best means of tackling Africa’s development problem is to train African intellectuals to lead the quest for finding solutions to their country’s development problems. That exactly is the business of EPI.

EPI did not only remove my financial burden during my undergraduate Political Science studies at the University of Ghana, it also encouraged me to believe in myself and to think beyond the ordinary. EPI’s merit-based scholarship takes into consideration high academic scores, past leadership and voluntary activities, in the selection process. High academic scores are also needed to maintain the scholarship throughout undergraduate years.

The EPI country coordinator is a great addition to the program. She is unceasingly looking out for you, readily writes recommendations and even speaks with organizations on your behalf for internship opportunities. By the time I was done with my undergraduate studies, I had enormous volunteer and paid work experience on my resume. These voluntary services helped me to develop key competencies such as good communication, presentation, interpersonal and networking skills, probing and analytical thinking abilities.

EPI Alumni Charter and Activities

EPI alumni consist of young graduates from University of Ghana, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology and Ashesi University College who have all benefited from the EPI scholarship while undertaking their undergraduate degrees. These young graduates, now with different types of work experience, skill-set and qualifications in Medicine, Computer Science, Engineering, Economics, Banking and Finance, Leadership and Communication, have the potential and motivation to succeed in varying working environments while giving back to society through voluntary work.

The alumni charter, the yearly alumni meeting with the Lafrances and the periodic alumni meeting with EPI country coordinator are all means of continuously supporting EPI scholars after completing school. The President, Sara Lafrance, and the EPI office in Ghana have both written compelling recommendation letters for some EPI graduates, including myself, for post graduate studies and for job interviews.
The yearly meeting with the Lanfrances provides an interesting experience as alumni take turns to share their entrepreneurial stories and dreams for the future.

Creditably, EPI graduates from all universities continue to stay in touch through the Alumni Network Charter. This networking has helped some scholars to secure jobs and scholarships for post-graduate studies.
The EPI alumni charter is currently undertaking a community service project in selected Senior High Schools in Ghana to provide mentoring, teaching support, public health education, scholarship application processes, motivation and career development information to students and staff. The services we provide for Senior High Schools are entirely voluntary with all funding borne by the EPI alumni. This is one of our means of giving back to society and we are highly elated to do this.

Emmanuel Kpogo
EPI Alumni President, Ghana

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

February 2, 2015

more

February 2, 2015

I have been privileged to be part of the EPI family for three years. Apart from the enoumous financial support given tous, the organization also engage us (beneficiaries ) in seminars which looks at goal setting, interpersonal relationship and educational tours. Joining this family has linked me up withcolleague students from other colleges.
January 30, 2015

more

January 30, 2015

I am one of the four Ashesi University College graduates who benefitted from the EPI scholarship during its maiden “Call for Scholarship Applications” in Ghana, West Africa. Backed by the EPI financial support, I enjoyed the peace of mind to focus on my rigorous higher education curriculum without interruption. I gained knowledge that opened me up to new possibilities. I developed my passion for sign language and am now working on a software project to scale up sign language instruction to basic mainstream schools all across Ghana.

EPI’s support also reminded me to keep up with my community service and extra-curricular activities, and doing so really enhanced my CV for the Ghanaian job market. I am happy to reveal here that my current full-time job was recommended to me by a fellow EPI alumnus. That was possible because EPI Alumni have a culture of networking and sharing opportunities. Having graduated from university, I often find myself counting my blessings and recognizing that I am now a part of a unique group of gifted young Ghanaians called, EPI Alumni, who are poised to serve mother Ghana with integrity.

As one of the pioneering beneficiaries, I recently volunteered to serve as the first EPI Alumni secretary. Together with my team of executives, we are laying a solid foundation for ourselves, based on community service, peer-mentoring and innovation, to ensure that future EPI beneficiaries continue to enjoy the love and moral support that comes with being a part of the big EPI family. We have welcomed the third graduating class into the EPI Alumni family, and just like the rest of us, their desire to give back to Ghana – despite personal challenges – burns strong. Each of us has received the priceless gift of higher education from the Lafrances and cannot help but pay it forward.

Sometimes, I am amazed at the impact that the Lafrances are making in our lives and in Ghana as a whole. It is not just about the scholarship. It is more about the love/ attention that they continuously show/ give us. Sara and Leonard Lafrance always have our best interest at heart. Every year, they make it a point to visit Ghana and interact with all beneficiaries and Alumni of EPI. They always look forward to learning more about the progress we are making in our studies and career pursuits.

EPI beneficiaries and Alumni are all selflessly making a difference in our home country, Ghana. All I have left to say is, “Long live EPI and long live the Lafrances!” We are all very proud of Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance for their efforts in making EPI a great non-profit organization based in America. Thank you.

Diana D. Osei

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide partial scholarships (if not full scholarships) to gifted students accepted into very expensive universities in Ghana. I would also form partnerships with more universities in Ghana that meet the organization's selection criteria. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2015

more


1 previous review
August 12, 2014

EPI is a family, it is a community and above all it is a blessing. I am proud and overly joyed to be part of the EPI family. I am a current beneficiary of the EPI scholarship in the Kwame Nkrumah Univ... more

January 30, 2015

Educational Pathways International (EPI)-A Remarkable Charity Organization.

I joined the EPI family a year ago as one of the beneficiaries of the EPI scholarship in Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Ghana. It has been a life-transforming experience for me. Now in
my third year in medical school, it would have been extremely difficult to reach where I am if not for the timely award of the EPI scholarship.
The scholarship has not only provided financial support for me, but it has provided much needed academic counseling and the opportunity to meet and network with other distinguished scholarship beneficiaries. This is strikingly different from many of the charity organizations working in education. The EPI program has changed my perspectives about life; it has built an unquenchable test to give back to society in whatever capacity I can.

Wutor Mahama Baleng
President – EPI Beneficiaries, KNUST
BSc. Human Biology 3
August 12, 2014

EPI is a family, it is a community and above all it is a blessing. I am proud and overly joyed to be part of the EPI family. I am a current beneficiary of the EPI scholarship in the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. My headache each passing day had always been how to be able to provide my school fees, obtain books( which are really costly considering my course of study) , accommodation and other accessories for my university education. EPI did not only give me hope, but it opened a new chapter in my goals and aspirations. I can now have the peace of mind to study and engage in meaningful academic work without thinking much about where I would be able to get my fees for the next academic year, which hitherto had been the status quo.
EPI has not only helped me to appreciate help, but has positioned me to be one to offer help to all who I am able to help today and in the future

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just leave it as it is......It is the best

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

EDUCATIONAL PATHWAYS INTERNATIONAL I had a lifetime dream of becoming an accountant since my childhood days. This dream motivated me to study hard during my pre-university levels of education. I excel... more

January 30, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I could not have imagined graduating from college without the Educational Pathway International Scholarship programme. It had been great memories anytime I recount the much funds that was granted till I completed the University of Ghana undergraduate programme.

Now as a graduate student at
the same University, I look back with pride to celebrate the role Educational Pathways International had played in ensuring that I met my academic and career goals through provision of funding for fees, academic guidance and career counseling.
Above all this, the Educational Pathways International provided me with platforms to give back to society and also impact lives through arranged community services. I was filled with joy to run into some students who I taught at two different secondary schools in Ghana.
Finally, this NGO provided me with leadership qualities that make me stand tall among my colleagues.
Once again, i am very grateful to Educational Pathways International for the great support throughout all my undergraduate university years.
November 28, 2012

EDUCATIONAL PATHWAYS INTERNATIONAL
I had a lifetime dream of becoming an accountant since my childhood days. This dream motivated me to study hard during my pre-university levels of education. I excelled at all the levels, having being the best student throughout these levels. After the Senior
High School (SHS), there stood a stumbling block on my path to prevent me from achieving the dream. This blockade was the problem of financial incapacity to further my education to the University level.
It was here that the Educational Pathways International (EPI) came my way to clear the blockade. The Educational Pathways International (EPI) had provided all my educational needs, including tuition fees, accommodation fees, study materials fees and pocket money during my four years at the University of Ghana. My dream would have been cut short had the Educational Pathways International (EPI) not come my way.
Courage Hodey
University of Ghana Business School
Legon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2015

more

January 29, 2015

Imagine you are a mother of 5 children. You sleep in a container. You had a husband who used to pound fufu, a local meal, for chop bars. But he's gone. The elder boy wakes up at 4 am, scales fish for commercial cooking, prepares the firewood, and does other jobs for the chop bar. He has hardly time to take his bath and rushes to school. He closes and comes back to work at the chop bar till night falls, frying fish, sometimes also pounding fufu, just like his father did. And yet, despite such severe hardships, when he sits for external examinations like WASSCE, he scores "A"s. And he walks away after hearing his results, dejected, losing meaning in life because he knows there is no one he can look up to finance his education. And here comes, Educational Pathways International.
What is life without self-worth? What is life without meaning? What is life without self-actualization?
If EPI seeks not only to finance the education of such poor but brilliant students but provide as well coaching and counseling services to them, EPI has also established a platform with an engine to produce institutional leadership for the country.
Without doubt, such a local contribution for turning round the history of individuals is also an effective contribution for turning around community history.
Ohene Bonsu
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers