Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.925
Write A Review
January 30, 2015

more

January 30, 2015

I am one of the four Ashesi University College graduates who benefitted from the EPI scholarship during its maiden “Call for Scholarship Applications” in Ghana, West Africa. Backed by the EPI financial support, I enjoyed the peace of mind to focus on my rigorous higher education curriculum without interruption. I gained knowledge that opened me up to new possibilities. I developed my passion for sign language and am now working on a software project to scale up sign language instruction to basic mainstream schools all across Ghana.

EPI’s support also reminded me to keep up with my community service and extra-curricular activities, and doing so really enhanced my CV for the Ghanaian job market. I am happy to reveal here that my current full-time job was recommended to me by a fellow EPI alumnus. That was possible because EPI Alumni have a culture of networking and sharing opportunities. Having graduated from university, I often find myself counting my blessings and recognizing that I am now a part of a unique group of gifted young Ghanaians called, EPI Alumni, who are poised to serve mother Ghana with integrity.

As one of the pioneering beneficiaries, I recently volunteered to serve as the first EPI Alumni secretary. Together with my team of executives, we are laying a solid foundation for ourselves, based on community service, peer-mentoring and innovation, to ensure that future EPI beneficiaries continue to enjoy the love and moral support that comes with being a part of the big EPI family. We have welcomed the third graduating class into the EPI Alumni family, and just like the rest of us, their desire to give back to Ghana – despite personal challenges – burns strong. Each of us has received the priceless gift of higher education from the Lafrances and cannot help but pay it forward.

Sometimes, I am amazed at the impact that the Lafrances are making in our lives and in Ghana as a whole. It is not just about the scholarship. It is more about the love/ attention that they continuously show/ give us. Sara and Leonard Lafrance always have our best interest at heart. Every year, they make it a point to visit Ghana and interact with all beneficiaries and Alumni of EPI. They always look forward to learning more about the progress we are making in our studies and careers. In 2014, however, they could not visit Ghana for the usual get-together, mainly because of the Ebola (Hemorrhagic Fever) outbreak in West Africa. I dare say that Ebola cannot stop the growth and impact of EPI in Ghana. In fact, my positive definition for EBOLA is EPI Brings Opportunities for Love and Action!

EPI beneficiaries and Alumni are all selflessly making a difference in our home country, Ghana. All I have left to say is, “Long live EPI and long live the Lafrances!” We are all very proud of Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance for their efforts in making EPI a great non-profit organization based in America. Thank you.

Diana D. Osei
January 30, 2015

more


1 previous review
August 12, 2014

EPI is a family, it is a community and above all it is a blessing. I am proud and overly joyed to be part of the EPI family. I am a current beneficiary of the EPI scholarship in the Kwame Nkrumah Univ... more

January 30, 2015

Educational Pathways International (EPI)-A Remarkable Charity Organization.

I joined the EPI family a year ago as one of the beneficiaries of the EPI scholarship in Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Ghana. It has been a life-transforming experience for me. Now in
my third year in medical school, it would have been extremely difficult to reach where I am if not for the timely award of the EPI scholarship.
The scholarship has not only provided financial support for me, but it has provided much needed academic counseling and the opportunity to meet and network with other distinguished scholarship beneficiaries. This is strikingly different from many of the charity organizations working in education. The EPI program has changed my perspectives about life; it has built an unquenchable test to give back to society in whatever capacity I can.

Wutor Mahama Baleng
President – EPI Beneficiaries, KNUST
BSc. Human Biology 3
August 12, 2014

EPI is a family, it is a community and above all it is a blessing. I am proud and overly joyed to be part of the EPI family. I am a current beneficiary of the EPI scholarship in the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. My headache each passing day had always been how to be able to provide my school fees, obtain books( which are really costly considering my course of study) , accommodation and other accessories for my university education. EPI did not only give me hope, but it opened a new chapter in my goals and aspirations. I can now have the peace of mind to study and engage in meaningful academic work without thinking much about where I would be able to get my fees for the next academic year, which hitherto had been the status quo.
EPI has not only helped me to appreciate help, but has positioned me to be one to offer help to all who I am able to help today and in the future

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just leave it as it is......It is the best

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

EDUCATIONAL PATHWAYS INTERNATIONAL I had a lifetime dream of becoming an accountant since my childhood days. This dream motivated me to study hard during my pre-university levels of education. I excel... more

January 30, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I could not have imagined graduating from college without the Educational Pathway International Scholarship programme. It had been great memories anytime I recount the much funds that was granted till I completed the University of Ghana undergraduate programme.

Now as a graduate student at
the same University, I look back with pride to celebrate the role Educational Pathways International had played in ensuring that I met my academic and career goals through provision of funding for fees, academic guidance and career counseling.
Above all this, the Educational Pathways International provided me with platforms to give back to society and also impact lives through arranged community services. I was filled with joy to run into some students who I taught at two different secondary schools in Ghana.
Finally, this NGO provided me with leadership qualities that make me stand tall among my colleagues.
Once again, i am very grateful to Educational Pathways International for the great support throughout all my undergraduate university years.
November 28, 2012

EDUCATIONAL PATHWAYS INTERNATIONAL
I had a lifetime dream of becoming an accountant since my childhood days. This dream motivated me to study hard during my pre-university levels of education. I excelled at all the levels, having being the best student throughout these levels. After the Senior
High School (SHS), there stood a stumbling block on my path to prevent me from achieving the dream. This blockade was the problem of financial incapacity to further my education to the University level.
It was here that the Educational Pathways International (EPI) came my way to clear the blockade. The Educational Pathways International (EPI) had provided all my educational needs, including tuition fees, accommodation fees, study materials fees and pocket money during my four years at the University of Ghana. My dream would have been cut short had the Educational Pathways International (EPI) not come my way.
Courage Hodey
University of Ghana Business School
Legon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2015

more

January 29, 2015

Imagine you are a mother of 5 children. You sleep in a container. You had a husband who used to pound fufu, a local meal, for chop bars. But he's gone. The elder boy wakes up at 4 am, scales fish for commercial cooking, prepares the firewood, and does other jobs for the chop bar. He has hardly time to take his bath and rushes to school. He closes and comes back to work at the chop bar till night falls, frying fish, sometimes also pounding fufu, just like his father did. And yet, despite such severe hardships, when he sits for external examinations like WASSCE, he scores "A"s. And he walks away after hearing his results, dejected, losing meaning in life because he knows there is no one he can look up to finance his education. And here comes, Educational Pathways International.
What is life without self-worth? What is life without meaning? What is life without self-actualization?
If EPI seeks not only to finance the education of such poor but brilliant students but provide as well coaching and counseling services to them, EPI has also established a platform with an engine to produce institutional leadership for the country.
Without doubt, such a local contribution for turning round the history of individuals is also an effective contribution for turning around community history.
Ohene Bonsu
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

Being the Program Director of Educational Pathways International (EPI) has been one of the most profoundly moving and worthwhile experience of my life. EPI has become a beacon of hope to a growing number of gifted young university students of need in our country, Ghana.

The scholarship
takes total care of students’ tuition, accommodation, books and upkeep money (“pocket money” as we call it in Ghana) as well as providing students with comprehensive counseling, guidance and support in the areas of academic performance, career development, leadership and internship programmes. And these have built and increased the confidence of these brilliant students.

The love, dedication and care that are shown these students by Mrs. Sara Lafrance and her husband Mr. Leonard Lafrance is amazing and worth emulating.

At the moment we have graduated forty-two (42) students who have benefited from a four-year full university scholarship package. Some of these students have found themselves successfully employed in reputable companies in the country, others are doing their masters either abroad or locally whiles our currents graduates are giving back to the society by doing national service in various cities, towns and villages in the country.

They have become role models to other students in their communities, especially those who initially did not have any hope of achieving higher education.

EPI is associated with high achievers who are positioned and shaped for future leadership in Ghana and Africa at large.

I am proud and happy to be part of EPI Family. I strongly favour any encouragement that can be given to Educational Pathways International for its dedicated selfless efforts.
January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Lingering in my memory is the timely intervention of EPI when the path to academic success was gloomy by reason of financial challenges. Through the support of EPI, I was well founded to unleash my inner-most potentials and hence achieving real excellence during my bachelor studies at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. Aside financial aid, I have come to appreciate EPI to be an organization that offers the opportunity for career development and enhancing ones social well-being. The benefits I derived from the internships, seminars and mentorship programmes are overwhelming. I have been empowered and well placed by these programmes to fit well in myriad of social contexts. My interpersonal, communication and time management skills have all been well shaped through my participation in the above mentioned programmes by EPI. Further to the above, EPI afforded me the opportunity to work with the organization (EPI) after my bachelor degree as a National Service Personnel during which period I further acquired skills essential for my career development. Currently reading a Master programme in Business Administration at University of Agder in Norway, I am strongly convinced that EPI has contributed immensely to building me for life. I must honestly confess that I have had a life transforming experience with EPI. It is certainly good that I met this organization of charity! Thanks to Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance, for the unflinching love and care for humanity and for their contribution to my life through EPI. I am proud to be part of the EPI family!
January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on EPI scholarship since my first year in college and it has been really helpful. Considering the high cost of higher education in Ghana, it would have been difficult meeting all of my educational needs and possibly completing my course of study. With EPI, all my educational costs are taken care of. I'm now in my 4th year of study, studying Business Administration and hoping to be a staff of the UN and one of Ghana's international diplomats in the near future.
January 24, 2015

more

January 24, 2015

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world". - Nelson Mandela. Personally, I see EPI not only as a charitable organization but also as a strong advocate of the above saying.
Throughout my university education in Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and
Technology, I have realised that not only did EPI relieve me of a financial burden, made me focused on my studies and eliminated any chance of me dropping out and not getting the degree I want, but earning a prestigious and merit-based scholarship like EPI actually made me more of an attractive job candidate. Employers who understand the competitive nature of the scholarship recognize it as an accomplishment since it reflects ones exceptional ability in the academics.
Moreover, aside academics, EPI have made a big difference in how much time and resources I had to spend on enhancing my experience and knowledge through internships and seminars. For example, EPI have provided an internship opportunity of which I took part. The opportunity presented was a voluntary service teaching experience at the senior high school level.
EPI have organized life changing motivational meetings or seminars on time management, setting of goals in life and many more talks providing me priceless knowledge and training both academically and in life. The teachings and motivations have made a huge impact on my decision making and time management. This provided me the chance to sharpen my teaching skills.
Also, the money and security afforded by EPI allowed me to be more selective in how I spent my free time. It helped me effectively concentrate on completing my studies, not only economically, but also for my personal and professional enrichment.
As a national service personnel working with EPI, I feel privileged and honoured to be of use to this wonderful organization. If the working experience is nothing but amazing, then I don’t know what it is. I am humbly appreciative and grateful for the assistance Mr and Mrs Lafrance have extended to me through this program. To the amazing duo, I say a very big ‘Thank You’.
EPI is doing a great job by nurturing generations to make the world a better place through provision of financial support, cultivation of character and intelligence, the true goals of education. EPI is the best and I would like to recommend EPI to any awarding body capable of supporting in any way possible to help EPI to continue being a bigger blessing to all. Long live EPI!



January 20, 2015

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

As a reviewer of scholarship applications, I have been involved with EPI since its beginning. It is with great pride that I have watched and participated in the development and growth of this fine org... more

January 20, 2015

I'm proud to say that I have been involved with Educational Pathways International since its very early days. During that time I have reviewed EPI scholarship applications and more recently have financially supported two EPI scholarships. In fact, just this week my husband and I received a letter of appreciation from the young man whose scholarship we are financing at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Ghana. His academic success coupled with the deep appreciation he expressed for our financial support brought tears to my eyes along with a resolve to fund more scholarships. Our decision to fund scholarship applications grew out of the high regard we have for the founders of EPI, Sara and Leonard Lafrance, and the vision, integrity and oversight they give to the organization. Being involved with EPI has been and continues to be a most meaningful, life-changing experience for me.

Mary Ansari
August 26, 2013

As a reviewer of scholarship applications, I have been involved with EPI since its beginning. It is with great pride that I have watched and participated in the development and growth of this fine organization. This summer when EPI student James Omane visited the Foundation headquarters in Incline Village, NV, USA; he gave a very fine public presentation about EPI and Ghana at the local public library. His extremely articulate and insightful presentation was most enthusiastically received. Meeting him and hearing his talk made me so proud of this young man and EPI's growing importance and influence in Ghana. It is a great privilege to be a part of this outstanding educational organization and to work with its dedicated founders, Sara and Leonard Lafrance.
Mary B. Ansari

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am so comfortable with the Lafrances' oversight of the Foundation, that I have no suggestions to make at the moment. I know they are making arrangements for better mentoring of EPI scholarship recipients at Kumasi.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

Serving as a reviewer of scholarship applications for Educational Pathways International has been one of the most profoundly moving and worthwhile experiences of my life. In just a few short years, EPI has become a beacon of hope to a growing number of Ghana's brilliant, but needy, young people. I feel deeply privileged to have been able to have played a small role in this educational effort and to know that EPI scholarships are helping to shape the future leaders of Ghana and Africa. Mary Ansari, Incline Village, Nevada, U.S.A.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 1, 2013

EPI is one nonprofit organization that is assisting in our education here in Ghana. Ever since I got the opportunity to enter this organization, I have learned a lot of things. Some through the semina... more

October 19, 2014

I joined EPI about three years ago. Their support is holistic. It's a family of nice people who show care. For the past years that I have been part of these family, my financial struggle regarding my education has been taken care of by the EPI founders. I have also enjoyed the company of colleague intellectuals. I'm proud and give glory to God for giving me the opportunity to experience the love of the EPI family.
September 1, 2013

EPI is one nonprofit organization that is assisting in our education here in Ghana. Ever since I got the opportunity to enter this organization, I have learned a lot of things. Some through the seminars that our country coordinator organizes for us. I have also been able to support my education via the financial assistance given us under EPI. I also appreciate how sensitive the organizers are towards the plight of we students. Thanks to the wonderful couple; Mr and Mrs Lafrance for the enormous investment they are making in our education. God richly Bless them and the others whose effort have brought EPI to where it is now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers