Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.738465
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I recently joined the Board of Education Through Music and couldn't be more excited about the opportunity. The vision from leadership to the execution at the school level was inspiring. I sat in on a 5th grade class and was memorized how the ETM teacher was able to captivate their attention for the entire class. It was clear that the kids were so intent on learning the tune and the beats and you could visibly see their minds at working figuring out the balance. I hope that more and more principals see and understand the importance of music as a fundamental tool for building learning capacity and general development. The arts are so important and a much needed outlet for our youth. I’m looking forward to helping this organization grow and impact more and more lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

When I was introduced to ETM, I knew immediately that I wanted to be a part of this incredible organization. What impressed me the most was that ETM is an organization that impacts children’s lives through music every single day. In addition, their unique teaching model is designed to not only expose students to music but to take those skills learned and translate them to other areas of learning. I have witnessed the dedication and passion of the staff, the teachers and the kids and it is inspiring beyond words. I believe that music education is instrumental in developing innovation and creativity in various fields; math, science, business. And I am so proud to be a part of this organization; an organization that stands above many others because of its on-going dedication to music education and its impact on children's lives and their future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

Education Through Music (ETM) is not only committed to the central role music education should play in students' academic and cultural lives but -- and this distinguishes it from most other organizations focused on delivering music or arts education -- ETM is committed to touching every student in each of its partner schools at least once a week all year. This is very important: the oremise is that every student, whatever their apparent level of musical talent, deserves to explore music and to experience the communal and individual radiating benefits that playing and appreciating music has in their broader academic and social lives. ETM trains and supports experienced music educators in, and transforms its, partner schools. The confidence this instruction, attention and rigor gives to students who have not previously played music in an organized way, and the joy it gives their families to see their kids in a holiday concert for the first time is stunning. ETM as an organization is thorough and rigorous -- developing curricula for its music educators; selecting and working with partner principals; thinking through its strategic direction to maximize its impact on students and the communities it serves; acting as a steward of resources -- and has a dedicated and talented staff and board to support its ambitions of growth and continued excellence. ETM also makes an impact nationally through its affiliate and outreach programs; these permit the model to be replicated as appropriate in other underserved communities outside New York. ETM serves a great and vital cause and does it intelligently, efficiently and with joy. A great organization that I am proud to be associated with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen ETM change lives. When ETM moves into a new school, the test scores for reading and math jump by over 40% within the first 2 years of their arrival. Attendance improves, parental involvement improves, teacher morale improves, and music concerts get parents coming to the school and leaving feeling proud of their child. This organization is professional and effective. I am committed to transforming our educational system. This organization is the single most effective one that I know of that is delivering great results in many, many schools today!! You've got to learn more about this one. It is really special!! -- Edward Petner

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

I have been associated with Education Through Music for 20 Years. ETM’s mission of bringing quality music education to inner-city schools has been an interest of mine. In addition to music
the ETM program advances academic and personal development in every child attending our partner schools.
Our classes are scheduled on a weekly basis throughout the academic year.
Music gives children self esteem and strengthens cognitive skills. This leads to higher test scores, creates better thinkers, and lifelong learners overall. The program’s goals are enhanced by engaging highly qualified music teachers and giving them specialized training specific to the goals of the organization. Continuous evaluation of both students and teachers keeps the program dynamic and assures a high success rate. Every year we work to improve our programs and to reach more children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

In my past professional career, I served as a board member, director of professional development, HR director, Personnel Director, Management Team member, of a not-for-profit education organization. I learned over the course of a dozen years, that the quality of your professional development determines the success of your program. I recently participated in a day of professional development at ETM. The experience was an informative and inspiring way to learn about and understand what ETM does. The coaching staff is impressive - smart and obviously well trained in music and in up to date pedagogy. And our own staff was simply excellent! The plan of the day, the pedagogical content covered, and the site all reflect a strong mission and an effective organization. I was especially impressed by the rigor of the music program we are offering our schools. Not only are our teachers teaching to a high academic standard, but they are also teaching students to think and supporting the skills they need to be successful in the rest of their academic program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The professional development training I watched and participated in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I could only wish that our national teacher training was modeled after the PD approach practiced by ETM.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

Working with Education Through Music, Inc. (ETM), so far, has been pure delight. In seeking a non-profit to commit my efforts to, I was looking not just for one with a cause that was meaningful to me and a good track record of service, but a number of additional features that I look for in any group that will bear my name and reputation. I wanted:

(i) a diligent, functional and collegial board that believes in the mission, supports and works seamlessly with the executive staff and is willing to address issues head on, but with creativity and a positive attitude;
(ii) staff members who wake up thrilled to be doing what they are doing, are passionate about their work and who respect their colleagues and the board;
(iii) inspired and nurtured in-the-field staff, who therefore inspire their “consumers”, people who work well as a team and are willing to teach and learn from each other;
(iv) office and field staff who know what they are doing, are well trained and respected in the relevant areas and are committed to excellence;
(v) transparency, accountability and discipline across the board;
plenty of benevolent supervision, monitoring, evaluation, honest and constructive feedback; in sum, quality control;
(vi) longevity of partnerships, success in staff retention;
(vii) thrilled consumers of the service;
(viii) metrics - scientific and anecdotal - of a high quality organization;
a “je ne sais quoi”, “The Buzz” - that sense we all get when we enter an environment - whether it is a community of worship or a company or a sports team, whatever it may be - and we can tell that something exciting, well done, zen is going on here.

I have seen all this at ETM. The Board takes its duties seriously, pays attention to the issues and works well with the executive staff. The highly qualified, very smart administrative and program staff members seem to join and stay on and on - they believe in the mission, see their successes in the communities they serve and enjoy working together. The music teachers are gifted musicians who teach with vim and rigor; they undergo continuing teacher training provided by ETM, are supported and regularly evaluated by ETM and also provide feedback to ETM. The principals and children are energized by the program. ETM has earned a number of awards and quality designations for its work and has managed to grow even in a time of shrinking public budgets and shallow corporate and personal pockets.

ETM is doing something very right and very well. Come see for yourselves. And donate!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

(i) visiting a partner school, talking to the principal, sitting in on music classes; (ii) heard a student choir performance; (iii) participated in teacher training sessions; (iv) read various reports and third party evaluations of the organization; (v) talked extensively with administrative, program staff and music teachers; (vi) participated in board and committee activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend fundraising outreach, particularly with individuals and corporations.

January 30, 2011

more

January 30, 2011

In my first year as a board member, Education Through Music has exceeded my expectations. Through my experience as a lifelong musician, my years working for a non-profit educational organization and as a mother of young children, I was drawn to ETM's unique mission. Seeing the work of ETM's dedicated staff in and out of the classroom to not only just teach music but to make a measurable difference in the way children learn has been a great experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the great teaching staff at work in the classroom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase awareness of the organization and its work

January 28, 2011

more

January 28, 2011

I have been involved with music my entire career. Working as a senior corporate executive at the largest global music companies and with responsibilities for operations in countries throughout the world. The value of music education in schools is observed all over the world. In the USA, where music, arts and languages are given less funding and attention than in many countries and cultures elsewhere we are stifling the creativity of the succeeding generations.
ETM helps to fill that gap. I have been to the classroom and seen the response of the students as well as the excitement of the parents, teachers and principals.
ETM is an effective, innovative program that provides vital service in a supportive and loving way.

i am proud to be associated with Education Through Music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

classrooms in New York city

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase its funding to bring more service to more children

January 28, 2011

more

January 28, 2011

I am proud to have been a board member of Education Through Music for the past five years. My decision to join the board was based on the time I spent visiting partner schools and meeting with the dedicated teaching and administrative staff. What I found (and continue to see to this day) is a program focused on bringing demonstrable positive change to our most needy communities. Quantitatively the music program has been shown to help students in schools that we serve improve their english and math test scores. What is harder to measure is the pride the students and their parents have in achieving new skills in music.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having the opportunity to see the positive interaction in class between students and their music instructor; observing the community pride at concerts and recitals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to expand the impact of ETM to more schools and regions.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers