Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.770275
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a professor of music education at Oberlin Conservatory of Music, I wanted to learn what possibilities exist for music education at disadvantaged schools. My colleague and I contacted ETM and we visited three schools (two elementary and one middle school) to see ETM teachers in action. I was impressed with the teachers' understanding of classroom structure and behavior management. Further, the students were engaged in musical experiences that were hands-on and sequential, and within a comprehensive curricular structure. These music classes were not what I had expected to observe, happily, from the stereotypical "inner-city schools." The Education Directors have years of hands-on experiences with developing curricula and teacher training. They are PRACTICAL, musical, and creative and look for/instill those qualities in the teachers they hire for ETM. They provide a support system for new and developing ETM teachers—something all novice educators need, especially in challenging settings. ETM understands the rationale for music education in students' lives. It's a mechanism for growing students who are humanistic, musical, creative thinking, and problem-solving contributors to society. ETM's curriculum follows a comprehensive and sequential curriculum fit for cognitive, physical, and social developmental needs for diverse student populations. ETM is a fine models for others to emulate!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My observations of the ETM program at elementary and middle schools in the Bronx.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Sustainability of the program in terms of bringing music educators to inner-city schools and keeping them as vital components of those school communities. It is a long-term commitment, not a one-time residency or short-term program that does not continue in the children's lives.

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

Education Through Music is an outstanding organization that holds Music Education closely in its heart.
Its mission is to provide students with the necessary tools in order to succeed. These tools are presented through the medium of music. Music education is fortunate to have such a strong
supporter in Education Through Music which shines ever so brightly in the schools throughout New York City and the surrounding Burroughs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014

more

May 16, 2014

As a music educator and proud partner of Education Through Music, it has been my pleasure to adopt the ETM model in multiple schools. The sequential curriculum created by the ETM staff not only teaches musical concepts but also fosters critical thinking skills needed in both academia and the student’s own personal life. It is music that can bring school communities together and create an atmosphere of respect, learning, passion, and most importantly joy. In a time when arts education is being removed from many school institutions, ETM is at the forefront of preserving the importance of the arts in the lives of our children and our future. It is the passionate, ambitious, and driven teachers, supervisors, and sponsors that make ETM one of the strongest organizations of its kind. I look forward to its continued success and it is my honor to serve as a teacher with ETM!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

Education Through Music is a remarkable organization that provides inner-city students access to music education. Not only do they place teachers in these schools but they make sure that the teachers have access to an array of resources and instruments to enrich the general music experience. I am so grateful to have started my teaching career with ETM. The level of support that I received far exceeded what you would see as a first year teacher of a non-core subject in a school district. And the support that I was given allowed me to better support my students musical education. I see music as an equalizer. Students who may struggle with core subjects can find success in the music room which can in turn motivate their performance in other subjects. I can see the impact that music education has had on my students and I know that without ETM they would not have those experiences.
February 2, 2014

more

February 2, 2014

Education Through Music truly makes a positive difference in the lives of so many children. Music education has been shown to improve language skills, problem solving abilities, critical thinking, and behavior. As a music teacher for over twenty years, I have witnessed first hand the difference music education makes. ETM works tirelessly to keep music education in schools so that our children can have a brighter future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

ETM is a fantastic organization that gives students in NYC an opportunity to learn and explore through music. I wish I had been able to participate in a program like this when I was growing up!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Education Through Music is a great advocate of music education in New York City. As a staff member, they have made sure I have access to appropriate equipment, copious instructional resources, and supportive staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

WIth six years as a music teacher, twelve as a professional musician, and four in non-profit management/development I can whole heartedly endorse Education Through Music as a leader in the field of Music Education. From the quality teachers they support and nurture, the programs they work diligently to develop, and the inherent leadership they posses their mission is always clear- to teach all children how to become great musicians while giving them the tools to become great thinkers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I am a Professor of Music Education at Oberlin Conservatory. I learned of Education Through Music about 8 years ago, and since then I have had a growing admiration for what they are doing and how they are doing it. With the goal of serving children.....ALL children.....in the NYC schools, they focus on "boots on the ground" strategies that get music teachers into under-served schools. I was so interested in their program that I made a trip last November and said I wanted to see one of their "toughest" schools. The commitment, energy, organization, and focus on the EDUCATION of children through music in ETM means that music and teaching are not watered, not flashy campaigns, not "special" programs that serve only certain kids, and not trite slogans to woo donors and administrators. They are doing what we all want our music programs to do; they are helping kids make music and helping kids think themselves into happy, healthy, and satisfying lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Being the first music therapist for ETM, I was honored to have the opportunity to make a lasting impact on the various children I work with. Music Therapy is the direct use of music to reach non-musical goals, including communication, socialization, motor functioning, emotional awareness, cognitive skills and of course functional academics.

As I review my work over the past year, one specific student stands out more than most. This 4th grade student was referred for music therapy by her classroom teacher and Occupational Therapist because of a severe deficit in functional mathematics, specifically with coins. The Occupational Therapist had been working with this student for nearly a year and a half with limited success on simply identifying the coins and attributing values to the coins.

Upon assessment, it was found that this student was incredibly musical (evidenced by spontaneously singing and creating rhythms and melodies) and extremely bright in verbal/communication skills engaging in meaning and insightful conversations. However, her identification of coins was less than 50%. She was put on music therapy service to be seen 45 minutes a week.

As we develop as young children, many of the basic functional academics are taught through song, the “ABC’s” being the perfect example (26 separate bits of information all memorized in order by a preschooler is only made possible through the music). Using a similar theory, the student’s best chance to acquiring and retaining this knowledge would be through song.

During her assessment, this student shared that her favorite song was “Baby” by Justin Bieber. Because the most ideal therapeutic outcome typically comes through preferred music, the student learned a new version of “Baby” with the words of the refrain rewritten to be a mnemonic device to the tune of the platinum hit:

“Penny, one cent
Nickel fiiiiiiive cents
Dime is tiny
And is teeeeeen cents
Quarter is the biggest with
25 25 25 25”

The student loved the song and used Garageband to choose drumbeats/synthesizer parts and record her own voice singing this refrain. A CD was made for the student to listen to several times a day to engrain the song into her memory.

After several weeks of rehearsal, the student was identifying all coins and attributing vales with a 100% success rate.

The music therapy continued as the student began writing her own verses for various mnemonic devices to rehearse a variety of strategies for counting coins. Another couple of months and several recordings later, this student not only identified/attributed vales to the coins with 100% success rate, but was counting complex combinations of coins up to a dollar with nearly 100% success.

An absolutely vital life skill, which had escaped this child for nearly 10 years, was taught through the power of music. Did her consistent classroom support, occupational therapy and years of support assist in this acquisition of knowledge? Undoubtedly. However, the motivating and mnemonic power of music was the catalyst that allowed this student to begin to thrive in a public environment. And of course Education Through Music was the organization that made this all possible!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers