Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.913045
Write A Review
January 26, 2015

more

January 26, 2015

Being the Program Director of Educational Pathways International (EPI) has been one of the most profoundly moving and worthwhile experience of my life. EPI has become a beacon of hope to a growing number of gifted young university students of need in our country, Ghana.

The scholarship
takes total care of students’ tuition, accommodation, books and upkeep money (“pocket money” as we call it in Ghana) as well as providing students with comprehensive counseling, guidance and support in the areas of academic performance, career development, leadership and internship programmes. And these have built and increased the confidence of these brilliant students.

The love, dedication and care that are shown these students by Mrs. Sara Lafrance and her husband Mr. Leonard Lafrance is amazing and worth emulating.

At the moment we have graduated forty-two (42) students who have benefited from a four-year full university scholarship package. Some of these students have found themselves successfully employed in reputable companies in the country, others are doing their masters either abroad or locally whiles our currents graduates are giving back to the society by doing national service in various cities, towns and villages in the country.

They have become role models to other students in their communities, especially those who initially did not have any hope of achieving higher education.

EPI is associated with high achievers who are positioned and shaped for future leadership in Ghana and Africa at large.

I am proud and happy to be part of EPI Family. I strongly favour any encouragement that can be given to Educational Pathways International for its dedicated selfless efforts.
January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Lingering in my memory is the timely intervention of EPI when the path to academic success was gloomy by reason of financial challenges. Through the support of EPI, I was well founded to unleash my inner-most potentials and hence achieving real excellence during my bachelor studies at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. Aside financial aid, I have come to appreciate EPI to be an organization that offers the opportunity for career development and enhancing ones social well-being. The benefits I derived from the internships, seminars and mentorship programmes are overwhelming. I have been empowered and well placed by these programmes to fit well in myriad of social contexts. My interpersonal, communication and time management skills have all been well shaped through my participation in the above mentioned programmes by EPI. Further to the above, EPI afforded me the opportunity to work with the organization (EPI) after my bachelor degree as a National Service Personnel during which period I further acquired skills essential for my career development. Currently reading a Master programme in Business Administration at University of Agder in Norway, I am strongly convinced that EPI has contributed immensely to building me for life. I must honestly confess that I have had a life transforming experience with EPI. It is certainly good that I met this organization of charity! Thanks to Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance, for the unflinching love and care for humanity and for their contribution to my life through EPI. I am proud to be part of the EPI family!
January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on EPI scholarship since my first year in college and it has been really helpful. Considering the high cost of higher education in Ghana, it would have been difficult meeting all of my educational needs and possibly completing my course of study. With EPI, all my educational costs are taken care of. I'm now in my 4th year of study, studying Business Administration and hoping to be a staff of the UN and one of Ghana's international diplomats in the near future.
January 24, 2015

more

January 24, 2015

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world". - Nelson Mandela. Personally, I see EPI not only as a charitable organization but also as a strong advocate of the above saying.
Throughout my university education in Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and
Technology, I have realised that not only did EPI relieve me of a financial burden, made me focused on my studies and eliminated any chance of me dropping out and not getting the degree I want, but earning a prestigious and merit-based scholarship like EPI actually made me more of an attractive job candidate. Employers who understand the competitive nature of the scholarship recognize it as an accomplishment since it reflects ones exceptional ability in the academics.
Moreover, aside academics, EPI have made a big difference in how much time and resources I had to spend on enhancing my experience and knowledge through internships and seminars. For example, EPI have provided an internship opportunity of which I took part. The opportunity presented was a voluntary service teaching experience at the senior high school level.
EPI have organized life changing motivational meetings or seminars on time management, setting of goals in life and many more talks providing me priceless knowledge and training both academically and in life. The teachings and motivations have made a huge impact on my decision making and time management. This provided me the chance to sharpen my teaching skills.
Also, the money and security afforded by EPI allowed me to be more selective in how I spent my free time. It helped me effectively concentrate on completing my studies, not only economically, but also for my personal and professional enrichment.
As a national service personnel working with EPI, I feel privileged and honoured to be of use to this wonderful organization. If the working experience is nothing but amazing, then I don’t know what it is. I am humbly appreciative and grateful for the assistance Mr and Mrs Lafrance have extended to me through this program. To the amazing duo, I say a very big ‘Thank You’.
EPI is doing a great job by nurturing generations to make the world a better place through provision of financial support, cultivation of character and intelligence, the true goals of education. EPI is the best and I would like to recommend EPI to any awarding body capable of supporting in any way possible to help EPI to continue being a bigger blessing to all. Long live EPI!



January 20, 2015

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

As a reviewer of scholarship applications, I have been involved with EPI since its beginning. It is with great pride that I have watched and participated in the development and growth of this fine org... more

January 20, 2015

I'm proud to say that I have been involved with Educational Pathways International since its very early days. During that time I have reviewed EPI scholarship applications and more recently have financially supported two EPI scholarships. In fact, just this week my husband and I received a letter of appreciation from the young man whose scholarship we are financing at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Ghana. His academic success coupled with the deep appreciation he expressed for our financial support brought tears to my eyes along with a resolve to fund more scholarships. Our decision to fund scholarship applications grew out of the high regard we have for the founders of EPI, Sara and Leonard Lafrance, and the vision, integrity and oversight they give to the organization. Being involved with EPI has been and continues to be a most meaningful, life-changing experience for me.

Mary Ansari
August 26, 2013

As a reviewer of scholarship applications, I have been involved with EPI since its beginning. It is with great pride that I have watched and participated in the development and growth of this fine organization. This summer when EPI student James Omane visited the Foundation headquarters in Incline Village, NV, USA; he gave a very fine public presentation about EPI and Ghana at the local public library. His extremely articulate and insightful presentation was most enthusiastically received. Meeting him and hearing his talk made me so proud of this young man and EPI's growing importance and influence in Ghana. It is a great privilege to be a part of this outstanding educational organization and to work with its dedicated founders, Sara and Leonard Lafrance.
Mary B. Ansari

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am so comfortable with the Lafrances' oversight of the Foundation, that I have no suggestions to make at the moment. I know they are making arrangements for better mentoring of EPI scholarship recipients at Kumasi.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

Serving as a reviewer of scholarship applications for Educational Pathways International has been one of the most profoundly moving and worthwhile experiences of my life. In just a few short years, EPI has become a beacon of hope to a growing number of Ghana's brilliant, but needy, young people. I feel deeply privileged to have been able to have played a small role in this educational effort and to know that EPI scholarships are helping to shape the future leaders of Ghana and Africa. Mary Ansari, Incline Village, Nevada, U.S.A.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 1, 2013

EPI is one nonprofit organization that is assisting in our education here in Ghana. Ever since I got the opportunity to enter this organization, I have learned a lot of things. Some through the semina... more

October 19, 2014

I joined EPI about three years ago. Their support is holistic. It's a family of nice people who show care. For the past years that I have been part of these family, my financial struggle regarding my education has been taken care of by the EPI founders. I have also enjoyed the company of colleague intellectuals. I'm proud and give glory to God for giving me the opportunity to experience the love of the EPI family.
September 1, 2013

EPI is one nonprofit organization that is assisting in our education here in Ghana. Ever since I got the opportunity to enter this organization, I have learned a lot of things. Some through the seminars that our country coordinator organizes for us. I have also been able to support my education via the financial assistance given us under EPI. I also appreciate how sensitive the organizers are towards the plight of we students. Thanks to the wonderful couple; Mr and Mrs Lafrance for the enormous investment they are making in our education. God richly Bless them and the others whose effort have brought EPI to where it is now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

EPI is a family, it is a community and above all it is a blessing. I am proud and overly joyed to be part of the EPI family. I am a current beneficiary of the EPI scholarship in the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. My headache each passing day had always been how to be able to provide my school fees, obtain books( which are really costly considering my course of study) , accommodation and other accessories for my university education. EPI did not only give me hope, but it opened a new chapter in my goals and aspirations. I can now have the peace of mind to study and engage in meaningful academic work without thinking much about where I would be able to get my fees for the next academic year, which hitherto had been the status quo.
EPI has not only helped me to appreciate help, but has positioned me to be one to offer help to all who I am able to help today and in the future

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just leave it as it is......It is the best

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

My name is Sarah Gyau and a beneficiary of Educational Pathways International (E.P.I). I lost my father at a very tender age. Life really became very hard when I completed senior high school as l did not have anyone to sponsor me through my tertiary education although l had successfully passed my W.A.S.S.C.E exams.
But just at the time I had almost lost all my hope, l heard about Educational Pathways International. I applied for the scholarship through the Student Financial Aid Office of the University of Ghana and fortunately, I was selected and granted a scholarship in October, 2012.
Today, through the kind courtesy of E.P.I my life has transformed completely and at times l wonder if l am the same person some few years ago. I say with delight that today l am counted as one of the pioneers of Occupational Therapy in Ghana. Educational Pathways International is one of the best sponsorship schemes in Ghana as it provides its students with the adequate funds for tuition and other needs and interestingly, it comes with the most flexible terms and conditions making learning so easy and comfortable.
Also, E.P.I provides life skills training, leadership training, guidance and counseling as well as mentorship programs for all members. This is achieved by the provision of a competent, loving and wonderful coordinator who natures us with tender love. Above all, we are motivated to work harder by the inspiring words of Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance that we are unique from other students on campus.
Educational Pathways International is doing a great work in Ghana and other countries through touching the lives of the brilliant students and as such it needs to be commended for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The great sigh of relief I heaved and a practically unending joy I expressed when I joined the EPI family keeps lingering in my heart and mind even after school. I could still recall the timely support and hope EPI brought on my way when my world was at the verge of being engulfed by the gloom of hopelessness. How could I realize my most cherished academic goals? – was always the question I kept asking myself. In the midst of such uncertainty and frustration emerged my angel of hope – EPI. Thereafter, I felt cushioned, confident, focused, empowered and well placed to realize my most cherished scholastic ambition. With the help of EPI, I eventually graduated from the university with real excellence. I had no worry concerning the payment of fees and obtaining materials that facilitate academic work. To talk of studies, I was able to do the same better and more effectively without having to worry about finances! I must make mention of the seminars, the mentorship and career trainings. In fact, I still quiz myself – how would have life been on campus if I hadn’t met EPI? – Thanks to the Mr. and Mrs. Lafrance, thanks to EPI.

Samuel Anokye Nyarko (beneficiary of EPI scholarship Scheme)
Aluminus of Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Kumasi - Ghana

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I am Agyei Appiah Cosmos, a student of Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology and a beneficiary of Educational Pathways International's scholarship program.
I had always wanted to be a health professional in order to educate and help the people in my community. It took a scholarship
for me to even go through Senior High School. Getting admission into the university to persue BSc. Nursing was my 'dream come true'. This also took the contribution of family members and friends to pay my admission fee. Been optimistic to go through the nursing course, I resorted to farming while studying and I began to decline from my academic ladder. Thanks to the advertisement at the KNUST website I applied for the opportunity to join the EPI family. Thanks to God I was granted the opportunity and I have the best 'class' now.
Thank you Educational Pathways International(EPI)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would advertise its good work in a very special way and ask various donors to join hands with this 'family' in order to push forward its good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers